We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #16 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

First time back in Istanbul since 1988 and having trawled TA I decided that The Dersaadet would meet our needs for our four night city break.

We arrived late in the afternoon and were welcomed by Samet on reception. Whilst filling out the check in forms in the beautifully decorated foyer Murat brought us some apple tea and some Turkish Delight before we made our way to our room.

We had booked room 101 which is located in the basement and next to the owners office.
The room itself was tastefully decorated and featured a comfortable King size bed, wall mounted TV with satellite channels and ample storage space. Tea/Coffee making facilities are there for your convenience as is a fridge with mini bar. The room also features a stunning Turkish Bath/Shower area with complimentary toiletries. Bath robes and slippers are provided too.

Our package included breakfast which is available on the hotels charming roof top terrace on the fourth floor. The terrace offers stunning views over the sea and toward the Blue Mosque and you can eat inside or out.
A great selection of food available, cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, local cheeses and sliced meats, fresh honey, boiled eggs. A small selection of hot foods are available too namely small sausages and scrambled egg.
Tea/Coffee and hot milk are also supplied and should you prefer herbal tea they've got that covered too.
Whilst Mehmet will tend to your needs at breakfast time, Murat will tend to your needs in the afternoon and into the evening. Light snacks are available to enjoy with a beer/wine or other liquid refreshment on the terrace after a hard days exploring.

The hotels location is perfect for exploring the city. A 10 minute walk will get you to the Blue Mosque passing the Hippodrome en route. A few more minutes in same direction and you've got the Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Basillica Cistern...all worthy of a visit. The tourist big bus trips depart from this area too, a 48 hour ticket costs 35 Euros and covers Istanbul's must see sites. Buying the Istanbul Pass will get you on the public trams buses and ferries.

There are a good number of restaurants in the area and a bit of research on TA and some forward planning should see you alright. Doy Doy(TA recommended) restaurant serving local food is just 5 minutes up the road.
Reception staff at Dersaadet will provide you with a map and any information you require be it restaurants, shopping etc.
We reserved 2 restaurants before we arrived, Pasazade and Asitane.
I would highly recommend Pasazade and have recently posted a review on TA. Pasazade is located up toward the Rail Station, bit of a walk but it's only about 10 Lira each way in a cab. Asitane is further away in the western part of Istanbul and will cost around 20 lira each way. We were disappointed with Asitane and I will review it soon....over-rated in my opinion.

Overall, we'd recommend Dersaadet Hotel. It's a charming hotel in a great location and the staff are the icing on the cake...first class from arrival to departure.




Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shrek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    214
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
252
666
88
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have just returned from a long weekend in Istanbul and a fantastic stay in the Dersadet where nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly and the view over the Marmara where the dolphins played everyday was perfect. Can't recommend this highly enough with particular thanks to Yilmaz and Murat. Excellent location a short walk from many of the top sights with a view of the Blue Mosque from the roof top. Several excellent restaurants close by - ask Yilmaz for recommendations. Traditional ottoman building beautifully restored with lovely quirky rooms . We stayed in the corner suite which was lovely and spacious and slept three of us (2 adults 1 child) in real comfort. Enjoy the complimentary Apple tea or a glass of wine and snacks on the roof at the end of a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Dersaadet for a week in March. We were a family of 3 and stayed in corner suite. Morning breakfast on the rooftop terrace was great way to start day. Location was superb. Right close to Blue Mosque. Staff was incredibly friendly.






Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Creston206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Dersadet is the antidote to anonymous corporate hotels! The situation: right next to the Blue Mosque is practically perfect, and the small friendly hotel with helpful staff is great. Based in a traditional building the hotel feels snug and homely. The bed rooms are traditional which may not suit everyone, as they may seem a little old fashioned. The bathrooms are clean and modern. There is only breakfast which is served on an upstairs terrace which has wonderful views over the Sea. This is a bar later on in the day.
This is our second stay in three years we will most likelyreturn!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room it is worth it and make sure you have en suite we think some rooms have the wc a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

It was a lovely experience staying at the Dersaadet Hotel. We booked an airport transfer and they were there waiting. We arrived early in the morning and they invited us to have breakfast on the rooftop. The breakfasts had a nice selection of breads, jams, yoghurt, eggs etc. It was warm enough in the sun to sit outside and eat, but there is an inside area to eat too. Both with a great view. We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was fairly small but comfortable. Our room had a Turkish style bathroom, which was a large rain shower area, lots of bath products to use, very nice. The hotel is in a perfect location. About 5mins walk to the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. The staff at this hotel are so friendly and helpful and always ask if there is anything they can do for you. The only negative was that we could hear people walking in the room above us, but this is because it is an old wooden house. We were on the ground floor and could hear people in the street during the day, but it was quiet at night.

Room Tip: The Turkish bathroom was nice. Choose a Deluxe room as rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Everything was perfectly arranged. The hotel taxi was at the airport waiting for us.
Arriving at the hotel, where the most friendly staff does everything was explained in perfect English and nothing was too much.
The rooms are very nice and very clean.
The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and with views over the Bosphorus with very friendly service.
It's also nice to have the evening to pick up at the bar with a view. A drink after a busy day in Istanbul
This hotel is highly recommended by the friendliest staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A comfortable and memorable boutique hotel. Everyone was warm, hospitable and helpful in every way possible... a home away from home. We always looked forward to returning after a long day out in the city.

Especially liked the dedicated concierge at breakfast to expedite tours and tickets for us and to answer our questions, and a welcoming rooftop terrace to relax a bit after dinner.

If we have the good fortune to visit Istanbul again we will most assuredly stay
at Dersaadet Hotel, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting as well.

Room Tip: Every room except the ground floor rooms has a sea view though the "Sea view" rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#24 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing