We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #6 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it's one of the best stays we've had.
The hotel is quite small, only four floors and 17 rooms in total. Very friendly and helpful staff, very cozy feeling in all.

Upon arrival we got served tea while filling out the check-in forms, and were also informed that our room had been upgraded.
The room we got was on the 3rd floor, had windows facing south (i guess most / all of their rooms are facing south).
It was very nice and clean. Decorated in a Turkish / Ottoman setting.
Beds are continental-type. A bit firm (compared to our Scandinavian preferences), but they have information on the room that they can remake the beds so they are softer or harder on request. (We just didn't care to ask them about it, we still slept well enough)
The rooms on the 3rd floor has a very nice view over the sea where there's lots of boat-activity and you can see the Asian side of Istanbul in the distance. Not sure about the view from the 2n'd floor, but the first floor probably doesn't have any view other than over the street.

The best part was their cozy fourth floor where they have their bar / breakfast area.
It's not a big place, there's about 10 tables where 4 of them are inside and the rest on the terrace. They can probably fit about 20-25people in total. There's glass doors to the terrace so you have a panoramic southern view even from the inside and we sat there every night relaxing and admiring the view the last few hours before going to bed. (they close the bar at 11 pm). Usually we chatted with the friendly bartender and got some deeper knowledge about how life in Istanbul / turkey is which for us was very appreciated.

Since it's turkey there's mosque's everywhere, and there's one about 100meters from the hotel. The call to prayer is yelled out at 06:00 and is heard well inside the room though i slept through it the first night.

The restaurants around the hotel are also very nice. The touristic part of the city is just beyond the blue mosque so it's within 5-10minutes walking distance.

Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: 3rd floor - Very nice view, close to breakfast / bar. Possible downside is it's close to breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oskar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Dersaadet is a charming, small hotel in a fabulous location in old town Istanbul. The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern, and endless restaurants and shops are all within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is not modern, and the rooms are not large - but definitely comfortable. The bathrooms have been updated, it is clean, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Sultanahmet, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: I paid a little extra for a room with a sea view, but in the end - I wasn't around to appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinagirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have just had a wonderful 5-night stay with my wife at the Dersaadet Hotel.

Dersaadet is the friendliest, most efficient and indeed most serene boutique hotel I've had the pleasure to stay at.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel most welcome and greeted with a refreshing cup of apple tea. The decor is tasteful and the rooms well appointed, with a comfortable mattress and pillows. Our shower room was modern and there was good water pressure for a satisfying wash.

Breakfast was delicious, with a number of local dishes including a selection of cheeses, olives, cold cuts and freshly baked bread. Each morning, over breakfast, we were offered help and advice by the ever-attentive Busra who could help plan the day ahead.

Location is excellent, being a 5-10 minute walk from Sulthanhamet (Blue) Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, whilst also being on a quiet corner away from much of the tourist hubbub.

I would recommend Dersaadet to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the heart of historic Istanbul, and I hope to have the opportunity to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Our double room was good, facing the street. No idea about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_StephenP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed in Istanbul for one week at the dersaadet hotel. I found the hotel on unusual hotels of the world website. I liked the look of the hotel and it seemed to be in a good location. Once I got there I realized the hotel is in an amazing location. We could not have stayed in a better location. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from all the major sites in the old city. The staff are amazing, helpful, friendly and most importantly genuine!!!!!! The views from our room and the rooftop terrace are breathtaking. When I return to Istanbul, I will stay at the Dersaadet Hotel and I will recommend to anyone else to stay there as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo4749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

WE loved staying at this hotel. The location is excellent for the old section of the city, near Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, tram line and a small bazaar. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. We especially liked the terrace (indoor and outdoor) where we had breakfast. The view of the Sea of Marmara and the Boshphorous was absolutely stunning, as well as the Blue Mosque. We would definitely recommend this hotel. It is an example of a wooden Ottoman mansion.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the Sea of Marmara. It was an end room with more room. The elevator was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgsmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Location: perfect for what we wanted - a few minute walk from Blue Mosque, overlooking Marmara sea, and in a quieter part of Sultanahmet yet very central.

Staff: Very friendly. SO helpful. One nice young woman - can't remember her name - comes around to everyone's table at breakfast each morning to ask how you are, how your day was, and if she can help plan your upcoming day. She was very informative.

Breakfast / Terrace: AMAZING! This was our favorite part of our stay, I'd say. The breakfast was wonderful, and the view / ambience equally lovely.

Room: Cute and cozy. They offer changes of bedding (softer or harder) if needed, and provided slippers, great toiletries, free coffee and tea and pides.

Overall - great stay, exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Marmara sea. What a great sunrise to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Hotel Dersaadet before boarding a cruise from Istanbul to Rome. We were looking for a location that provided good service but which was located close to Istanbul's historic centre. Our short stay left us wishing that we had chosen to stay longer in Istanbul. This is partly because of what Istanbul had to offer (two and a half days is too short) but also we really did enjoy the full experience at the Hotel Dersaadet. The staff are all very helpful and very nice people. We chose to use the Hotel driver to pick us up at the airport and to take us to the cruise terminal. The price paid was higher than if you used a regular taxi but the convenience and reliability of the service made this worthwhile to us. The hotel is situated very near the Blue Mosque. We went to the roof terrace bar that night to have a beer. Our view was the Blue Mosque and the Bosphorus/Sea of Marmara! The rooms are small but well maintained. We got a very good sleep but you are in a local neighbourhood and there are street noises that may bother some people. I think that that should not really be an issue for most people as touring does seem to tire you out! Also, the hotel's location provides an experience that you would not get at one of the distant big chain hotels.

The breakfast buffet was very good. There were many different options with some local options to experience.

The staff are the key to enjoying this hotel. They were always available to answer questions and provide service. On arrival we received hot apple tea (very good!) which helped to eliminate some of the stress built up from long distance air travel. It was just what we needed to slow down and begin to enjoy a new culture! I have travelled a great deal all over the world. I would have to rate this hotel as have the best overall staff that I have experienced!

Room Tip: A longer stay provides benefits such as a free drive from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belkpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,062 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,029 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $65 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing