We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #4 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have never written a hotel review before but my girlfriend and I felt compelled to do so this time. The Dersaadet is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location with a caring team of staff.

First off, the hotel is in a fantastic location within a short walk of the main sights. We have stayed in many hotels across the world and the first thing we noticed is how spotlessly clean the whole place is - literally spotless. I'm a long way from being an obsessive compulsive so I was surprised I noticed.

The staff are ALL wonderful, spoke perfect English and happy to help at any time.

One thing to note, if you stay in Sultanahmet you will not be able to escape the wake up calls of the mosques - they are everywhere so no hotel will be immune. The benefits of the location far outweigh the wake up call!

We have had the privilege of visiting some incredible cities all over the world and we can honestly say Istanbul is one of the best. We were genuinely surprised how good it was. Loads to see and do, great food and nice people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Each member of this staff was dedicated to ensuring that we were happy and comfortable. They were very friendly at all times, and always helpful. It was so nice to not be afraid to ask a question, and to feel that they would do whatever they could to accommodate us and to make sure we were happy. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and the fact that it was on the rooftop with a beautiful view was a big bonus. The decor of the hotel was beautiful and classy. I can honestly say that this was by far my best experience in any hotel. And the location is wonderful--so close to the Blue Mosque, good restaurants, and a small shopping area.

Room Tip: It was a touch noisy by the street, but I asked for a fan for some white noise and that helped a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Dersaadet is wonderfully situated in the Sultanahmet, minutes away from the key sites. The excellent staff really made a difference to us, always at the ready and helpful, offering advice when asked for but not overly intrusive. Our bath--beautiful marble shower--was nicely appointed and anything we asked for was immediately supplied. Our room was small but well equipped. The rooftop terrace was key to making our experience memorable: from delicious morning breakfasts overlooking the Marmara to evening glass of wine (stayed open til 11:30 p.m.) viewing the lights on the sea, it was the perfect setting. We'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room with a view. We did not have one and it was a little dark. But our room, on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nestling 5mins walk from the Blue Mosque, the Dersaadet is a lovely, atmospheric hotel with a traditional look but having all the facilities you are likely to want. As other reviews say, excellent & friendly service, great location for sightseeing, 10 minute stroll to main tram line. The views from the rooftop terrace are fantastic and tea, coffee & snacks are available there practically all day. One word of warning - like a lot of the hotels & restaurants in the area with rooftop terraces, the lift stops on the floor below and a flight of steps leads up to the roof. The air conditioning units in our room were very quiet and efficient. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable about transport passes, ferry & boat trip arrangements etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably don't expect terrific views from the rooms - the rooftop is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymarEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and could not have asked for a better experience. The service was outstanding and the staff were extremely helpful. They provided directions for how to get around the city easily, booked a boat trip for us and were extremely helpful in answering all our questions. The breakfast on the roof terrace is an experience one will never forget. The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing the great historical sites (all within easy walking distance). The hotel offers a quiet oasis from the hectic tourist areas of the city. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is easy to see why this hotel has won awards and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Istanbul.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukteacherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed the dersaadet.The staff made us feel very at home and was always willing to do whatever we asked promptly and efficiently. The location was excellent. Breakfasts in the rooftop terrace looking out at the sea of marmara were a perfect way to start the day. It was also a great place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iecgrpme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best thing about this place is the service. Everyone who works at the hotel is so friendly and helpful. The rooftop area is a wonderful place to sit back, relax, and take in the beautiful views of Istanbul. Breakfast is also served on the roof and is staffed almost the entire day. The location is also ideal, the hotel being on a quiet street but very close to most tourist sights (we walked everywhere). The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Istanbul for any length of time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,026 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#29 of 1,163 in Istanbul
861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $55 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing