We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete surprise and delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #16 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A complete surprise and delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I can't imagine a better way to visit Istanbul than by staying at the Dersaadet. The location is perfect for walks to the classic stops on a tour of Old Istambul starting with the Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome, and the Topkapi Palace. The hotel itself is small which means that the staff will know you by name on the first day and they, like most Turks, will go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are nice, well appointed, very clean and served by good wifi.

When I return, I won't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I noted that the fitness center is terrible. That's incorrect as I don't believe it has one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    214
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
252
666
88
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Thank you, Dersaadet staff, for an absolutely wonderful stay! Not only is the hotel in an excellent location - no more than a 10-minute walk to most of the major sites of Sultanahmet - but also everyone at Dersaadet is so kind and helpful, making the hotel itself one of our favorite experiences of our trip. Throughout our 9-day stay, we were in both Economy and Deluxe rooms, and both were beautifully decorated and cozy. Given the intimate atmosphere of the hotel and the fact that we were there more than a week, we felt as though we became a part of the Dersaadet "family". We all agreed that we will stay here again when we return to Istanbul!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grüningen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A hearty smile in the morning on the roof terrace and a beautiful view on the bosporus and the blue mosque welcomed us for breakfast. The staff did its best to let us feel at home and we greatly enjoyed the staying in our cosy ottoman style Dersaadet suite. The hotel is a little jewel and we descovered even after a week accurate details in the decoration. The very friendly staff discreetly asked for our daily plans and supported us with hints and advices. And where else are you waved goodbye at the front door when your leaving? We can really recommend this family run hotel and we will certainly come back to this oasis of peace.

Mirco Perot, Grüningen, Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just returned home after a wonderful week in Istanbul. We had the best possibel base for our stay :-) Dersaadet Hotel is a wonderful little hotel very close to the most essentiel sights in the old part of Istanbul. The streets in the neigbourhood has shops of any kind, and a lot of different resturants. The hotel has it's own very special atmosphere and an excellent serviceminded group of employees. Our room was nice and clean and with the most wonderful view of the Bosporus Strait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Did we get it right to choose the Dersaadet from the plethora of hotels available in Istanbul? Yes, most definitely! The Dersaadet provided a comfortable haven during our first visit to this wonderful city. A perfectly situated place just minutes walk away from many of the key sights, convenient to pop back to between trips to recharge our batteries! The staff, from the moment we arrived, were welcoming, friendly, attentive and helpful. Our room, one of the 2 corner suites, was spacious, comfortable and kept immaculately clean. The early morning call to prayer from the nearby minaret came as a bit of a surprise on our first day, but all part of the everyday life, charm and character of Istanbul. Wonderful views from the roof terrace; an uplifting and peaceful place to enjoy a refreshing glass of “elma çay”. The ultimate compliment comes from our 14 year old son who was most impressed with the highly efficient wifi connections! Would have no hesitation in returning to the Dersaadet for our next visit to Istanbul – still so many things to see!

Room Tip: Corner suite provided ample space for us + teenage son
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Dersaadet in March: we stayed for four nights on our way to Bulgaria, and in that time were able to see many of the great sights that this great city has to offer. We found the staff at the hotel to be unfailingly helpful and obliging; the room was pleasant, overlooking the Bosphorus, and the weather was just warm enough to allow us to take breakfast on the terrace on the top floor. This is a wonderful time to visit Istanbul as it is not too hot to walk a lot and the tourist presence is not too intense. Being a secularist myself I do not take kindly to being woken every morning by the call to prayers, but this is a problem - in my view - of the city, not of the hotel. I would certainly return to the Dersaadet next time I visit Istanbul, and shall revisit this glorious place as soon as the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, lovely hotel and a great view from the roof terrace.The hotel is down a quiet street, away from the hustle, bustle and hassle of many of the tourist streets n Sultanahmet - but it only takes a few minutes to walk to the Blue Mosque. Nothing is too much trouble for the helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend this hotel as we had a fantastic stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing