We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Hotel Dersaadet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #5 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at at Hotel Dersaadet during our short but memorable visit to Istanbul during September/14/2012 thru September/17/2012. Though our staty was very shot and hence hectic the great staff made everything work out picture perfect for us. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful that went a long way in making our stay all the more delightful.

We very much like the hotel which was both comfortable and relaxing. More importantly, the hotel was ideally located within walking distance and close proximity to all the places of sightseeing and restaurants.

We have absolutely no hesitation in, and will most certainly recommend Dersaadet to all our friends and acquaintances who have plans to visit Istanbul and emphasize that they need not have to look any further if they are looking for a great place to stay.

Over all a great place and a wonderful stay. Thank you all at Dersaadet and please keep up the good work and keep the flag flying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sadreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having booked a cruise beginning in Istanbul, we thought we would go a couple of days early to see the sights of a fascinating and exotic city. My wife identified the Dersaadet Hotel as the place to stay on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews, and once again we were grateful to previous reviewers for help us to find an excellent hotel that we will surely return to again in the future.

One of the attractions of the Dersaadet is the traditional and characterful decoration of the rooms, but we do like our mod cons. We arrived on a scorching hot day and regarded the antiquated air conditioner in the corner of our large suite with some trepidation, fearing we had made a terrible mistake going for character over utility; but everything was in working order and the room was a cool haven day and night. The bathroom was a good size with everything we could need. We thought the suite was good value.

Istanbul in August can be hot, sticky and rather chaotic, but the Dersaadet is well located for all the major sights of Sultanahmet while being in a quiet side street away from the clamour of vendors and the press of tourists. We visited all the favourite sites of the old city, mostly on foot; the area is undulating but everything is very close by. For those less keen on walking taxis seemed plentiful. We concluded each day's sightseeing by sitting on the rooftop terrace rather incongruously drinking a nice cool beer while listening to the surrounding mosques calling the faithful to prayer.

The area is replete with restaurants of all shapes and sizes. We did disgracefully little advance research for this trip, but with the help of the hotel's free wireless access we were able to identify a couple of restaurants in nearby streets which lived up to good TripAdvisor ratings.

Umit seems to man the front desk for unfeasibly long hours but was always ready with a friendly greeting and helpful advice. That seems to set the tone for the whole establishment; every member of staff was friendly, smiling and ready to help.

We used the hotel to set up collection from the airport which worked efficiently; Umit made recommendations and bookings for us during our stay, and our only regret was having to leave all too soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This very well maintained property is only a few minutes walk from the most popular sites with a rooftop terrace with a view on the Marmara and the Blue Mosque where they serve a very complete buffet breakfast or where you can get a tall drink to quench your well deserved thirst upon your return. We stayed a week in one of their roomy corner suites. No view...but quiet (which is exactly what we had asked for). Great staff. I mean great staff. There are some 16,000 shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Yep! sixteen thousand. The only possible critique is that the shower/bath access is quite a high step. Could be that it was this room only, but, send an email and get the answer. Speaking of emails, first they are answered promptly and you'll even get one shortly prior to your arrival giving you a list of events and visiting hours.

Room Tip: Ask about the access to the tub/shower if you have problems with taking two steps at once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4puttee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here for 3 nights recently in one of the "Corner Suite" rooms. The room was spacious with nice furniture and was generally very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even finding out about football match tickets for us. We were offered tea and Turkish delight as well as a map and information about the local area on our arrival. We had a good buffet breakfast on the rooftop looking out over the sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque with wonderful views. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious and the air conditioning was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marypilosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. The location is nearly perfect, it's just 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and Ayasofia, the Cisterns etc., but in a residential area just off the main route. Small, clean and cozy. The biggest asset though is its cordial staff, who were there to offer assistance throughout our stay and even before that - with reservations, pick-up from the airport etc. Everybody, from front desk to housekeeping and waiters, were nice and helpful, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed for several days at the Dersaadet Hotel in Istanbul. The location is great for the top tourist sites--10-min. walk to the Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, etc. The rooms/bathroom were clean, large, and nicely decorated with Turkish tiles and rugs. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. (Did not use the jet bath.) The included continental-plus breakfast on the rooftop terrace was fine (fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, rolls, cheeses/meats, scrambled eggs in a chafing dish, and the like.) Most impressive was the service--both before our arrival and during our stay. The hotel not only confirmed & personalized our internet reservations, but also followed up (unsolicited) about arranging for reasonably priced transportation to take us to the hotel upon arrival in Istanbul. The staff made restaurant reservations upon our request, and when we were caught in rush hour traffic in a taxi & called to inform them we'd be 40 mins. late for dinner, they arranged for the restaurant (Truga at the Kempinski Hotel Ciragan Palace) to hold one of their limited tables on a balcony overlooking the Bosphorous for us. When we expressed our concern about the Lufthansa strike, they called Lufthansa & connected us to an agent, without our having to ask. They anticipated every need--equalling or even surpassing any "golden key" concierge service we've had at any 4- or 5-star hotel anywhere in the world. The car they arranged to take us back to the airport at 2 in the morning was on time, reasonably priced, and comfortably held us & all our luggage. Internet service in the room was free and quick. (The lobby also has a computer for guest use.) We had considered staying at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet (also located conveniently to many of the top tourist sites), but given the mixed reviews vis a vis the relatively high price, we decided to try the Dersaadet instead. We are happy we did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our second stay in Istanbul-the first was in the same area (the old city) but more modern appearing. The Dersaadet had an older, Ottoman style appeal, with the most accommodating staff one could hope for. They were very helpful for gaining advance tickets and suggestions for our group of 7. The breakfast buffet was not lavish as in larger hotels, catering to every imaginable taste, but was very good and exceptional for a hotel of this size. Our room was roomier than previously experienced, we could actually walk around straight and not sidewise. The twin beds were very hard, as it seems are all Turkish beds. Overall a delightful experience and we would return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
854 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $63 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing