We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel and excellent location”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Simply walk to all major historical sites, or hop on a tram around the corner to go to other places of interest. Can't beat the location! Room, though small and without any view, was very clean and with attention to detail. Very friendly and hospitable staff right from the lower to the highest ranks. Wide variety of breakfast choices at the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Blue Mosque and the vessels sailing by in the Bosporus waters. Simply put, staying at the Nena Hotel, Istanbul was money well spent. And I can safely recommend it any one planning a trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was reasonably price, great location near tram, blue mosque, cistern, haya sofia, topkapi palace. Staff was extremely helpful. We used their driver to be picked up at the airport and to bring us to the port for our cruise. Great views from restaurant on the roof and good breakfast. Room was a little small. FYI you must use bottle water to brush your teeth!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUPERMOMBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This small friendly hotel is very well located.It is a few minutes walk from the main attractions. The rooms though small were very comfortable.All the staff were extremely polite,helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was quite sumptuous.The view of the blue Mosque from the breakfast Terrace was spectacular.We have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to people visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were already booked so we had to settle for was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked Hotel Nena on the basis of strong reviews. Positive points
Locaation is unbeatable for tourists - blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, grand bazaar, cisterns, Topkapi - all within easy reach.
Tram stop is 100 yards away so easy access across the Bosphorus to Beyoglu.
Breakfast is excellent and terrace view is a very important selling point. There are four tables out on the terrace so get there early to have the best seats.
Complimentary one way airport pick up is ideal.
The staff are very helpful and gave a parting gift of a box of turkish delight.
They haave snacks for guests in the lobby in the last afternoon. We were only in the hotel on one occasion during this time. We happened to be in our room so they sent up a plate of frsh fruit.
Overall, very goood attention to detail.
My only sticking point is one that has been raised in other reviews is that the standard rooms are quite small. They are fine for a couple but as we had a small child we had an extra bed in the room which made it slightly cramped. However, the room was furnished well and the size is what you would expect from a boutique hotel in the busy city centre.
The bathroom was a little small and had a step in the shower which managed to catch me oot each morning. Minor niggles aside, this is an excellent hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106. I scrutinised the fire escape floor plan in the room and saw some of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bujo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed here with my friends for a five nights thu to Monday. Location was fabulous in the old town. Fabulous view from the hotel rooftop terrace to the blue mosque, hagia sofia and the bosphorus. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were perfect and complimentary tea in the afternoon. Breakfast was great and the food really good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamblesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found this hotel via Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The view from the restaurant was simply iconic, we had the room directly below (401) and were able to see the most stunning dawn and the best illuminated skyline in the city. Staff were really friendly and it is so centrally placed for everything. We loved Istanbul and felt completely safe at all times. With the same room you will not be let down.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and request rooms 401 or 402 For the hassle factor request return airport pickup and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RisboroughPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The best part of staying 6 nights was the free transport to and from the airport that the Nena Hotel provided. What a bonus not to have to worry about anything until you have settled in.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked a Standard Double Room . Ours was on the second floor and we found this to be a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking the street infront of the hotel. With the doors of the balcony closed , it was quiet and we slept well . When we left the doors open , you could here the traffic going past and the lovely sound of the call the prayer, which I enjoyed. The room was very clean and had very nice furniture. The bathroom was clean though the grout in the bathroom was starting to show its age.

This Hotel is the in a great location and had easy access to transport right around the corner. It was in walking distance to many of the main attractions - Blue Mosque, Agia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Bascilica Cistern, Arasta Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Egyptian/Spice Bazaar. We actually walked for the first 3 days before we needed to take transport anywhere. We liked the Old City of Sultanahmet much better than the newer area across the way.

There are many restaurants, cafes, sweet shops, gift shops etc etc right there. You need go no further, if you didn't want to. We explored many areas and coming from Australia, what we wanted to do more than anything was to take a day trip to Gallipoli.( They pick you up from this Hotel ) This was a very long day, but well worth it. Apart from the Hotel staff giving us travel brochures on all these places, there were many travel agencies close by. I think we counted 5 or 6 in the immediate area. We did a Bosphorous cruise as well.

The breakfast on the upper Terrace was lovely and the view was spectacular. We loved the variety of food they had to offer - very generous. The lovely girls who served breakfast were so sweet and kind,too. On some evenings, they served Juice and nibblies on this Terrace, free of charge...ofcourse if you wanted a drink, you bought it.

We loved basing ourselves here at The Nena Hotel....very good location, indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,796 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,015 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing