We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique gem in the heart of Sultanamet”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We originally reserved a "safe" brand-name Hotel down the road but my wife found the Hotel Nena 2 months before our trip. We were disappointed that the larger rooms were already booked but no matter. It had high marks on tripadvisor in location and closeness to the iconic things we wanted to see in our short 3 day stop-over on the way back to Australia after a wonderful 12 day Greek Island cruise. Nena didn't disappoint! We were first delighted by the big, warm welcome from the Manager, Muzaffer, and his reception desk associate...Memmet. Once the signing-in paperwork was done, Memmet took us to the lovely garden courtyard for a cup of apple tea so he could show us a map where all the major sites were located and the walking distances. He said he was aware we had requested a larger room and indicated that if one came up, we would get it. The next day after a lovely breakfast with a fantastic view of the Blue Mosque and surrounding areas we were told a room was available on the 4th floor. It was huge...with 4 beds! It gave us a chance to spread our luggage out without tripping over. At every turn they and their backup personel were their to meet our every inquiry and need. It is so close to everything, from the Turkish Bath (1584 AD), the Cistern, Topkapi Palace & the brilliant Archeological Museum next to it, Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia etc and many tasty cafes, bakeries (including Turkish delight!) and trams. We are making plans to stay there again next October and getting picked up after another cruise and explore this crowded but friendly city even more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

We chose this 29 room boutique hotel in the old city after a lot of research on the net and it more than met our expectations
All the staff were very friendly and were always willing to assist with quality trip bookings and directions. Their website has full directions on how to get to all the main attractions and we found that extremely helpfull. All main attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel. An excellent breakfast is provided with a huge selection of local and western food.
The hotel is located just aound the corner from the main tram line and just a 100m from the nearest stop and dozens of places to eat.
There is a free shuttle service to and from the airport if you stay for 4days or more and after a long flight, it's a relief to see your name on the arrivals board. We intend to return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little extra, go for a luxury room on the 4th floor with 180deg. views of the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A warm welcome by the hotel manager followed by several helpful tips about where to go, what to see, where to eat, was our first good impression on arrival. Hotel Nena is in the middle of everything - the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and other important monuments of Sultanahmet are within walking distance. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious enough, comfortable and very clean with a breathtaking view of the Blue Mosque. It had all necessary facilities including easy WiFi access. Breakfast was splendid with a good selection of high quality items. But the real treasure of this boutique hotel is the friendly, most helpful and efficient staff which made our stay in Istanbul unforgettable.

Room Tip: Room 401 has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nena is the perfect base hotel for your stay in Istanbul. It's a quick 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar in one direction, and the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia in the other. The museums are just a few minutes further down the road. The rooms are beautiful and clean -- average size by European standards (small by US standards) and include everything you need. The staff was terrific -- attentive, thoughtful, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleopatra119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Like many others have said, the location of the Nena Hotel is outstanding. A five to ten minute walk to all of the main historic sites of the old city. On a nice side street right off a main thoroughfare, but relatively quiet. The hotel staff is wonderful - lots of great tips about the city, calling for reservations to restaurants, taxis, etc. Their English is generally very good and they make you feel very comfortable and at home. Breakfasts were quite good with lots of variety. Not outstanding, but quite good. But you can't beat the views from the roof-top restaurant for breakfast or for dinner. We only ate dinner there one night. It was good but nothing special. The only down side was that the regular rooms are a bit cramped. The quality of everything in the room and bathroom was very nice and clean, just a bit on the tight side, that's all, and without much closet/storage space. Other than that, it's a five star.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Small boutique hotel, nice rooms, nice and friendly staff. The location is absolutely perfect, walking distance to most major sights in old part of Istanbul. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We cannot praıse the Hotel Nena enough. Ideal locatıonş attentıve staff. Breakfast ın the rooftop restaurant was the best possıblke start to the day. The vıew across the cıty over the Bosphorous ıs breathtakıng.Clean rooms excellent value.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
Thank 835Max_ne_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#87 of 1,159 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,159 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,012 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing