We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet people at the Fehmi Bey”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #373 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The staff is a real gem at the Fehmi Bey. They are helpful and kind. The rooms are average, the views, spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SuPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fehmi Bey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2008

I was impressed by the very positive reviews found in TripAdvisor. I chose the hotel due to that and now I definitely must agree with the numerous good reviews: the Fehmi Bey is an excelent hotel in Istanbul. Good location, charming decoration, clean, discrete and helpful staff. The room was not so big but OK, with nice carpets (the owner trades carpets) and a small but very complete bathroom. Gorgeous terrace on the last floor with a wonderful seaview, confortable furniture and a magnificent breakfast buffet. Pity I couldn't stay there longtime. Worth the price. I would certainly be a guest again.

LH, from Rio de Janeiro

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chico46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

The Fehmi Bey is in a great location about 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque (you can get a great view of it from the Terrace), and 10 minutes from Topkapi Palace. However, despite its central location, it is in a very quiet side street. We opted for one of the suites and whilst not large it was a good enough size and it was good to have our own sitting room in addition to bedroom. The room was tastefully decorated and the lounge had TV and fridge. The restaurant/terrace has great views over the sea of Marmara and you can see great sunsets. Breakfast was an OK buffet - typically turkish and a reasonable choice. There was some hot food but it didn't look particularly appealing. The hotel was very clean and the staff all very friendly and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

The Fehmi Bey is what others have said... great location to other sites in Sultanahmet, clean and nicely appointed rooms, really good bathrooms, mini-fridge and in room safes, wonderful rooftop views, ample breakfast. I will add that the staff was marvelous. Very professional, courteous, accomodating and extremely helpful with dining recommendations and arranging taxi service or contacting restaurants directly for their vans to pick us up. They also provided a good sampling of city maps and other touristic material upon arrival. It was a perfect place to stay.
Returning to the rooftop patio of the Fehmi Bey after a busy day of sightseeing could not have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ocgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Date: August 10, 2006
Reviewer: A Trip Advisor member.
Review: My husband and I stayed at the Fehmi Bey in Istanbul recently for 6 nights, and we recommmend it without reservation. The Fehmi Bey is a boutique hotel about half a block from the Hippodrome -- a wonderful, easy-to-find (and this is important in Sultanahmet) location. The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the Sultanahmet sites and is about a 25 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar. Our double room (cost: 90 euros) was medium-sized, immaculately clean, with comfortable beds, adequate airconditioning, and a stupendous view of the Sea of Marmara. The Fehmi Bey has a large roof top terrace with lots of comfortable seating and gorgeous views of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. It's tempting to spend all day there. They provide a good Turkish breakfast, with plenty of variety. They also have a convenient Internet facility. But the best part of the Fehmi Bey is the staff -- they are extremely helpful without being intrusive. We were traveling with friends who stayed in another hotel, and they ended up using our hotel as a headquarters, and having the front desk make reservations, get taxis, etc. The Fehmi Bey staff were always helpful and courteous to our friends, as well as to us. Truly a wonderful hotel.

13  Thank kenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
19
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed at the Fehmi Bey for an a week in the spring. We had a great experience and plan on staying there on any subsequent visits to Istanbul. The location, as others have mentioned, is perfect. It is literally steps to the Hippodrome. Also, the rooftop terrace with views of the Blue Mosque is stunning. The service was excellent-we would call down for a big bottle of mineral water, and a staff member would sprint up the stairs and have it at our door in under a minute. I recommend asking for a larger corner room, as some of the rooms can be small.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Fehmi Bey is just around the corner from the hippodrome and the blue mosque with a roof top breakfast terrace that overlooks the sea of marama and the blue mosque. Rooms are well designed with modern bathrooms. The staff is just fine led by an over-fed golden Lab named homer simpson. Great breakfast with plenty of dining choices in the area. Pick up at the airport was smooth even with a flight delay.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Teljuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#549 of 1,159 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#229 of 1,159 in Istanbul
140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,159 in Istanbul
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Konak Hotel
Ferman Konak Hotel
#377 of 1,159 in Istanbul
15 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#219 of 1,159 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing