We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #378 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our third stay at this hotel and have had no disappointment. Rooms are clean and comfortable if a little small, which is well and truly made for up by the location and beautiful views from the roof terrace. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and found it a comfortable base for the marvellous central Sultanahmet attractions, with lovely views from the roof terrace when we rested in between visits, sipping tea or a beer. One of the attractions of spending 3 nights in Istanbul just now while on a longer trip to Turkey was to stay here again and we were in no way disappointed. Very friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room, the lovely roof terrace, brilliant location (easy to get to from the airport by public transport, though wish we'd got an Istanbul card forbthis from the word go) ... we'll find an excuse to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked this Hotel thanks to a friend's recommendation and have not been disappointed.
The Hotel is smallish but in a fantastic location close to the main attractions. The views from the
Terrace ,Breakfast room are breathtaking. The rooms are smallish but clean and with comfortable beds, the bath/shower is very small and with high sides making it difficult for older people to get in or out. The staff are generally helpful and friendly, but the main assets of this Hotel are views and location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was here with my best friend at the end of August. The hotel has ordinary rooms with ordinary bathrooms. Nothing fancy, but that is just fine! The location makes up for the 'lack of luxury', which I really don't need anyway.
It is a minute's walk to the Blue Mosque and their roof terrace where breakfast is served has a great view over the city. It's again, nothing fancy but the staff is friendly and you won't be spending all day in the hotel. The hotel isn't very big and I really liked that! Plus, the rooms had everything you could possibly need if you were to stay in for a few hours. Thus, we were very happy customers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Boon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

excellent morning view of the blue mosque
close to some of the major attractions of Istanbul including grand bazaar, hippodrome
awesome breakfast options

rooms are extremely small but clean
good for a short stay as anyway most of the time will be utilized in going around the beautiful city

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sourav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our travel agent had recommended and booked 3 nights in this hotel, one night prior and 2 nights after our Turkish and Greek Island cruise.
We were three, my mother, my boyfriend and I.
The first night my BF and I had a room on the 3rd floor which gave on a side street, Comfortable mattress, clean and with nice views to the sea and quiet.. The two nights after the cruise, we had a room on the first floor looking over the main street at the front of the hotel. The room was much bigger and had an extra single bed and TV and bigger bathroom. Just as clean as the first room, less the view and noisier, as there is traffic from before 6 AM to late in the night.
My mother had the same room on the 3rd floor for the 3 nights. It was small, had no views, tiny bathroom, small single bed with a hard and lumpy mattress, She really did not enjoy her stay at this hotel.
The man at the reception during our stay was grumpy, unsmiling. He was helpful though and gave us usefull information when asked. He also got involved in locating our transfer to Istanbul airport.
On the plus side: Walking distance to all the main sites, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi palace, shops, and restaurants. Great terrace with magnificent views of the sea, the mosques, etc.. for breakfast or to enjoy an afternoon tea. Clean, decor Ok, prices are reasonable.
On the down side: Some rooms are noisy, service rudimentory (maybe it's a language barrier), mattresses are not all up to par. As for breakfast, instant coffee, Tang orange drink (no real orange juice), orange coloured scrambled eggs and pink coloured cold meats.
We own a small B&B in La Malbaie, Québec and included in our price which is lower then in this hotel, we supply bathrobes, slippers, facecloths and paper tissues in our rooms and we are not a high end B&B either. I was surprised not to find these items at a higher priced hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felix160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were hosted in the Fehmi Bey for our family holidays in Istambul. The hotel has a unique location close to all main points of interest in Istambul, including the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. The service is very friendly and we had an excellent stay. Breakfast in the terrace at the top overlooking the Bosforo and the Blue Mosque was an experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have rooms for three. It was very convenient for me, as I was travelling with three children (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#365 of 1,163 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#372 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#303 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#122 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#218 of 1,163 in Istanbul
149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#274 of 1,163 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing