We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #367 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
La Malbaie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our travel agent had recommended and booked 3 nights in this hotel, one night prior and 2 nights after our Turkish and Greek Island cruise.
We were three, my mother, my boyfriend and I.
The first night my BF and I had a room on the 3rd floor which gave on a side street, Comfortable mattress, clean and with nice views to the sea and quiet.. The two nights after the cruise, we had a room on the first floor looking over the main street at the front of the hotel. The room was much bigger and had an extra single bed and TV and bigger bathroom. Just as clean as the first room, less the view and noisier, as there is traffic from before 6 AM to late in the night.
My mother had the same room on the 3rd floor for the 3 nights. It was small, had no views, tiny bathroom, small single bed with a hard and lumpy mattress, She really did not enjoy her stay at this hotel.
The man at the reception during our stay was grumpy, unsmiling. He was helpful though and gave us usefull information when asked. He also got involved in locating our transfer to Istanbul airport.
On the plus side: Walking distance to all the main sites, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi palace, shops, and restaurants. Great terrace with magnificent views of the sea, the mosques, etc.. for breakfast or to enjoy an afternoon tea. Clean, decor Ok, prices are reasonable.
On the down side: Some rooms are noisy, service rudimentory (maybe it's a language barrier), mattresses are not all up to par. As for breakfast, instant coffee, Tang orange drink (no real orange juice), orange coloured scrambled eggs and pink coloured cold meats.
We own a small B&B in La Malbaie, Québec and included in our price which is lower then in this hotel, we supply bathrobes, slippers, facecloths and paper tissues in our rooms and we are not a high end B&B either. I was surprised not to find these items at a higher priced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felix160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    83
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
66
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reus, Catalonia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were hosted in the Fehmi Bey for our family holidays in Istambul. The hotel has a unique location close to all main points of interest in Istambul, including the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. The service is very friendly and we had an excellent stay. Breakfast in the terrace at the top overlooking the Bosforo and the Blue Mosque was an experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have rooms for three. It was very convenient for me, as I was travelling with three children (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We returned to Istanbul after four years and stayed again at Fehmi Bey. It is just as good as before. This hotel has much to recommend it, but the location is probably the most important. You are a half block away from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque, so you are right at the center of the action -- but still in a quiet area. The rooftop terrace has a spectacular view of Haghia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and the Marmara. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the price is right. Lots of restaurants close by, and close to Sultanahmet Tram stop.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the fourth floor right under the terrace. People sitting on the me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

4 nights here, lovely room, fantastic breakfast. The hotel has the most amazing rooftop terrace where we ate breakfast and sat in the evening to watch the view - this is the hotels best feature and we loved it. The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 7 nights in Istanbul's Fehmi Bey Hotel in June 2013. The location of the hotel is fantastic: walking distance from the Blue Mosque (2 minutes). Also, the hotel has a beautiful terrace on the top floor overviewing the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and (a part of) the sea. Plenty of restaurants in the near vicinity. Also a small supermarket nearly opposite the hotel. Furthermore the locacation is quiet enough (at busy street but calm during the night). The hotel room was large and clean with a decent bed and mattress, good airco and simple bath room. The ceiling and walls of the rooms have been renovated recently (painted) but the bath room definetely needs an upgrade (for instance, we had a leaking bath tub and they were not able to fix it): it was functional but in poor condition.
The breakfast was not very good (no fresh coffee, but instant coffe; no fresh orange juice but orange lemonade; bread not always fresh). However, the breakfast is served on the terrace which makes it not so bad after all.
Staff is friendly but not very service minded and sometimes a bit unpersonal. If they would inprove on the service my overall rating would be much better.

Room Tip: If possible avoid a room on the street side as the street is very busy between 6AM and 8PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brammetjeNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I love this little hotel. This is my second stay (the first time was June 2004) and it never disappoints. Comfortable rooms with all the necessities. You can also get a room with a view of the blue mosque. Breakfast is served on the rooftop in an enclosed area with seating available outside with fantastic views of the Bosporus and has a nice variety of continental breakfast. Its in walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Grand Bazar cafes, restaurants etc.. You can book tours from the hotel to venture out and see the other sites that istanbul has to offer. We were also going to Dalyan for a couple of days and then coming back to Istanbul and they stored our extra luggage. The staff are courteous if a little stiff in nature but i think that can also be due to the fact that speaking English is not their strong suit.

Room Tip: The hotel website and pictures are true. so ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Md74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutersloh, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location and really helpful reception staff. Breakfast was thrown in for free on our deal which did not include breakfast so we tipped the staff. Hotel was clean and

Location is within easy reach of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia although expect the local Mullah to wake you up with his singing at sunrise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsero402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#214 of 1,155 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,155 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#543 of 1,155 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#320 of 1,155 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#259 of 1,155 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#65 of 1,155 in Istanbul
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Property: Hotel Fehmi Bey
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing