We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned service and family atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #390 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Gorgeous terrace and breakfast area, good service, good staff retention. The wine is good, and the service fantastic. The rooms are well-decorated, clean and comfortable. The view from the terrace of the old Theodesian Harbor is spectacular. Out of the major hubbub of Sultanahmet, but easily accessible by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 188 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

Hotel staff is perfect, friendly and willing to help in each sense. Wonderful terrace with perfect view. Fantastic location for visiting the most important touristic locations in the old Istanbul, really just step away from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar. Clean rooms friendly people in there. What else needed more.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and love the central location and the staff. It is a family run place which is much warmer and more personal than chain hotels. Staff remembered me from one stay to the next and were really helpful if I had problems locating an address or reading something in Turkish. Great value for the money. Just minutes from all Sultanahmet area attractions. Breakfast on the roof has a fabulous view of the Marmara and the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We found Fehmi Bey at the Internet, as we were searching for a cheepish hotel in Sultan Ahmed with a good roof terrace. And we were not disapointed.
The hotel has a family feel to it. The staff in the reception were always helpful, and the room was kept clean and tidy. We stayed in the family appartement on the 1:st floor. No particular view, and rather boring with nothing on the walls. However, this was compensated by the spacious bed rooms and, in particular, the wast living room. Great for kids running around.
The location close to the ancient Hipodrome and the Blue Mosque is perfect, with spectacular views of the mosque, Haga Sofia, and the Bosphorus from the roof terrace. The terrace is a lovely place to spend a lot of time, reading or enjoying the hotel's excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were met at the airport by the good driver sent by the Hotel, and the service remained friendly and efficient all through our 3 night stay. Our room was small (as expected in this historical district), very clean and very well appointed. The view from our 3rd floor was great, and the A/C and beds were very comfortable. The hotel is 5 to 20 walking minutes away from the main sights you want to see in Istanbul, and the street car is a short walk away.
There was complementary bottled water in our room upon arrival (not so in other, more expensive hotels in Turkey) and complementary tea, etc. on the roof patio in the evenings. The included breakfast, also served on the roof-top, was very good: a good but not overdone variety of Turkish and other foods, and nice and fresh. The front desk will recommend places to eat - if you take the time to ask for the kind of dining you want, they'll give you a very good recommendation.
Liked best: location and ambiance. Can't think of anything that we didn't like!

Stayed: September 2010
Thank ebmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

It was 1st time for us to visit Istanbul and we stayed 3 nights at Fehmi Bey. Very nice location and most of sightseeing spots are within walking distance. Blue mosque, Hagia Sphia, Topkapi Place, Grand Bazaar, etc. We stayed standard room but I could see Blue mosque in front and it was very beautiful especially in the evening it gets illuminated. And the view from their roof terrace was just gourgious...
If you are morning person, you can take a quiet walk around Blue mosque area before it crowded by tourists.
Hotel staffs are always kind and nice. I would like to stay their hotel again for next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tokayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in August at the Fehmi Bey Hotel and had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the far end of the Hippodrome, so within easy walking distance of many sites such as the Blue Mosque and Agia Sofia. It's a fairly small hotel - about 30 or 40 rooms in total.

The room was fine - air conditioning, decent bathroom, small safe, comfortable bed, TV. We slept well and heard very little noise from the nearby streets. The bath had a shower attachment and sliding doors/screens and to have a shower you had to climb over the side of the rather high bath, which was a touch awkward.

Breakfast is served on the large rooftop terrace which has really fantastic views of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. We spent a few hours on the terrace a couple of evenings as its a great place to admire the city and sights while enjoying a drink. Breakfast is a buffet with a choice of juices, breads, cheeses, fruit, tea/coffee, yoghurt etc.

There are a couple of PCs with internet in the lobby which are available for use by the guests which we found useful. The staff are friendly, and we were offered a taxi when we left for the coach station (I think the hotel normally offers taxis to the airport/coach station if you stay more than 3 nights). Our taxi ride was quite an experience, but we arrived in one piece!

All in all, a pleasant stay at this hotel which is well suited for tourists who want to be near the main sights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#336 of 1,173 in Istanbul
309 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#379 of 1,173 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#366 of 1,173 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#412 of 1,173 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#227 of 1,173 in Istanbul
152 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#94 of 1,173 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing