We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a great hotel, will wait to see if rooftop "improvements" are good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #150 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

still a great hotel, rooms are fine, prices are fine, breakfast is really excellent. breakfast room is great. breakfast service is excellent. only concern is the new rooftop "improvements" of a "hookah house" in the corner nearest the blue mosque. so far, takes away from the view of the blue mosque (sea of marmara view still unobstructed), and the concern is that it will turn into a run down hookah smoked up corner that takes away from the pristine views formerly available on this this rooftop lounge. good improvements are the plants and flowers up there though - just not sure (worried) about the hookah house...hoping for the best though....will still stay here next year, and will update then with either a "+" or "-".

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank family f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

With a group of 15 persons we stayed for 6 nights and from the start until we had to leave we felt very welcome. Good staff, very helpful, nice clean rooms, buffet breakfast and the roof terrace with view over the Marmara see was a perfect place to sit and chat late in the evening. We definitely will come back.
Marie Jeannette

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie jeannette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was amazing, especially the staff. They were really helpfull with everything (Murat Eryilmaz most of all). Breakfast was okay, tipical hotel breakfst (lots of fruit). The room was good, clean (but creaking wooden floor). The hotel's location was perfect. I would go again anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are so many small hotels in Istanbul to choose from via the internet that in the end there is always going to be a bit of pot luck involved. We found this one - and BA flights from Heathrow - via the myistanbul website and were not disappointed. The bus was there to pick us up from the airport (30 euros each way) and the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful in booking trips and giving advice. As we were on a short break, we were hardly ever in our room except to crash out at the end of a long hot day. The roof terrace was brilliant at breakfast with great views over the sea. The hotel has no restaurant for dinner but the streets nearby are packed with them - particularly liked the Sea View down the street which has great sea bream. It is also very handy for the Blue Mosque etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited Istanbul in May and stayed at the Artefes.

The hotel was excellent and in a great location right by the Blue Mosque and most of the main sites. The Blue Mosque is stunning especially and as a site right up there with the Taj Mahal

The hotel staff especially Murat Eryilmaz were extremely helpful both before our visit by providing great advice and during our visit by providing invaluable assistance.

Istanbul itself is a great place to visit and surprisingly chilled out , no hassle , not even in the Grand Bazaar.

The main sites do have long queues but if you by a museum pass for 72 YTL you can save money and avoid long queues at two of the main sites Aghia Sophia and Topkapi Palace both of which are very close to the Artefes.

Finally breakfast at the hotel was excellent and can be taken at the roof terrace which overlooks the Blue Mosque

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elaineandbrad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We walked a lot all over the city and didn't notice creaking wooden floor (beneath our 3rd) and noises from adjacent rooms separated by thin walls in the night/morning. We didn't even hear the first adhan (sorry if I name it wrong) through the open windows. Our friends which stayed on the 2nd floor complained both about noisy neighbours and loud muezzins.
Hotel is located on a quiet street and it takes 10-15 minutes of lazy walk to reach the city tram. It has an open (5th floor) and closed (4th floor) terraces with beautiful sea view. Personnel was very friendly and accept liras/dollars/euro (conversion rate is good) and credit cards.
European breakfast should be enough for most of travellers, for more they serve strawberry, kiwi, orange, variety of cheese, nuts and delicious dried apricots. Don't wake too late. At 9 AM you'll find anything available but at 9:30 you'll contend for fruits and croissants. Don't use tea bags, take turkish tea instead from a nearby tank.
Hotel offers free Wifi and a safe box in your room (ours didn't have a valid key). Rooms are clean and have anything you need.

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor to exclude the noise from the wooden floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyomikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

after a week at the golden horn hotel in beyoglu with an organised trip, we moved over to the old town to the Artefes. Met at the door like long lost friends. when we needed to revise our flight we were invited to use their computer behind reception so we can print roms clean, with kettle and tea. breakfast brill. easy to walk to most places, but quiet in the night, would recomend to anyone heading that way. only prob was lift is very little, so 2 trips down with luggage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,477 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#145 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#78 of 1,163 in Istanbul
670 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#217 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artefes Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artefes Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:17 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#66 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $33 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artefes Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artefes Hotel is located on walking distance of such historical and major city sights as St. Sophia (Aya Sophia/Hagia Sophia), The Blue (Sultanahmet) Mosque, The Cistern Basilica (Yerebatan Cistern), Topkapi Palace, The Grand Bazaar (Kapalicarsi) and Spice bazaar) Misir Carsisi. Old City and its palaces divide the historical peninsula down the middle and lead guests directly from the hotel into the heart of Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artefes Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Artefes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing