We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and found the location superb.Just a short walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.
Many restaurants near by also.Staff very helpful breakfast amazing fabulous choice.Restaurant food for evening meal also excellent value.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for sharing your"" fabulous time"review following your recent stay at Hotel Citadel.Its real pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us.On behalf of entire team ,we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another treasured memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 464 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very helpful staff specially Mr. Niyazi Ok was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to all the important places like Topkapi Palace, Blue Moaque and Aisophia. We had sea view room which was great and another good thing about the hotel is a good breakfast with friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking time to share your nice comments.

Our guests' happiness is the most important thing for us.

Also, it is the thing that makes us happy too.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again!

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In April 2014, we spent 5 nights here. It faces the Sea of Marmara and behind is a short walk uphill (10 minutes) to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace plus the Grand Bazaar. There are many restaurants in the nieighborhood within easy walking distance too. It was so convenient we found we could walk nearly everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast is a very good buffet with a wide choice so it was easy to fill up and skip lunch. The room was small but had everything we needed and was clean with a good bed. Best of all was the hotel receptionist, Mesut, who spoke fluent English and was always ready and willing to help with directions, bookings, and recommendations. He is very patient, well organized and treats his guests like friends. We would definitely stay here again. The price of drinks in their bar was much higher than elsewhere so they might want to re-think this bit.

Room Tip: The back side was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fan_0f_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for sharing time to express your feelings about our hotel.

Thanks to your nice comments, our motivation is getting higher day by day.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location on the waterfront just below the Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Lots of nearby restaurants. Easy to get around the city. Staff friendly and attentive. Good breakfast to set you up for the day. We had a sea view room. Well worth the small premium. You really get the Istanbul experience.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view. We were upgraded to a junior suite with a wonderful view and a sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you for sharing your"" fabulous time"review following your recent stay at Hotel Citadel.Its real pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us.On behalf of entire team ,we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another treasured memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located to key places to visit such as Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aisophia, Cistern Mosque. Accommodations are adequate with a very nice view to the Marmara Sea. Complete breakfast included in the price.
The staff is extremely helpful, always available to assist you in your requests. During the visit we needed a wheelchair, and the hotel put one at our disposal.
Definitely recommend you to stay at Citadel on your visit to Instambul.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank pmecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking time to share your nice comments.

Our guests' happiness is the most important thing for us.

Also, it is the thing that makes us happy too.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again!

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Mr Murat Altun ,the Manager and his staff have gone out of their way during out stay, very friendly and accommodating staff . Perfect location to all the great attractions, very short walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and a lot more.
The breakfast is included and is outstanding.
We will definitely stay at the Citadel and it is the fourth time we have stayed at this same hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebanon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

My Dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Of course we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.

Kind regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am amazed at the excellent customer service the manager Murat Altun and his staff provide to every guest
Mr Altun wanted to make sure that I was served breakfast at 3 1/2 in the morning before the taxi picks me up and again thanked me for my business and that hotel is my home away from home
The breakfast is wonderful with an available cook to order chef
We have stayed numerous times at the Best Western Citadel and cannot say enough positive compliments and comments concerning the Best Western Citadel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebanon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Kadriye;

Thank you so much for sharing time to express your feelings about our hotel.

Thanks to your nice comments, our motivation is getting higher day by day.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,435 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#95 of 1,163 in Istanbul
921 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
#304 of 1,163 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing