We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Turkish Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Turkish Gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel enhanced our visit to Turkey. Located only a 5 minute-walk away from the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, it is perfectly situated on the Sea of Marmara. It has a magnificent view of the Sea of Marmara from the outside terrace--where breakfast is served daily. Breakfast was amazing and the selection of Turkish cuisine was excellent. The hotel was pristine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They all spoke English very well. (Among the best staff members were Mesuit, Ozan, and Fikret.) The rooms were beautiful and even had a balcony in which you could walk out onto and view the sparkling Sea of Marmara. The hotel was built RIGHT INTO the ancient Byzantine wall. Amazing hotel, great breakfast, wonderful staff. Best hotel to stay in Istanbul if you want to see everything in the Old Section.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea of Marmara have a better view and have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    140
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
128
143
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at Best Western Citadel Hotel 2 times. Everything is excellent: the location very close to Sultan Ahmed mosque & Hajia Sofia, the breakfast, very clean, good WiFi connection, the view of Marmara sea, and very friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana4Luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Nana,

Thank you for sharing your"" fabulous time"review following your recent stay at Hotel Citadel.Its real pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us.On behalf of entire team ,we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another treasured memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
6,998 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,355 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this hotel to have some breakfast with our Italian guests staying at this hotel.Weather was very nice and pleasant so we preferred to sit down outside terrace facing Marmara Sea.What a magnificent view we had!...Just on the Marmara Sea,our picture was full of Princess İslands and Haydarpaşa and Kadıköy.We liked very much this terrace.Breakfast buffet was very extensive and in good quality.Service staff was very kind and informative.We have gone through the hotel area,as well and liked all very much.Very good location just behind the Sultanahmet Area,easy to walk in and around the touristic attractions in the area.Good fish restaurants are nearby.Strongly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for taking time to share your valuable comments.

It is the most important thing for us to be able to provide our guests a memorable stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Wishes From Citadel Family
Murat ALTUN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the third time ,we stayed 4 days before our cruise .the staff is very helpful ,outstanding service and the best breakfast .
We had a beautiful view from our hotel room and the hotel was a short walk to the old city .
We are going back in April and staying at the same hotel .
Thank you to all the staff and manager that have made our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebanon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the hotel is situated facing the the sea, beautiful views from front facing rooms and the restaurant, it is a short walk to all major attractions ,situated in the old city It is immaculately clean
although there is no lift, this is no disadvantage, as help is always available for luggage ,
the staff here are exceptional in there willingness to assist with any problems or concerns
their professionalism is outstanding
would recommend this hotel without reservation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciamcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT”. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a Best Western Hotel which is a part of the Best Western Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service.

We appreciate your kindly comments on BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT HOTEL. We give importance to our guests’ comments.

We are glad that we have reached our goals providing you the service of your standards and becoming your choice in Istanbul.

We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.


Kindest Regards,


Gülseren Vatansever
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

this is our second time for us in this hotel and i got to tell you people , if you want a real nice stay in a hotel at Istanbul ,don't miss this one ,every little thing about is one of its kind , VERY helpful staff ,, great breakfast ,, room items ,, bath items ,,,my special thanks to MR . MESUT , MR. TURKAN , MR. OZAN , AND EVERYBODY ELSE ,,, they are the best .

Room Tip: best western citadel suit is the best view i guess .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmed_m111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT”. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a Best Western Hotel which is a part of the Best Western Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service.

We appreciate your kindly comments on BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT HOTEL. We give importance to our guests’ comments.

We are glad that we have reached our goals providing you the service of your standards and becoming your choice in Istanbul.

We will be always honoured to see you again at BW The President Hotel for your next trip to Istanbul.


Kindest Regards,


Gülseren Vatansever
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 14th October to 17th October 2013. The rooms are extremely small even for placing two suitcases but contain all needed amenities. The bathroom is extremely small too with cramped shower cubicle.There are no lifts and climbing stairs is not welcome in such places where even roads are not levelled. One gets very tired walking bad stonned roads around this hotel to all places of interest.

The breakfast is good with a chef making varieties of omletes.

The night receptionist who has virtually all controls over air-conditioning is VERY RUDE. Instead of being on his chair for the night duty, he takes off his coat, hangs it on the chair and goes to the lobby sofa to sleep. The rooms are so small that they are naturally atleast 10 degrees Centigrade above the lobby temperature. We Indians, who have lot of tolerence towards high temperatures could not tolerate the room temperature and with great difficulty and calling number of times, the receptionist switched on the cooling and we could sleep on the first night. However, the cooling was again switched off around mid-night.

Second night was miserable. The receptionist who sleeps on the sofa in a big lobby close to the road, must be feeling cold and to comfort himself, he switched on the heating system of the entire hotel and we were woken up arround 1am with blast of heated air. I rushed to the lobby where I found this jhonny lying on the sofa told me that there were lot of kids in the hotel who are feeling cold. I told him that by switching off the air-conditioning itself, one can achieve a room temperature of around 27 degrees centigrade. He challenged me that the temperature in the lobby is 12 degrees. I asked him to give me the room numbers who were requesting heating and told him that for his (receptionist's) own pleasure to sleep comfortably on the sofa, he had switched on the heaters. He asked me NOT TO SHOUT and arrogantly told me that I WAS MAKING STORIES. But eventually telling me that he has called the technician and the conditioning will be switched on, soon. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS JHONNY HIMSELF IS THE TECHNICIAN.

I reported the matter to the manager Mr. Murat in the morning, who told me that he would look into the matter. However, this fellow wanted to again act funny the 3rd night and I asked him to give me the Manager's personal number and told him that he was not listening and I would rather talk to the manager. Only then the coditioning was switched on after spoiling my 3rd night again. The hotel cannot charge for air-conditioned room and not provide the desired cooling.

Is this is usual Turkish hospitality?

If the Hotel is fair, they should atleast refund my 50% of the payment and SACK this night receptionist immediately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Pradeep Kumar Singhal,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
We thank you for choosing BW Citadel Hotel during stay in İstanbul.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in our Hotel.

On behalf of entire team, We regret this unintentional incident on our part.I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a beter experience for guests in the future. We have shared your comment with our managament and we will give you directly more detail information from our attitude on this case.
Please be assured that ,I will take all measures to ensure that a problem of this nature does not occur again. All the details you gave me has been corrected.

We apologize for this unfortunate event and wish your continuing patronage.Next time When you planning to come İstanbul. ,Please do not hesitate to contact me diretly 00902125162313

Murat Altun
Manager
CITADEL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#56 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
#316 of 1,141 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#129 of 1,141 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Property: Best Western Citadel Hotel
Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#158 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing