We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great location,great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Ranked #178 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Staff courteous and helpful. Included breakfast was fantastic. Sitting on the covered patio with a view of the Minamar Sea would have been a great way to spend the day! When it begins to get warm they put on the misting fans. Although this hotel does not have an elevator, the steps are easy to climb and your bags will be taken to your room and brought down at check out for you. They arranged taxis to the cruise port for us. $15 US dollars per cab (there were 4 of us with lots of luggage). Rooms were well laid out, beds comfortable, and bathroom well stocked including toothbrush,toothpaste and slippers! I would recommend this hotel and would be by first choice when I return to Istanbul

Room Tip: you can ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Right on the coast road (Kennedy Caddesi) it overlooks the Bosphorus and is only minutes walk from the Topkapi and Blue mosque. Free parking is always a bonus; double (in fact a triple) room for the price of a single; so was a big ground floor room with balcony overlooking the sea.
Staff helpful with directions to ferry port (too many choices; could end up in Asia!)
Fantastic choice for breakfast and good food in the evening.
Highly recommended and would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have a better view (above the trees)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located, very near to Sultanamet (2-3 min walking), you can see from the hotel room Hagia Sofia, and you can see acroos the street the beautifull sea.
The rooms are a tittle small, but very clean, and the bathroom very good equipped with all the necesarry (bathrobes, slippers, bath cosmetics ).
The breakfast it is just amazing. You have very good choices of food ( fresh fruits, omlet, pancackes, wafels, ecc), and the view from the restaurant it is just stunning to the sea.
I would definitely recomand this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danyela21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Do not let the hotel staff order you a taxi for the airport. Insist you walk to the road and hail the many that pass by. Insist on the meter.
Hotel staff said they will call me a cab to help. It cost 120tl to get to the airport on that taxi's meter (who is some acquaintance of theirs). I refused to pay and gave the taxi driver the 60 it cost me to get to this hotel the previous day. I said if he had a problem we can see the authorities, to which he quickly took the 60tl and left in a hurry.

Overall this hotel was okay, although a little walk to the main attractions. The service for a Best Western and a four star is pathetic. You expect childish scams when you stay at a cheap and nasty place.

I wouldn't stay there again. There is so much choice in Istanbul, simply cross this one off the list!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pws_ta_blepis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

We thank you for your recent stay in our Hotel.Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconcenience you may have experienced in our Hotel. It is unlucky chance that happened with taxi. The taxi company that we have been taking since for many years is giving service to several hotels in our neighbourhood area. We never had any complain on our taxi service, we do not expect .
we have checked with taxi company and the receptionist on duty at your check out time. when our taxi was on the way to hotel, as mistake you had taken another taxi that stopped when passing from the front street !!!
On behalf of entire team,I would like to apologize for that mistake.Your satisfaction is important to us.

We apologize for this unfortunate event and wish your continuing patronage.Next time When you planning to come İstanbul. ,Please do not hesitate to contact me diretly 00902125162313

Sincerely Yours,
Murat Altun
Manager
BW CITADEL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is pefectly located for exploring the Sultanamet area of Istanbul .Its a short walk ( uphill admittedly ) to all of the areas cultural attractions . We had a sea view and saw dolphins daily . Room was small but clean and the breakfast excellent ( had omelettes every day ) .Shower hot and powerful with daily changes of toiletries . Staff were friendly and helpful . I will definately book this hotel again , it has everything you need.

Here's a tip ... Don't drive in the City , you won't survive the stress !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I and my family stayed at Citadel recently for two weeks. We had the best of every hotel experience during our stay. Clean room, very rich buffet breakfeast, and smiling and helpful personnel everywhere.
We have been having this experience for the past 6 years everytime we visited Istanbul.
Just one visit and you will come back.

Room Tip: Select the corner rooms. Corner rooms have a larger balcony overlooking the sea of Marmara
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKIN U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Best Western Citadel Hotel in Istanbul. The staff and breakfast room view of the Marmara Sea are particularly noteworthy. The location is outstanding, right on the Kennedy Cd, at the base of Istanbul's first hill. The area is lively by day but surprisingly quiet at night. Located in the heart of the tourist area of Istanbul, many locals and residents walk along the sea to enjoy the refreshing breezes, so the hotel’s location feels very authentic.
There are good restaurants nearby. We did not try the hotel restaurant but I'm sure food and service is excellent. It's only a short walk up the hill to all the major touristy locations. The hotel is a little difficult to reach by public transport (which is generally pretty convenient), especially from the airport, but cabs are all around and the hotel can always summon one at short notice.
Up the hill from the Citadel Hotel it’s easy to find shops running the whole range from fine rug dealers to souvenir venders, also snack food and drink stalls. Everything you need for a great visit to Istanbul is within 800 feet of the hotel, however venturing a bit little further can be quite rewarding too.
Our room was clean, if a bit small. We had two beds and it was just enough space to fit our luggage. The air was cold and the water was hot. We used the minibar only to keep water cool, but it was nice to have in any case.
A note about the well documented protests: Taksim, across the Golden Horn, is the central flashpoint of these protests. Their intensity and duration very widely but Istanbulers are adaptable, if sometimes sympathetic, to the protests. The part of Istanbul around the Citadel Hotel is a world away from the demonstrations. No disturbances of any kind impacted our stay at this location.
The Citadel Hotel was the first stop in a 17 day trip to Turkey and the region for us. There simply wasn’t enough time to enjoy this hotel as much as we could have, but the amazing views, above-and-beyond staff, and ease with which you can get to and from mean we can confidently recommend this hotel to anyone, but especially to visitors exploring this ancient and beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0090 212 516 23 13.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Murat Altun
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
#308 of 1,163 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Citadel Hotel

Address: Kennedy Caddesi Sahil Yolu No.32 | Ahirkapi, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $52 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Citadel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing