We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
295
148
36
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
148
36
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmara seablue mosqueold citywalking distancetopkapi palaceevery morningexcellent locationbreakfast was excellentsultanahmet areaasian sideexcellent staymain attractionsmessimrluggage
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 490 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We chose this hotel mainly for it's location, which is excellent, for seeing the old city. The hotel is very well presented and we did get excellent service on reception and from other staff - all very welcoming and positive. However the major disappointment for us was the very small size of the hotel's standard rooms. I think the small rooms really will disappoint many visistors especially if planning to stay more than 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: You will need some space to relax and unwind after touring the sights, the standard rooms here are much too small for that.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BW CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are pleased & honored serving you.
We always look forward to your next arrival for new opportunities for serving you more.
Sincerely Yours,
Selami Taşkın (Mr)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotels location is brilliant.One can explore historical istanbul on feet.If you can make sure that you get seaview room , it is great. The back so called city facing rooms are very small and looking over small back streets.Though we asked for non smoking seaview room but we were offered smoking back room.We went in and were out of that room in 10 minutes. Had to pay extra and upgrade the room

Room Tip: Go for guarenteed seaview room, you will enjoy the view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloverscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BW CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are pleased & honored serving you.
We always look forward to your next arrival for new opportunities for serving you more.
Sincerely Yours,
Selami Taşkın (Mr)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is well located in Old Istanbul and ideally located for the main tourist sights. It is only a short walk to the Blue Mosque about 7 mins at a slow pace. You also have access to the Trams that take you across the city to see other sights like the Grand Bazar. It is 2tlr to travel as many stops as you like. The Hotel breakfast is good with a wide selection to choose from and after breakfast you can walk onto the terrace and watch dolphins swimming in the sea opposite.The downside of the hotel is that the bedrooms are very small, you struggle to walk around the bed. The photo's of the bedroom are very deceptive do not be fooled. We had three items of luggage with us and there was no room for two of the cases. Very dissapointing given the cost of the rooms and there are better presented hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea would be the best choice but you would need one of the superior rooms to be comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BW CITADEL HOTEL”.
We are pleased & honored serving you.
We always look forward to your next arrival for new opportunities for serving you more.
Sincerely Yours,
Selami Taşkın (Mr)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 5 days (4 nights) in this Hotel we had booked on the Best Western website. We chose a room overlooking the Marmara sea and really, we have not disappointed : the room was not very large but very comfortable, clean and with a good bedding and a nice private bathroom. The view, particularly at the sunrise was splendid. We had a little private terrace with table and chairs, unfortunately, in march, the weather was still cold enough and the 4 lanes road situated between the sea and the hotel is noisy enough. This inconvenience does not exist inside the room because of double-glazed windows. On the other hand, the sound-proofing between the rooms could be better.

All the major monuments (Blue mosque, Saint Sophia, Palace of Topkapi...) and the tram station giving access for instance to the other shore of the Golden Horn and to the departure of 1 day cruise on the Bosphorus are at walking distance of the Hotel (less than 10 minutes).
Therefore, we recommend to have good shoes because there are lots of cobbled roads behind the Hotel.
The buffet breakfast that is served in a beautiful salon overlooking the Marmara sea is good and copious. This Hotel is also a nice restaurant offering on the evening a free dinner for two ordered.
The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I staied three night at Citadel Hotel. I visited Istanbul for job, and I chose this hotel very close to Sultanhamet to have the possibility to visit the area as soon as I had some free time. I hit the nail on the head! The hotel has a main entrance from the road in front of the sea, and a back door (very useful) so you can go out and visit Blue Mosque and Ayasofia walking 10 minutes. On the road you can find a lot of very nice restaurants. The best of the hotel is the breakfast salon: part of it is a terrace in front of the sea: wonderful!
The room wasn't big and the toilet too, but clean and comfortable. All the people has been very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edo66Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, Genel Müdür at Best Western Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honoured to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN CITADEL HOTEL’’. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a BEST WESTERN Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

Thank you for your kindly feedback, thank you for your attention and giving time to write a feedback at tripadvisor. We are honored.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Murat ALTUN

General Manager
BEST WESTERN
CITADEL HOTEL
ISTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews