We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of everything needed”
Review of Hotel Spectra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spectra
Ranked #215 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is ideally located, 2 min to the blue mosque. Rooms are quiet and price are very honest.
Staff is friendly and always happy to help.
This hotel is an ideal GQG to visit Istanbul without using a car !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spectra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family stayed here for 7 nights and it was absolutely the perfect choice. The location is probably the best in Turkey. It is right in the middle of the Sultanahmet area. You can walk to the major sites in Istanbul from here and you felt very safe, even while being in the middle of the city.

First of all, the staff here is what made our stay very memorable. They are so friendly and warm and did everything they could to make our stay an even better experience. Some names I want to highlight are Onur, Hassan, Ozan, Kazem and Sultan of the Spectra Cafe Restaurant. They gave us helpful suggestions of what to do in Istanbul and how to get there, etc. They all were truly interested in making your stay the best as possible.

Most of all, I want to thank Onur for going out of his way to make my family have a great time in Istanbul. He would always try to make things simple for us and was very clear in providing great advice to us. He even offered to show my family the biggest mall in Europe and was our tour guide for the day. He is genuinely a great person with such a kind heart. ONUR IS THE BEST!!!

The room was clean and a perfect size for the four of us. Each day, the room was cleaned and very well kept. Even after having minor issues with the air conditioner the first night, it was fixed the very next day.

Breakfast was served in the terrace with a beautiful view. There was many options available and the cook was very nice and my family was able to eat there even after 10 am some mornings.

Overall, my family and I thought we made the best choice staying here. We were comfortable for the 7 nights and very satisfied. We will DEFINITELY be back here:)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank neelaba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location only a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. The rooms were small but super clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. They allowed us to store our luggage after we had checked out which gave us the chance to tour our last day (without dragging our luggage) before a late flight. The concierge helped arrange a trip to a Turkish Bath. The rooftop cafe has an amazing view of the blue mosque and the Hagia Sophia with a complimentary breakfast buffet. The restaurant downstairs has absolutely incredible food (try the Hurrem Sultan) and serves beer and wine which many Istanbul restaurants do not. Highest possible recommendation!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plitnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights and really enjoyed it. This is a very good value for the price. The rooms are not very big, but are very clean and recently renovated. The staff is nice (Onur at the reception was extremely helpful).

The location of this hotel is perfect: you walk out right onto the corner of the the Hippodrome square. The main attractions are very close: the Blue Mosque is just two minutes away, Hagia Sophia - about five minutes, Topkapi palace - less than fifteen. It is a nice area to take a stroll in the evening with a variety of shops, cafes, and street food. The restaurant/bar downstairs is quite good (they make great Turkish coffee).

The breakfast, served in the rooftop terrace, is quite versatile and, in particular, includes some local specialties (fruits, cheeses, salads, sweets). But the main thing is the view from the breakfast room, which is absolutely unbelievable: one can see all of the aforementioned landmarks, as well as Bosphorus and the Sea of Marmara with Prince's islands in the background.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DmitriyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Small, clean, well-kept hotel with friendly service is smack-dab in the middle of the Sultanahmet area. Many historical destinations are a short-walk away.

The hotel had a decent breakfast and the ground floor restaurant offered some tasty dishes, too. The air-conditioning in the sleeping room was strong and reliable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location relative to Sultanahmet. It is a stones throw away from the Blue Mosque which can be seen from the breakfast room located at the very top of the hotel. Practically everything is within walking distance (Ayasofya, Topkapı Palace, Grand Bazaar and Mısır Çarşısı). Just up the road is a supermarket and links with the tram service that links it to the northern part of the European side. Çemberlitaş Hamam is also just up the road.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy (it recently had a makeover this year which we haven’t seem but hope to next year). The rooms are a decent size and the bathroom is adequate. The rooms were cleaned daily. Nothing was ever too much for the reception team.

Breakfast is in a room at the top of the hotel which has huge windows so you get the most of the view. Breakfast was continental with cold meats, cheese, bread, fruit, egg and Turkish hot dog style sausages. There was a selection of fruit juices, water, Turkish tea and coffee available too.

The reception area doubles as a restaurant in the evening. Guests stopping at the hotel get a discount on the food too. We ate there on two days and the food is fantastic. Everything was really fresh and tasted delicious and the service was really quick.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Interesting atmosphere and different scenes all around the hotel. 2 minutes walk from Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Internet WIFI is good in all floors & in the reception. Very generous and understanding staff members.
English language has somewhat remained not as common as other languages maybe. However, it was possible to linguistically and sometimes using body language to communicate though. Breakfast is not exactly as shown in the superb photo exhibition, but the food is nevertheless delicious and quite nutritional. Tea is addictive there, I am not a big fan of coffee/tea but you ought to try this when you arrive. Be weary of local taxi drivers and their distraction techniques, I saw two different drivers using their "fixed" digital meters to their advantage (little finger trick while changing gears, look for it!!). It was amusing though to see a mile of travel costing as much as they claim and insist on charging. You may laugh or get serious, but being on holiday makes one always smile and offer them what they wish to have, life is simple over there but few don't see it.Interesting atmosphere and different scenes all around the hotel. 2 minutes walk from Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Internet WIFI is good in all floors & in the reception. Very generous and understanding staff members.
English language has somewhat remained not as common as other languages maybe. However, it was possible to linguistically and sometimes using body language to communicate though. Breakfast is not exactly as shown in the superb photo exhibition, but the food is nevertheless delicious and quite nutritional. Tea is addictive there, I am not a big fan of coffee/tea but you ought to try this when you arrive. Be weary of local taxi drivers and their distraction techniques, I saw two different drivers using their "fixed" digital meters to their advantage (little finger trick while changing gears, look for it!!). It was amusing though to see a mile of travel costing as much as they claim and insist on charging. You may laugh or get serious, but being on holiday makes one always smile and offer them what they wish to have, life is simple over there but few don't see it. Everything is nearby, location is great, 30 minutes from airport, 40-50 TL on the meter or with agreement with the driver. Nice view from window.

Maybe it's a cultural observations, but perhaps a welcoming smile while working is a great idea for the whole tourism, despite the fact that life may be rough or harsh, as it's essential for best international hospitality and catering services.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are on the blue mosque view side. Terrace breakfast is nice scene for both blue mosque...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#374 of 1,159 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#25 of 1,159 in Istanbul
673 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#320 of 1,159 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#485 of 1,159 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#314 of 1,159 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#312 of 1,159 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spectra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spectra

Address: Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu No. 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spectra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spectra is a converted Ottoman House in the old city of Istanbul at the corner of Hippodrome Square. It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.All rooms are quiet. Most of the rooms have a nice view of Hippodrome square and blue Mosque.Our hotel's quality and hospitality of its staff ensure you a pleasant stay in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Spectra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing