We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”
Review of Azade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azade Hotel
Ranked #277 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Media, PA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the Azade and it was great. Lovely staff, clean rooms, efficient service and unbeatable location. We easily walked to all of the major sites and its very central to great restaurants and shopping. Thanks to everyone there for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    234
    57
    24
    8
See reviews for
130
185
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is in great location and the rooms are very clean .
The lady behind the counter eda really helpful .
Best place to stay in sultan hamlet area.
Close to all the monuments .
Great restaurants outside the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gaurav13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Almost adjoined to the Azade Hotel are the Azade Suites. If you have the opportunity and perhaps a bit of luck book room 301. The room is huge with separate lounge and bedroom and the private terrace looks out over the blue mosque. Seriously I don't think we could have lucked out any better than we have. The staff are great!! No. 31 Mirmar Mehmet

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jase M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights before and after our Turkey tour at the Azade hotel. The staff at the front desk (Eda and Ahmet) were friendly and welcoming, offering suggestions for local restaurants and tours if we were interested in more formal excursions. We set out on our own and found the hotel to be a very convenient base for exploring the historical area. Breakfast on the terrace was exceptional. A choice of hot dishes, cold meats and cheeses, fruits, olives, and a variety of home baked pastries were plentiful and attractively presented with a fine view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The rooms varied from plain with twin beds and a limited view (our first stay) to a suite with sitting area and very nice street view (our second stay.) Be prepared for an early "call to prayer" at around 6 am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jramonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Azade (formerly The Obelisk) for two nights on return to Istanbul before flying home. At the time of booking did not realise that this was a Best Western hotel - but dont let that put you off as this was by far my best hotel experience in Istanbul (my fourth visit!).

First of all, the staff - every person we met - were polite, friendly, helpful and courteous. The rooms are a decent size, very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space. Best of all though was the breakfast, really excellent choice of buffet breakfast which is served in the rooftop restaurant with spectacular views over Istanbul.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just a few minutes walk to The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia in Sultanahmet. We asked for a quiet room, and got it, staying in room 210 towards rear courtyard. We had no problems with the internet connection from within our room. Hotel serves free afternoon hot drinks and cakes/pastries, which is a nice final touch to a fantastic stay at The Azade, and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the old part of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyJMGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I wanted to stay there for two nights with a friend. I arrived at 8am, they couldn't find my reservation (hotel.com's mistake of cancellation), and so the man at the front desk offered me a complimentary breakfast. The eating room is beautiful and the food was great! In the end, he booked us a room for the first night right next door because they didn't have any vacancies- very convenient.
The rooms were very nice. no complaints. rooms are a nice standard european size. the free wifi worked well in our room and the lobby.
The front desk people were all very helpful and nice.
The location is fine and there are many hotels in the area. I got tired of the same 5 minute walk to and from the tram, but my friend thought it was fine. Next time I would try to find a hotel that was extremely close to a tram stop, but only out of laziness :)
In general, I was very happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgv1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is very close to Sultan Ahmet area. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of variety. The staff were extremely helpful especially Eda and Ahmet. We stayed at the first level, so there is no view. The wireless didn't reach the room so you have to sit at the reception and signal there was weak as well. Otherwise, the hotel was fine and we will go back.

Room Tip: Don't choose first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#165 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Premier
Azade Premier
#493 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#161 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#104 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azade Hotel

Property: Azade Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Caddesi No: 17/19 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#218 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Istanbul’s Sultanahmet district, Azade Hotel is just a short pleasant walk away from such world-famous architectural wonders as Saint Sophia (Haghia Sophia) and the Blue Mosque. Housed in one of the best-preserved and most tastefully converted historic Ottoman mansions in all of Sultanahmet, Azade Hotel is an excellent starting point from which to explore the many attractions of the Sultanahmet district. In addition to acknowledged architectural masterpieces like Saint Sophia and the Blue Mosque, Azade Hotel enjoys easy access to all of the prime sights to be found in Sultanahmet and the area nearby: Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, the Underground Basilica Cistern, the Archaeological Museum and the Hippodrome Square among them. At the conclusion of an exciting day, Azade Hotel is Sultanahmet accommodation that it is a pleasure to return to. The hotel itself, unique among boutique hotels in Istanbul, combines attractive 19th century Ottoman domestic architecture with charming furnishings and all modern conveniences. More than a simple Sultanahmet bed and breakfast, Azade Hotel features 46 comfortable well-appointed rooms. While furnished in the Ottoman style, each room features modern comforts such as individually-controlled air conditioning, central heating, private bathroom, television (with access to international channels), free high speed wireless internet access, minibar and 24-hour room service. The friendly professional staff helps to make Azade Hotel rank highly on any list of where to stay in Sultanahmet, or even of where to stay in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing