We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but some rooms not for light sleepers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #246 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A really nice hotel in an authentic Istanbul neighborhood just a short walk from restaurants and some major tourist sites.

Our room was a family room with a double bed and two twins. Great for traveling with our two kids. Unfortunately, this room is in the front of the hotel and directly across from a very actively-used soccer field. Games go until midnight every night and people linger and make quite a bit of noise until 1am-ish. It was loud enough that I opted for ear plugs in order to sleep, so light sleepers beware.

The breakfast is the largest spread I have ever seen in a hotel free buffet. Pastries, juices, eggs, cereal, meats, cheeses, veggies, olives, yogurt, etc. A good mix of local and typical European fare. We also ate light dinners a couple of nights on the rooftop terrace restaurant. The food was good, though a little expensive. The real draw is the nice view.

The staff works hard to be helpful and courteous, generally providing a much more upscale vibe than the hotel's price indicates.

My wife used the spa and was happy with the overall result. I used the hotel's hammom on my own and really enjoyed it. The kids used the pool every day. The facilities are clean and well maintained.

A couple of tips: if you're staying on a weekend, go over to the pathway along the sea and experience a weekend with the local families. You'll be surprised at the filth, but the scene is fun and lively. Also, we ate several times at restaurants just around the corner from the hotel and found them to be of high quality and a great value. Much more low key then the restaurants near the tourist sites.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are loud until 1am. Opt for the rear of the hotel if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinkjeffthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnteaPalace, Manager at Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Our Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
Glad to see your nice words about room, breakfast, Spa and staff.. We are trying our best to improve our service to make our guest's accommodations a superior experience, but sometimes we can not do much enough about external effects like soccer field cross of our property. Officially they are allowed to play untill 12.00 am but we are paying the hours between 11-12.00 am everyday and they stop at 11.00 pm anymore. Also with ne project of our town, this field will be removed end of the year hopefully.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions..

Ercan ULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 661 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

First, the staff was great. Hotel is not a cookie cutter type place. Rooms were quirky. Decor seemed cobbled together, but soon realized that it just wasn't box store style. the rooms were clean, comfortable and i loved being in the old part of Istanbul. Breakfast was great, pool and sauna were perfect. Sent laundry out, and i swear it was done by somebody's mother (that's a good thing). Rooftop restaurant was lovely, food was good, and just a great place to relax after a day of touring the city on foot. (Ask at the restaurant to try the nargile). I wish i could give this 4.5. My only complaints were that upon checkin i felt that the front desk gentleman was really just interested in selling me add on services (guides, etc.) than in getting me settled in the hotel, and in one of our rooms (214) the toilet was strangely and inconveniently placed and hence difficult to use!

Room Tip: Location of toilet in bathroom of Room 214, made it difficult to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel as we were so impressed on the first one. Once again, we were not disappointed. The staff are amazing. They are very helpful, kind and went out of their way to assist us in every aspect of our travel plans. Guyen (day reception ) and Ahmet (night reception) were great hosts and always made us feel at home. Ercan, the manager, is unique in combining a realistic commitment to innovation in service with a determination to maintain the cultural amenities of a great hotel in Istanbul, no easy task in a field where such intense competition prevails.. He is an attentive manager who listens to not just the compliments but also concerns of the customers. Arzu is most helpful in organizing tours. Nihat, as always with a smile is the best bellcaptain. Fateh, the bellboy was very nice and even offered to play chess with my grandaughter. Wait staff Erdhal and Ramzi went out of their way to help during breakfast. Galina, the massage therapist is wonderful. The breakfast is a most special treat.
The menu diverse, comprised of exotic fruits, like figs, nuts, coffees, breads and desserts. The location is convenient to walk to the Hippodrome where both the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are located. In conclusion, we need to note particularly the attention and care that all members of staff exhibited to our grandaughter. Although nine years old and having travelled a great deal , she considers her time at the Antea Palace at Istanbul to be one of the great highlights and looks forward to visiting it next year. And last but not least, we need to mention the football matches across the street which provided great entertainment to us in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rani56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our family vacation to Istanbul. Being our first trip to the city, the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful in guiding us through and were very helpful through out. Special mention goes to Arzu and Ahmet for being such good host.
The breakfast needs to get better specially with Veg options.
Overall the rooms though small are clean, well kept and well equipped.
Few rooms are noisy!!!
Overall a good place to stay and enjoy a holiday.
best wishes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gs0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am mohammad from Syria I went to Istanbul in the period between 5 and 12 of July and stayed in atena palace hotel
It is a nice hotel
The staff are fantastic especially Gizem,
Breakfast very good and varied
And the location close to the archaeological sites of Istanbul.
I thank everyone at the hotel

Room Tip: higher floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel overlooks the marmara sea. Walking distance to the main sights in the old town. We walked to the grand bazaar, blue mosque, the palace , archeology museum etc. we took a taxi to istiklal caddesi. I'm sure you could walk to taksim square but it seemed far for us. We got a room for 4 people, it was nice and clean and had no problems. If we needed help/advice the hotel was always very helpful. The recommended full day tour on the bosphorus was a highlight. A good place to stay for first timers to Istanbul. The buffet breakfast was yummy and there was a huge selection to choose from . We used the pool once, it is small but there is a sauna and hammam there which we used also .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is a great value for your money. Yes, a little hidden but close to most of the attractions that one must see in Old Town Istanbul. Service is good and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are not bad in size and are nicely decorated... Remember... It is Europe so spaces are not what we are used to in the US. Breakfast is excellent. Plenty of choices for any kind of diet. We Had two rooms, one facing the front street and one facing the back of the building towards a school. None were noisy. Besides... Who wants to stay in a room all day in this fantastic city?!?! Small pool but nice spa area with a juice bar and alcohol available. Nice roof top terrace for dinner or just drinks... Even when they are closed upstairs they try to get you what you need to stay comfortable and warm in the late evening if you hang outside in the rooftop. Overall a good experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#176 of 1,163 in Istanbul
464 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#200 of 1,163 in Istanbul
422 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#276 of 1,163 in Istanbul
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Yusuf Askin Sok. No: 28 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#178 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA has gone through major renovations and completely renewed after listening to the feedback given on TripAdvisor. Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA is supremely well located for the historical sites and sounds of old city, offering relaxing and unforgettable experience. The hotel has convenient access to the Ataturk Airport and is close to all main historical attractions, such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and more. Offering superior comfort, hotel is beautifully decorated, blending the traditional Turkish and modern design, enhancing the atmosphere of bar and a luxurious Spa. Here, guests can enjoy a relaxing dip in the hotel's swimming pool, a rejuvenating Traditional Turkish Hammam and relax in the steam room. This can be followed with a delightful meal at one of the hotel's fine eateries. The Antea Palace Terrace restaurant offers views over the Princes Islands and the sea of Marmara, contemporary decor and tempting menu. Hotel rooms are artfully decorated in a postmodern Ottoman and Turkish theme, complete with contemporary amenities such as high speed wireless internet access and a satellite LCD TV, hygienic and orthopedic beds, bathrobes for added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing