We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #268 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is an ostentatious, pretentious and over-priced hotel in a poor part of Sultanahmet. Too big on bling and too little attention to what counts. The breakfast buffet was poor - no choice of fruit and some days none at all and coffee that was so weak it was tasteless. Staff who were very attentive until they had sold you something and then were indifferent to the point of rudeness. A swimming pool that seemed unused that they wanted to cahrge £12 a pop to use. As hower that was efficient but that leaked all over the bathroom floor.

Definitely will not be returning. There are far better options and in a better location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeraldaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnteaPalace, Manager at Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Our Guest,

First of all thank you for your review about our hotel and We are sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations.
We strongly respect our guest's comments and After we read it we put more fruits to the buffet,and actually we use the best and most expensive coffee for the breakfast,however we will change it as well.
Regarding to Spa, We offer our SPA facilities (Turkish Bath,Sauna,Steam room and swimming Pool) for free of charge everyday between 11.00 am -18.00 pm, except these ours, we charge 20 Euro PP for all facilities and we already published this all internet sites..
And we are working to train our staff to give the best possible customer service when guests come to visit our property,you may feel that the staff is not helpful enough,maybe its because very busy period in May.
We hope to accommodate you in our hotel again to give better service.
Kindest Regards
Ercan Ulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    223
    76
    25
    19
See reviews for
196
205
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I just came back from Istanbul, where I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my boyfriend. I arrived to Brussels half an hour ago and could not wait to write this review (it is 01.10 AM now). Very happy and satisfied. Here is my advise:
1.If you are living a life of "gray frustration" , full of everyday stress-you should leave wherever you are now and come to Istanbul to this particular hotel.
2. If you want to be treated as a valuable individual even if you are a member of a large group-you should not hesitate to give a shot to this hotel.
3. If you appreciate kindness, friendliness and professionalism-this is the place to be.
4.If you respect past and value present-this is the place where you will see the blends.
5. If you want to be treated as a person and not as a "walking cash machine"-you must stay at this hotel, because you will feel loved and appreciated by who you are and not by the amount of money you will spend and days you will stay.
Having said so, the hotel staff will assist you with every single acquirement you have. They will arrange best restaurants with best reasonable price (Yildizlar restaurant , for example); they will arrange personal drivers-free of charge (to any of those best- price restaurants and back to hotel). Many more friendly services, that will leave happiness and satisfaction on you. By the time you will leave this hotel, you will missed-I guarantee, you will have nostalgia for the wonderful staff you met at your stay.
I am sorry, I do not toke any photos of the hotel because, I believe, my camera would have been minimized the quality of this wonderful hotel and its staff. But, luckily, you can view the hotel photos without my personal captions.
All the best,
Naida & Doug
June 6th, 2011
01.18 AM
Brussels

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DougNaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Wonderful surroundings. And easy to get in contact with people.
The staff is the best....kind and helpful.
Good breakfast and good beds for sleeping after a walking day in Sultanahmet. I really love this place !
And the harbour is not far away, just 10 minutes walk and you can take a trip on Bosphous,
I really recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TassaSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Hallo to everybody!

ich stayed in the BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel one month ago and frankly speaking i was positive surprised about the favourable location of the hotel, its complaisant service, the comfortable rooms, the modern hotel, the tasty food, the fitnessroom and business center.
I have really enjoyed my stay in the hotel and recommend you to choose the BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel if you want to enjoy your time in Istanbul!

Best regards,
Eva

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva_Soeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We spent three nights in this comfortable, friendly and very convenient hotel on our trip to Istanbul May 2-5, 2011. Ercan Ulu and his entire staff were wonderful, helpful, and always ready to answer our questions and guide us to the best sites and restaurants.
Our trip to Turkey was made so much easier and enjoyable because of our stay. The rooms were lovely, clean and service was excellent.. They even had a treadmill and other gym equipment in the downstairs area, and a nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanskky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Excellent value for money. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and quickly organised a few attractions and trips for us. We had a private guide, did a boat trip as well as dinner show. We were walking distance from all the main attraction in Sultanamet. Even though we arrived at 6h00 in the morning, we were collected from the airport and were booked in immediately because they had an available room at no additional cost. We had to leave the hotel at 5h00 the morning we left and again it was no problem for them to take us to the airport. I will surely be back at the Antea Palace when we visit Istanbul again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdwOudtshoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2011

New comfortable hotel, great location, friendly and high professional staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. It looks much better in reality than on photos.
There are only 2 things that may dissatisfy some travellers: standard rooms are not big and those with a back yard view are noisy because of a school nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipolina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#139 of 1,149 in Istanbul
390 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#52 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#216 of 1,149 in Istanbul
452 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#269 of 1,149 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#69 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Yusuf Askin Sok. No: 28 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#194 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#205 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA has gone through major renovations and completely renewed after listening to the feedback given on TripAdvisor. Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & SPA is supremely well located for the historical sites and sounds of old city, offering relaxing and unforgettable experience. The hotel has convenient access to the Ataturk Airport and is close to all main historical attractions, such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and more. Offering superior comfort, hotel is beautifully decorated, blending the traditional Turkish and modern design, enhancing the atmosphere of bar and a luxurious Spa. Here, guests can enjoy a relaxing dip in the hotel's swimming pool, a rejuvenating Traditional Turkish Hammam and relax in the steam room. This can be followed with a delightful meal at one of the hotel's fine eateries. The Antea Palace Terrace restaurant offers views over the Princes Islands and the sea of Marmara, contemporary decor and tempting menu. Hotel rooms are artfully decorated in a postmodern Ottoman and Turkish theme, complete with contemporary amenities such as high speed wireless internet access and a satellite LCD TV, hygienic and orthopedic beds, bathrobes for added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing