We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The President Hotel
Ranked #116 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Very comfortable hotel with many rooms overlooking the sea of Marmara, as this hotel is in a 'U' shape facing the sea.

It is also just down hill from the Grand Bazaar and all the attaractions can be reached easily on foot, should you so wish, or, the tram stops at the top of the road for forays to Kabatas and beyond.

I thought the english pub had a good atmosphere, which quite unusual in my experience, though it was very pricey, but Istanbul is very pricey. In one cafe in the Topkapi, we were charged 48TL for a (small) baclava and filter coffee, about 22UKP. Our fault for misreading the menu.

There is a nice tea area next to reception and a roof top terrace for evening meals with a wonderful view over Istanbul and the sea.

My only gripe was that there appears to be little sound insulation between the rooms. We had a family next to us and we could hear voices, crying, bathing etc quite clearly at midnight. Not what you want after a hard day sight seeing.

Best was the rooftop sun area and pool, which are free to guests. The pool is a large plunge pool in reality, but very welcome in the afternoon. There are also health facilies such as gym and sauna, but we did not use these. After a hot day walking around the streets of Istanbul, the last thing I wanted was to visit the gym.

The staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting with queries regarding sightseeing and did not push the sight seeing tours too much, as I think they were aware that we wanted to prepare our own itinary.

Nice trip and if I was going to go back to Istanbul I would certainly have this hotel at the top of my list, rather that the other large chain hotels which are mainly on the other side of the Golden Horn and away from the cultural centre.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckboyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

From the time I booked this hotel, the followup has been tremendious. In all my years of travel, I have never received a welcome message from a hotel before I even arrived (outstanding!). The service starting from the airport pick-up, to the doorman, reception, housekeeping, restaurent staff, not to mention the outstanding hospitality desk, left nothing to be desired. This the first time I have ever written a hotel review, and believe me, I have stayed at a lot of hotels..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscol32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidentistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Sir,
We were thinking how to express our big thanks on this review. As Hotel Family we are very glad to hear nice words regarding your impression from the stay. That is really appreciated.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I have traveled extensively over the years, we were very impressed during our 5 night stay at the BW President Hotel 6/5/10-6/10/10. The hotel is located within walking distance to most of the important sites in Old Town Istanbul, the service was excellent, food was very good, room was clean. For a moderately priced hotel it was one of the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCWSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidentistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Our most sincere thanks for the review.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in early June, and rate it as one of our most successful city breaks. The hotel is a modern building located just off the main road and tram route in the old city, close to the Grand Bazaar, and 5 - 10 minutes walk from the main sites of interest.
All the facilities one would expect of a modern city hotel are provided, but what stood out was how friendly and helpful the staff are. A sense of personal attention is created, but without any feeling of intrusion. A buffet breakfast with a wide range of options is served in a light and airy room with views over the Sea of Marmara, and dinner is served in the relaxing atmosphere of the ground-floor restaurant. On mid-summer evenings, the restaurant operation is relocated to the roof-top terrace which provides wonderful views of the Sea of Marmara, the sun setting over western Istanbul, and the floodlit Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia.
Taking into account all the positive features, the whole stay was provided at an overall price that made it outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honored to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT HOTEL”. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a PLUS Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you again. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Gülseren Vatansever

General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS
THE PRESIDENT HOTEL
ISTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The Best Western President is located in the city's oldest historic area, a few hundred meters from the wonderful Grand Bazaar and a short walk from nearly all of Istanbul's other must see sights. For a reasonable rate we got a very nice water view room, excellent beds, new bathroom, flat screen TV, safe, water view and delicious breakfast buffet included. The roof-top sun deck and restaurant has an incredible view overlooking Sultan Hamet (Blue Mosque) and the Sea of Marmaris. The staff are extremely helpful and professional, particularly Tulay in Guest Services and Erkan in Reception. We liked it so much we returned again for a few nights before we left Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IstanbulMuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidentistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice words. We hope to you see you again.
Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. My wife and I recently stayed there for 7 nights and the only downside was a noisy Turkish wedding party on the Saturday evening which stopped promptly at midnight. The hotel is perfectly placed for all the main tourist attractions which can be reached either on foot or by the excellent public transport.
The food and accommodation was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. This helped to make our stay one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever had. We will go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights at the end of our honey moon. The hotel is what you would expect from a city hotel, adequately sixed rooms, clean, std facilities etc however what made it special was the friendly very attentive and eager to help staff. Breakfast- delicous and wide selection of cold and hot food.
Literally 2 mins walk from the Great Bazar, and only 10 mins from Blue mosque and Haghia Sophia. Would recommend it to visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWThePresidentHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel management and all the hotel staff, I would like to say that we are always honored to welcome you to “ BEST WESTERN PLUS THE PRESIDENT HOTEL”. I would like to say that our highest priority is to provide you with a memorable and pleasant experience each time you stay in our hotel. We will do our best in order to serve your needs in the way that will meet and exceed your expectations. Being a PLUS Hotel which is a part of the BEST WESTERN Hotels’ chain, in order to maintain our quality of service and products, our guests’ satisfaction is taken into consideration immediately.

We appreciate for giving us an opportunity of hosting you again. We look forward your next arrival, we are pleased & honored serving you.

Kindest Regards,

Gülseren Vatansever

General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS
THE PRESIDENT HOTEL
ISTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,540 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#195 of 1,160 in Istanbul
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,160 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The President Hotel

Address: Tiyatro Caddesi 25 | Beyazit, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service Istanbul, Turkey hotel provides easy access to nearby attractions such as the Grand Bazaar, St. Sophia and the Bosphorus Seaway. Located in the heart of Istanbul's historic city center, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The President Hotel offers all of the amenities to make both business and leisure travelers feel like at home. Istanbul, Turkey's most famous museums and historical sites are within walking distance of the hotel including St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Karakoy Pier. The hotel offers 201 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites to fit any taste. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Hotel amenities include a complimentary full breakfast buffet, an indoor swimming pool overlooking the Marmara Sea, an exercise facility, sauna, a full business center and meeting/banquet space to accommodate up to 450 guests. The hotel also offers complimentary cocktails at the on-site cocktail lounge. The BEST WESTERN PLUS The President Hotel is located a short distance from the Underground Cistern, the Blue Mosque, the Golden Horn and Taksim Square. Guests will enjoy spending an afternoon at the Kariye Museum or taking in an evening performance at the AKM Opera House & Symphony. The CNR World Trade Center is located less than four kilometers from the hotel, perfect for guests traveling on business. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS The President Hotel in Istanbul, Turkey! Free welcome cocktail on arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing