We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, super convenient”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #143 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful, super convenient”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location was fabulous (five minutes from the Blue Mosque and ten from the Hagia Sofia), breakfast was delicious, and the staff was incredibly helpful -- they answered every question we had, offered helpful recommendations and even held onto our suitcases for a few hours between our noon checkout time and our evening train. Our room was clean and comfortable. My only caution: we went on one of the tours the front desk recommended, which we later realized was quite overpriced, but of course that's the case anywhere. We traveled as a couple (both in our 20s) and really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaviaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    125
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
223
48
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There is so much to recommend about this small hotel. The dining room makes good use of an old Ottoman house that itself used even older Byzantine pillars so the atmosphere is excellent.
The rooms were very clean with good bathrooms but ours were on a mezzanine level with the street directly outside and the lights and noise were occasionally a bit much.
Staff pleasant and helpful.
Supplies in the rooms needed resupplying at times.
The hotel is in an interesting area of small winding streets with old Ottoman era houses. Plenty of small restaurants nearby. Very close to hippodrome, Blue Mosque etc.
However we were alarmed to note that the entrance to the fire escape was blocked by a spare bed. We made strong comment about this to the management and also to our tour company.

Room Tip: Take a room above the mezzanine and make sure it is equipped with enough electric plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokullupasa, Genel Müdür at Sokullu Pasa Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ray Margaret G ,

Thank you for your great review.Reviews are so important to know strong and weak sides of our hotel.
However the cleaning staff and extra beds were there because of a renovation on storages.
We choosed first floor because first floor because it has 3 different entrance.Instead of fire exit customers will reach 2 exit easily in extra ordinary situations.
When we are having decisions of course safety is most important thing.
P.s and our renovation of storage is finished,all stuff are in storages now.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is amazing.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms were clean.
Breakfast was brilliant every morning.
Tram stop is a 10mins walk away that links to all areas of Istanbul.
It's a 5min walk to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia.
I have no words to fault this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabinak1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in Oct 2013 in Sokullu Pasa hotel & it was wonderful.
Spacious Rooms - We were 4 of us & the rooms were quite spacious and delightfully decorated.
Convenient Location - The hotel is just 10 mins walk from the Sultanahmet mosque & Arasta Bazaar.
Nice kitchen - Nice spread of breakfast & decent food (they had a good choice for us - Vegetarians).
Excellent Service - Very accomodating & courteous (especially Mesut in the front desk).
While I checked out noon time, my flight was late in the night. The front desk staff were so helpful in keeping our baggage etc.
The hotel WiFi was free & quite strong; we spent our time sitting in the lobby watching serials/ soaps.
Overall left with nice memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaluGopu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sokullu Pasa on two separate occasions in August/September for a total of 8 nights. Located in the old city it is within easy walking distance of the major tourist sites of Sultanahmet (10 minutes to the Hippodrome and 20 min to the Grand Bazaar). Notwithstanding this, the area around the hotel retains a village like atmosphere with the nearby weekly fruit markets and other day to day occurrences in the streets helping to lessen the "touristic" feeling of Sultanahmet. As such the hotel always provided a welcoming enclave at the end of a busy day. The hotel itself is small but comfortable with stylish and well appointed common areas with plenty of seating. Of particular note are the garden courtyard and breakfast area. Likewise both rooms that we stayed in were tastefully decorated, comfortable and well appointed. We also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and found its variety to be among the best that we experienced during our five weeks of travelling. Similarly we found all of the staff to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful and note their contribution towards making our stay in Istanbul most enjoyable.
We would willingly return to the Sokullu Pasa again when next visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In September and October we returned to Hotel Sokullu Pasa for the third time in three years.
The two first stays had been splendid, the third one surpassed them both. What makes this hotel so special?
1. The staff. It was the same smiling faces that greeted us this time as before and they did absolutely everything they could to give us a pleasant stay. Coming back to the hotel after a busy day of sightseeing or after the excursion to East Anatolia it was like coming home.
2. The breakfast and restaurant service. The hotel has several small, nice local restaurants near by, but nowhere is the standard of food as high as in the hotel.The breakfast buffet is first class.
3. The rooms. All the rooms are decorated in Ottoman style. Some of the rooms are just magnificent. During our stay we had the chance to stay in the two suites on the top floor. Both have balconies with a view over the Marmara see and the beautiful Small Hagia Sophia mosque.
4. The history of the hotel. The old house is build on the foundations of the palace of the Grand Vizir Sokullu Mehmed Pasa. As it is a historic site the ancient columns and stones found there had to be incorporated in the design of the hotel This has created a courtyard and restaurant section that is beautiful and very atmospheric.
5. The location. All major sights in the old town is within easy walking distance. But as the hotel is slightly outside the main hotel district, you get the feel of being in a small town in stead of being in the middle of one of the largest cities in the world. In the neighbourhood of the hotel you have a weekly fruit and vegetable market, local bakeries and sweet shops and it takes only a few minutes to walk to the Istanbul fish market and the Kumpkaki area, which is famous for fish and seafood restaurants.Near the hotel are two of the nicest small mosques in the city, and it is a pleasure to be woken up in the morning by the first call from the minarets. You know instantly that you are in Istanbul,Turkey and not in any other big city in Europe.
6. The way the hotel takes care of their former guests. I planned to take a group of my friends to the hotel, but was informed very politely from the management that they normally did not cater for larger groups or parties. Their policy was that rooms must be available for their regular clients. In the end they made an exception for us this time and we were 24 very satisfied guests, who all want to return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 have balconies with view over the Marmara sea. They are both described by the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerO1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Though we had a very short stay at Sokulla for about 2 days but they went out of their way to help is. We were travelling with my soon to be 2 yr old baby then and the hotel opened their kitchen to me. They let me cook food for my child in their kitchen with free access to the pantry. That is rare ! The hotel is small but beautiful. They have local women coming and cooking breakfast everyday and the spread is great. Friendly staff. Well located abt 15 min walk to the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#63 of 1,140 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#51 of 1,140 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#49 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#24 of 1,140 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#68 of 1,140 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#131 of 1,140 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Property: Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing