We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home in Istanbul”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Home in Istanbul”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is my second time in Istanbul. This time with my wife, who wanted to see the Old part of the city.
We were looking for a cozy and homey feeling place to stay. After reading several reviews, it was our choice, and it was the best decision we made in this trip.
Restaurants, Cafes are nearby .. you can even enjoy fresh bread from a bakery is few yards away. Five minutes walk and you will be in the backyard of Blue Mosque & Hagia Sofia Historical area.
Hotel staff are extremely nice and helpful. Acelya , Fettah, Volkan, Yusof and not to forget Duggu who chose our lovely room. Breakfast was enjoyable in the garden. Don’t miss to enjoy Tea in the terrace.
I recommend this lovely hotel to travelers who enjoy walking and mingling with locals. My next stay will definitely be here. Sokullu Pasa Hotel is my home in Istanbul.

Room Tip: You may choose room 106 for Garden view and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhaziAlSayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    127
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
225
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Staff were very friendly, helpful organizing dinner or shows for us and takeaway breakfast on our checkout day. The food was great in the hotel. Breakfast was a feast so many amazing local sweet and savory dishes.
The hotel is Ina very central location. I would go back if staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieYoungMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were exceptional- from organising dinner for us, organising the folk dance show; getting ice when I injured my leg - fantastic! We have now finished our tour if turkey and this was our favourite hotel due the wonderful staff, excellent breakfast (lost of lovely Turkish food if you want); rooms were clean and comfy. Definitely recommend a stay here if in Istanbul. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff - Letitia, Jenny and Naomi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tishba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first visit to Istanbul with our friends, we booked 3 standard rooms. the accommodation was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful and an excellent location near all the sights we wanted to visit.

Room Tip: All 3 of our rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nailsworthBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in the hotel last spring, a short time after they had opened after the redecoration and upgrading. We were extremely pleased with our first stay. Therefore it was with just a little bit of anticipation I returned with friends to see if they had managed to keep up the standard and the very friendly service and atmosphere. No reason for such a fear, if possible the hotel was even better this time, and I have already decided to return in September 2013 with more of my friends.

This time we had chosen one of the special tourist packages the hotel offers on their internet page .In addition to reduced room prices, we were offered a full day sightseeing in Istanbul including a boat trip on the Bosphorus, an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant and a first class folklore show with dinner. The hotel did also provide free transport from and to the airport. We found the package to be very good value for the money spent.

It is one of the most beautiful, stylish hotels I have stayed in, due to the Ottoman style decorations and furniture in all public and private rooms. The redecoration of the hotel has been done with great taste, incorporating antique coloumns and walls from the former mansion that stood on the site. The rooms are very comfortable and with no traffic noise.
The hotel is situated only a 5 minutes walk from The Blue Mosque, but not in the very touristy part of Sultan Ahmet. Apartment houses, small shops, street markets and cafes are forming the neighbourhood. All major tourist sights in the old town are within walking distance from the hotel, including Hagia Sophia, Topkapi and the Grand Bazaar.

What makes Sokulla Pasa extra special? The staff!! From the hotel manager to the reception and restaurant staff you are welcomed and served with such kindness and grace, that when you leave the hotel your only thoughts are: When can I have my next stay here?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerO1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I loved this boutique hotel. This was our first visit to Istanbul and we would definitely stay here again. The location was perfect - on a quiet street and within easy walking distance to the main tourist sights in the old city (the Hippodrome, Hagia Sopia, the Blue Mosque, the grande bazaar and the spice market, etc.). Most important were the staff - all of whom made us feel very welcome. They were knowledgeable, helpful and always responsive. Our room (room 402) on the top floor was large and bright with a lovely private balcony overlooking the Marmara Sea. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and well appointed. The hotel includes breakfast in the room cost. It was excellent with a variety of excellent food. We have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say that this is one of the nicest boutique hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, good location close to everything, Awesome Breakfast !, friendly staff especially the nice lady catering the breakfast but avoid room 306, the air cond wouldn't cool it was summer with outside temps of over 40 Degrees Celsius and continues sewage smell coming from the bathroom, complained about air cond was told a tech was called and would be fixed, after returning from sight seeing was told that it was fixed but wasn't and after complaining again firmly was changed to another room, I don't think we would visit this hotel again but as mentioned location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,151 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#50 of 1,151 in Istanbul
825 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#52 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#140 of 1,151 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,151 in Istanbul
494 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#138 of 1,151 in Istanbul
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Property: Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing