We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant decor in a great location”
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Ranked #134 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here and absolutely enjoyed our stay. It's a 5" walk to the Blue Mosque (slightly uphill on cobblestones so may take some folks longer). Located on a fairly quiet street for Istanbul. We stayed in 1B which faced an alley so the noise was minimal. Bathroom was small but clean. Breakfast was good. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. If we ever come back we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 499 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a welcoming little place in central Sultanahmet. The only objection I have is that some of the rooms are tiny even by the standards of Sultanhamet boutique hotels. My room did not even have a chair and nowhere much to put a case/hang clothes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We visited Istanbul for the first time in 1976 and have returned to this magic town more than 20 times over the years. We have seen how the number of good hotels have increased and especially the number of new beautiful butique hotels in the Sultanahmet district. For our spring break this year we chose to stay in Sokullu Pasa Hotel on the recommandation of Turkish friends. From the moment we entered the front door it became a wonderful experience due to a very welcoming and friendly staff. The hotel has recently been upgraded and today it is exceptionally beautifully decorated in the Ottoman style. We wanted to make the stay something extra this time and had chosen one of the two suites, the "Harem Suite" In addition to a huge, comfortable bedroom with a round bed which could have belonged to a sultan, the suite had a beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi, a seperate toilet, and a seperate shower. But the highlight of the suite was the private Turkish bath (Hammam) in grey marble with colourful Isnik tiles. The suite had now windows, but it did still have enough air and light as each of the rooms had several domes in the ceiling. We travelled with another couple, who chose the other suite : The Bosphorus suite. They were just as satisfied as we, as they in addition to a marvellous room also had a small balcony with an incredible view over the Bosphorus and the Marmara Sea.
The Breakfast buffet was first class and was included in the rate of the room.
Apart from the beauty of the hotel and the good service we must also point out the perfect location only 4 minutes walk away from the Blue Mosque . The hotel is situated in a small sidestreet without traffic noise in an area with small wooden houses. Some of these are now turned into hotels, but the majority of the houses are still used as family homes. It gave us a unique feeling of experiencing the real Istanbul in a way we have not had before in the Sultanahmed district.
It is a hotel we really hope we will have the chance to return to in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerO1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The hotel is very nice. The location is perfect. The interior was wonderful.The stuff was very helpful, very friendly, always smiling. They provided always useful information. The staff made our stay in Istanbul more pleasant. I would recomend this hotel to everybody. Very good quality for its price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valery112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Sokullu Pasa was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed.When we entered in,we were very charmed by the ottoman style decoration and the warm welcoming.Taking advantage of a special March offer we were upgraded into a superior room instead of a standard double.Our room was indeed fantastic.It was spacious, with a lot of light,very clean and silent and full equiped.The bed was orthopaedic and with clean sheets.Moreover the room had a breathtaking vista in the Marmaras Sea.Considering our breakfast,that was delicious.It consisted of food with ottomanic influences together with european style breakfast.Furthermore each day there was a «new entry»in the sweets menu(one day homemade profiterol,the other chocolate cream or rice pudding).But mostly,above all,what will always remain unforgettable in us, that you will not find even in a 5 star famous hotel, is the quality of the people that run the hotel.They have welcomed us with a warm hug and an endless smile.We felt as being at home and we made new friends.They were interested in the way to facilitate our tour(restaurant proposal,commuting ideas,shopping tips)in Istanbul and solve any possible problem.We were talking for hours exchanging our ideas and feelings and we felt very close.Many thanks to Ozgur,Murat,Fettah,Erhan,Azelia,Diana,Siebel and all the other unforgettable and helpful staff.We hope to see you all soon because we already miss you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yannis-Zoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I agree with these other comments- the staff is indeed charming and helpful and really went to extra lengths to make me comfortable. They weren't just polite, they were genuinely interested. I thought the free breakfast buffet was the best I'd ever seen. The Sokullu Pasa is newly renovated too, so unlike many boutique hotels I've visited, all the amenities are up to date and perfectly functional. I loved the location, the ambiance, and the restaurant, but mostly it's the staff that makes this such a great hotel. Absolutely 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volvoxdomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Gayan, Sibel, Yusef, Fettah and the two others that work the front desk were amazing!!
When I was inside I was really treated like family. No where else have I experienced that and they were all so helpful all the time.. My trip was memorable because of them..
When I go back to Istanbul I will be sure to book again with them.. Worthwhile stay, from the decor (stunning), the food (great), the setting (perfect) etc... Just lovely..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCOYDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#46 of 1,175 in Istanbul
858 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#19 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,838 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#43 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#270 of 1,175 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#121 of 1,175 in Istanbul
513 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing