We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like real Sultans!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treated like real Sultans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just came back from 5 nights at Boutique St Sophia and had a wonderful time there. Location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance from all the main sites of Sultanahmet and just next to the tramway to visit the rest of the city. The hotel is beautiful, modern, with a lovely patio outside. The rooms are also beautiful, super comfy bed & XL shower as well as coffee machine. We had also booked the breakfasts and really enjoyed it, they serve you at the table (which personally I prefer to Buffet) and a few extras are also available (cereals, fresh fruits & jam).
Last but not least, I saved the best for the end: the team of the Hotel is fantastic. From the moment we checked-in to the check-out, every team member was outstanding with genuine care. We highly recommend this hotel if you are heading to Istanbul! Thank you all for a lovely time. Caroline & Sergio

Room Tip: We had a Superior room and found it big enough but we travel light! If you enjoy more space, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro_C92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia,

Thank you so much for your wonderful Review.
I am thrilled to hear that you were treated like real Sultans throughout your stay.
I am delighted that you found our hotel beautiful, modern, with a lovely patio outside and you enjoyed the location and you liked your room, which you felt was clean, beautifully decorated and well appointed, with comfortable bed & XL shower as well as coffee machine.. I am also delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast.
Thank you for your kind words about the service and staff which I have passed to everyone and thank you also for your recommendation.
I do hope that you will return on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    69
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
182
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family in Istanbul. It was our first time in Turkey and this hotel seemed well-located for the sights in Sultanahmet.

The Good: It IS extremely well located for the sights in Sultanahmet, and although there is not much else around for more social tourists, it is close enough to the tram to get you to your fun night in Beyoglu and back. The Egyptian Market and Grand Bazaar aren't far off, either. The staff was extremely nice and spoke English.

The Not-So-Good: While the rooms look modern, they have design flaws. First, the bathroom and shower doors are only glass dividers that don't go from floor to ceiling, so none of your bathroom activities will be all that private. Second, the shower empties onto the marble floor of the bathroom and the small drain ensures that water will spill all over the bathroom area. This is messy and potentially dangerous in a room made of marble. Finally (and this appears to be the case in several turkish hotels), the energy saving mechanism requires your room card for any electric devices to work, meaning that the AC will not run at all while you are gone, and you will always return to an extremely hot room for an hour or so.

In sum, this is a fine hotel for its location and staff, but it could use some work.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank amacsoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us . We apprecite both review such as positive and negative.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the service from all the team here.
Of course, we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.
I do hope that we get the chance to meet your expectations once again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but visited the courtyard restaurant after seeing the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia:
We wanted to get away from the crowds and this offered a secluded yet trendy area that acted as a sun trap. The waiter spoke good English & the service was ok. We had the hot plate starter which was nice but did not have the shrimps as stated on the menu but extra mozzarella sticks instead.
I had the chicken Caesar salad & requested halloumi on the side which was not a problem, my boyfriend had the chicken Alfredo. The food was good but all brought out at the same time rather than having the starter first & then the mains. With the 3 dishes & 2 drinks the total bill was around 78TL.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location can't be beat. Right next to Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, few steps to Topkapi Palace and Blue Mosque. A few mins walk to the Grand Bazaar, Eminonu and Spice Bazaar.
The staff are friendly and efficient.
The room we are at is a bit small but beautiful and clean. Note on the shower, the water can spill all over the bathroom floor but a bit of adjusting the shower spray will avoid the spill.
Overall a great stay and will come back is ever I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_j_yup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senay D, Director of Sales at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on tripadvisor and we are happy to read that we were able to meet your requirements during your trip. We will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just like my last trip to Istanbul in 2010 , this time too we were in a dilemma regarding which hotel to choose in Sultanahmet and we finally picked out this one.
The Boutique St. Sophia has an incredible location. In fact much better than other hotels in a way. It's right next to the wall of Hagia Sophia. Very convenient.
THE STAFF - VERY VERY COURTEOUS. Right from the front desk to Çevin and the others , everyone puts in their best effort to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
The rooms are very well maintained. The bathrooms are of good size and the toiletries are from Bvlgari.The wifi signal is good. I loved the fruit platter kept in our rooms in the evening.
The breakfast - well presented and sufficient.
My only suggestion to the hotel would be to change the company which manages their airport transfer. They were extremely rude and made us wait for more than half an hour for a car when we arrived.
Apart from that , everything was perfect.
Would love to return for sure and thank you to the entire staff for being so nice all the while. See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puhup_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senay D, Director of Sales at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and could contribute to making your visit to Istanbul a memorable experience.
We do thank you for your thoughtful comments and look forward to welcoming you again on many occasions.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I staid at this hotel over a holiday weekend and it was not a nice experience. The check-in took very long (~20mins) and was difficult as the person checking us in tried his best but could not use the systems and only spoke very little English. He tried to do small-talk but his questions were rather invasive. The check-out was similarly difficult.

We paid extra for a room with Hagia Sophia view; I would not do that again as the rooms are too tiny to spend any time in them other than sleeping and you get a great view just from outside. The room itself was tiny. The website indicated a king bed, but this must have been a Turkish king size bed and not what I have at home (felt like double / queen). There was barely any room to open our carry-on bags and you won't be able to open a suitcase. The whole thing had a hostel feel. The bathroom had a stained glass sliding door, and the toilet is at pillow level (ie opposite where you rest your head; separated by a glass door; if you travel with someone, better be comfortable going to the toilet while the other can watch you). The internet was super slow and I could only check my emails after 11pm at night. Lastly, the walls (and door) is very thin and I could hear our neighbours in their rooms as well as coming back late at night.

The breakfast did not have a large variety and it would have been better to be done buffet style. You get juices, bread, cheese and meat.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor; will have fewer people walk by your door. Not worth paying for special vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senay D, General Manager at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
We hope you will give us another chance with a further visit in the future and let us provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality here at the Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during our recent visit to Istanbul and have found it difficult to find fault. Perfect location close to some of the best places to visit, very friendly and helpful staff. The only issue we had was the breakfast for two could have fed four. Still if this is the only problem......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIRAT Y, Owner at Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Boutique Saint Sophia Guest,

Thank you for your review and your nice comments.We are very pleased that you found our staff very friendly and helpful and also very pleased to read your comments regarding our good locations We pride ourselves in providing the best experience possible for all our guests and we are very happy that we were able to do that for you. We hope, we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#109 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#95 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel

Property: Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Address: Alemdar Cad. No 2, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Saint Sophia is situated in the premium location of Istanbul, surrounded by all the major historic and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, just next to the renowned Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, AyaSofya) Museum. In this prime location, locals and visitors alike are offered the chance to experience Istanbul’s impressive history that spans the rise and fall of three of the world’s most famous empires: Byzantium, Roman, and Ottoman.In this city full of art and history, you are sure to enjoy spectacular historical landmarks, a plethora of museums, churches, and bazaars amidst the beautiful harmony of cultures and people from East to West.Our team is ready to look after your every need and please don’t hesitate to call on us if there is anything further we can do to enhance your stay. We are delighted you have chosen Boutique Saint Sophia and wish you a most enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing