We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite ones but good enough!”
Review of Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was guest of this hotel few months ago. The hotel was good enough but is not my favorite.
Is a classic hotel with classic, modern, turkish design.

Is good for visiting the center because is near the hot spots.
Quality/prices.....not balanced for the period I booked.
Maybe were some fairs or other activities in the city that increased the rates. (I hope so...)

In the lobby there is a television with the timetable of the airplanes in the lobby....updated every minutes with the flights departures from Ataturk. If you are not Indiana Jones and you like to plan a lot your travel avoiding surprises...that is the hotel for you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, as they give us a chance to see how we are doing from a guest perspective.

We hope that in your future travels we would have the honor of serving you again. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 300 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Just a 10-15 minute walk from askaray metro its quick and easy to get to (askaray metro itself is just a 25 minute metro journey from attaturk airport). We stayed 4 nights - the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms clean, comfortable and modern with great air conditioning. Only minor drawback was the glass bathroom door which didnt have a lock (by design). The included breakfast was ok - reasonable selections of breads, salads, cereals and fruit etc - nothing special but perfectly edible. There are a few small grocery stores nearby so its easy to pick up any bits and bobs you need. The hotel is well situated for visting sultanhmed - close enough that its not a chore getting there but far enough away to give you a break from the noise, hustle and bustle. From the hotel you can walk to all the major sites in sultanhmed within around 25 minutes or you can walk 2 minutes down the street and jump in a tram at aksaray tram station (a 5 minute tram ride). The hotel is round the corner from some incredible roman aquaducts which are well worth a walk around and close by to the spectacular suleymaniye mosque. We were very pleased with this hotel and would happily recommend.

Thank samsamaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PremierSenatorHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding your recent stay. It is our goal to provide the higher level of customer service to our valued guests. Your comments are shared with our team members. Your recommendation are noted and necessary actions will be taken to provide greater service to our guests.
It’s great to know that you are pleasant with your stay and recommend us.
We all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights in May on a stopover on the way back to the UK.

Our check-in, late in the evening, was quick and efficient. The lady told us that she had 'upgraded' us to a suite. This was really just a way of justifying giving us a room with two single beds rather than a double.

The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The curtains were thick and covered the window extremely well. This meant that we slept for a solid ten hours. I only wish that all hotel curtains kept the light out so well. The bathroom (with bath) was clean had relatively well-sized. Toiletries were fine.

Breakfast was a good selection of cold Turkish buffet, fruit and hot options. The olives were particularly tasty.

We ate in the restaurant one night. Nothing special, but not bad. It's open until 10pm.

The hotel is not in Sultanahmet, but is a little walk away following a tram line along one of the bustling main streets. It's a pleasant and interesting walk and takes you past a main square and lots of little shops and cafés.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, as they give us a chance to see how we are doing from a guest perspective. We regret to see your experience with your sleep quality was not what it should have been. I would like to inform you that we changed all curtains with new blackout fabrics. Also we were happy to see the positive scores for Breakfast and Location.

We hope that in your future travels we would have the honor of serving you again. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First the good things, the staff is friendly, everything is very clean, the room is large and at the breakfast you find a large choice of different food in superb quality. The only small drawback it is a little bit noisy in the rooms. You can hear the people in the room next to you. However if you don't care it is great. The fitness room is also very small and the weights are for old men ;)
The tram is close and if you don't mind to walk 5-10min you can catch the Metro M1 to the Airport. It costs only 3 TL :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sknallt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept my apology for falling short of your expectations with regards to the fitness centrer. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest wishes from Best Western Premier Senator Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We disembarked from our cruise in Istanbul and though we had a reservation at the Doubletree Hotel in the Old City. When we finally arrived our reservation was not there and the hotel was booked. We ended up securing an upgraded room at the Best Western Senator hotel in the Old City. The room was spacious, clean and the bathroom was upgraded with a "turkish" tub and a wand for the shower. The TV had limited channels however we weren't in our room much. We tried dinner at the hotel restaurant and it turned out to be one of the best meals we had in Istanbul. The hotel staff were very helpful. The location was about a 20 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and located close to the tram stop if you are brave enough to try it.

Room Tip: I suggest a room on the top floor that has a balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. Necessary steps will be taken.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier Senator in the very near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I and my wife stayed here at the start and end of our bus tour of Turkey. It was chosen because of its high ratings and we were not disappointed with its elegance, and the friendly, attentive staff. It is a smart performer in the Best Western chain of independent hotels.
The two rooms we occupied over three nights met all our expectations, in particular the LG flat screen TV, the free Wi-Fi access, and the comfortable beds. Of note was the toilet with its built-in bidet jet; a turn of a knob on the wall behind activated a jet of water that squirted up the backside more effectively than anything else I have seen in Spain.
As to convenience: turn right outside the hotel and walk up to the busy side street; you can either turn left up the incline, cross the road with care and walk up one of the side roads near the top and find loads of restaurants to eat at; or you can turn right down the busy side road, cross it and take the next turning that is signposted to the Old Bazaar. There you will find a restaurant that is situated in one of the squares in the bazaar where, for about sixty Turkish Liras (TL) you can eat a filling meal with wine and water and see a show. It and its presumed sister restaurant are located underground in an historic water cistern. After or before, stroll around the bazaar and haggle if you wish.
At the bottom of the same side road are the trams. For 3 TL plastic tokens per person you buy at the nearest station dispenser, you can go the whole way to the main sights like the Topkapi Palace and archaeology museum some distance away, where people watching is fun. Get a small card map showing the details from hotel reception. On your return, get off at Laleli and walk down the main road and see some of the many Roman ruins and sample Turkish Delight at a specialist shop on the right hand side.
The downsides? The food is dominantly Turkish and we got fed up with it; the barracking from the Turkish vendors and waiters trying to get you into their premises is overwhelming; many of the drivers are schizophrenic madmen; the taxi driver we used robbed us in spite of my best efforts. Istanbul itself looked the worse for wear, but its modern road system is overwhelmed by traffic.

Room Tip: Building work to one side of hotel but never heard it at night. You need to pass your room card acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is delightful to know that you found our staff is attentive and friendly. We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest wishes from Best Western Premier Senator Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have chosen for the Senator hotel because of their website-information: hotel was recently totally renovated. We made a reservation for 4 nights in a junior suite and asked for a quiet room and a working airconditioning (AC).

The arrival was not a warm welcome and the hotel inside don’t looks a renovated hotel. Our room (it should be a junior suite) was dated with dark brown colors; only the bathroom was new. At our arrival the room was very very hot: 27 degrees C! (81 in F); the temperature in the city was about 25 degrees C. I always have my own thermometer with me. The AC was not on and still had the winter-position: heat. We asked the hotelboy to put it on. He explained everything in the room, but didnot mentioned the AC. We went back in town and after 6 hours we came back and the room was still about 27 degr.C. We complained several times, but nothing changed. A technical employee came 2x and said every is OK. It is bad to deny the problem. Later on we tried many times to put the AC on but we never saw the temperature becomes lower by the AC ( to sleep you need max. 22-23degr.) We were lucky to have a balcony, so we could open a door. We needed a fully open door to be able to sleep and must accept the night-sounds of the town.

Most probably the AC was off because of economical reason of the owner. This Best Western hotel (Premier??) was also independent. Because of the AC we don’t had a pleasant time here. The breakfast was rather completed and the bed was OK. The hotel is also a bit far from the center; you have to walk about 20 min. to the next tram-station. You cannot reach the street of the hotel by car. The price 233 euro/night is much too high for this room. The neighbour building of the hotel has been renovated with much noise.

We will never visit this hotel again and cannot recommend it. We prepare our hotel-choises always very good, so we did not expect this at all. We travel a lot and visited many many hotels. This was the worst hotel in many years. I dislike bad reviews, because for many years we only have written positive reviews on Tripadvisor. From May 2012 till now, I had almost 10.000 readers! On Tripadvisor the Senator hotel is on place 620 from 813. In other reviews people also complains about the AC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funda_Sengun, Guest Relations Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Premier Senator hotel that is one of the historical heritages of Istanbul as your host during your recent visit to İstanbul. I am disappointed to learn that your visit was not a complete success, and apologize for the challenges you experienced. I take these matters very seriously and I am disheartened to read that a resolution to your dissatisfaction was not reached.

As the new management team of BW Premier Senator hotel, we are focused on our trainings continuing, for our team members and hope that you will see a significant improvement of high service standarts upon your next stay. The AC system has been controlled technically the fault has been fixed.

Our vision is to see ourselves from the perspective of our guests and to correct our deficiencies to provide better service to our valued guests of Best Western Premier Senator.We take all of our guests feedback very seriously so that we can always strive to improve the standarts of the whole service provided to our guests.
Each guest is very special and important for us that is why we would be happy to welcome you in our hotel over and over! Thank you for staying with us hope to see you again in Best Western Premier Senator.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#233 of 1,175 in Istanbul
403 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Bulvar Palas
Hotel Bulvar Palas
#527 of 1,175 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#523 of 1,175 in Istanbul
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Black Bird Hotel
Black Bird Hotel
#604 of 1,175 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#430 of 1,175 in Istanbul
294 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yigitalp Hotel
Yigitalp Hotel
#356 of 1,175 in Istanbul
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Address: Gencturk Caddesi Sirvanizade Sokak | No: 5 Vezneciler - Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Senator Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#119 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#199 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#203 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#210 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $53 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Senator Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing