We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$515
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
215
221
60
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
221
60
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewblue mosqueold citysultanahmet areagrand bazaarbusiness tripexcellent hotelwalking distancehotel is locatedclean roomslate at nighttourist attractionshagia sofiamarmarabosphorusshipspersonnel
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 518 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Locating , Location, Location. It has a very good location, everything you need is near by, mainly sultanahmet and its amazing surrounding historical area. The staff were so friendly and politeful and they're trying to do their best to make your stay pleasant. The lobby is so quit and enjoyable to so sit there before you get back your room. For the room, it was very clean and spacious. All in all I do recommend this hotel for people who would enjoy the Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your review with us and with so many online travellers.I am sure these reviews are as much important to them as they are to us.
For us it's of course also a pleasure to know that our guests loved their stay at Kalyon Hotel and enjoyed the city.You can easely discover places in walking distance as you wrote down.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elvan ERTEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff at this hotel were among the most professional, efficient and friendly that I have encountered in a 4 star hotel. I had asked my agent to book for myself for 3 days, and for 2 people for the rest of my stay. This had not happened, and I had a small room on the ground floor. Despite the fact that the hotel were not at fault, they organized for me to move into a room with 2 single beds on the day my friend arrived. Not only that, they moved all my things to the new room. Breakfasts were excellent, great variety, and extremely efficient staff.
The view from the dining room and terrace across the Bosphorus was magic.
The hotel is in a very convenient position, within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, Topkapi palace and numerous other interesting spots. There are plenty of places to eat around the area, although I can recommend the menu and wine list at the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor at the rear. The view is of a brick wall. Try to book a room at the front, with a view of the Bosphorus.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to read your review and would like to thank you on behalf of the team. It is good to hear that you had great experience, enjoyed our food during your stay.
Kalyon team appreciates your time and nice comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Negatives - not every room has a view of the Bosporus or Blue Mosque. Ours looked out onto a brick wall.

You have to go out through a side door if you want to go to Sultanahmed (why else would you book this hotel as a tourist?), the staff buzz you through the first gate and then forget you are there! It happened more than once to me and I had to stand in a small walled garden waving at a locked door to get someones attention.

The terrace bar is a nice place to sit for an afternoon drink. there are always 3 or 4 staff wandering in your general direction, they will happily take your order, and deliver it, but for some reason seem to find it impossible to produce a bill. You ask the nearest staff member - he nods, walks away and then comes back and starts moving glasses from one table to another - you wait 10 minutes, remind him you need a bill and he nods, smiles and walks away again. This didn't happen once, in a one week stay it happened 3-4 times.

Positives -

We paid not much for the room via Expedia, the terrace overlooking the Bosporus is great place to people watch, the staff are friendly, there are plenty of great places to eat in a close proximity and the Blue Mosque is a simple 200 metre hill climb away.

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast, there are good places close by that are much cheaper.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.
We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We have also taken note of your constructive feedback and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Elvan ERTEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Tantalisingly positioned by a seemingly unswimmable sea, the hotel is shoehorned into the narrow space between the old city wall and a somewhat relentless highway, but nevertheless enjoys a cool breeze and views.

(One negative point - not the hotel's fault - is the road design in front of the hotel. When the traffic lights go green, eastbound traffic often attempts illegal U turns which are inevitably clumsy and add to a sense of mild alarm!)

Service was mixed - the reception staff seemed distracted and confused much of the time (hence an overlong wait to check in where I was exiled to the bar and then left forgotten). The restaurant staff service was also mixed - my first course at one meal which I was still eating was just pushed aside as the main course was ready ..!). It was by no means bad service, but inclined to be inattentive.

Nevertheless my stay was comfortable enough - I slept and rested well. I didn't have breakfast but used the restaurant on three occasions for convenience as well as to enjoy the sea view.

The hotel's position can confound you and taxi drivers seemed not to know where it was. So having the address or the hotel card is a good idea. Be aware that the hotel is at the sea level so to get to the sites means you have to get to the heights - so allow yourself time and energy to walk up with opportunities to get completely lost - or just get a taxi.

The corniche is a pleasure to ramble along, but the facilities and recreations are limited, modest and purely turkish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments for improvement.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Elvan ERTEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Perfect stay! 4 star hotel with 5 star service! the staff is very friendly, professional and really caring about their guests. the location is wonderful. The hotel is located in the heart of Sultanahmet district - walking distance to all main attractions, nice cosy local restaurants and nicely overlooking the sea. there is also a boat stop just 2 minutes away from the hotel. Take a boat trip from there, rather than from overcrowded tourists places. Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. We had a room with the sea view - which I would highly recommend. The breakfast is very nice too.good choice and good service! I would highly recommend this hotels to everybody!

Room Tip: book a sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaEtColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your thoughtful comments, and look forward to welcoming you and your family on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Elvan ERTEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews