We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #316 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent position”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I cannot speak more highly of the Kalyon Hotel. The staff are really, really helpful, our room was large with fantastic views over the sea (make sure you book a sea view room as the views at the back are not good). It is not a large hotel and that makes it all the more friendly. The decor is modern and everywhere is spotless. It is within easy walking distance to all the tourist attractions and there are heaps of restaurants nearby. Plus you can have a nice stroll along the waterfront, which is superb in the early evening. I would not hesitate to stay again the next time we are in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea views - you'll thank yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coops52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Coops
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are really so glad to hear that you had such a great time at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul. It was our pleasure. To hearing your positive opinions which is about the staff affects our motivation positively. We appreciated!

We look forward to hearing from you very soon in near future!!

All the Best.
Kindest Regards,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    211
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
68
158
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Becej, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

There , on European side of Istanbul , just under Blue Moscue is hotel Kalyon. Perfect place for start exploring the old Ottoman history places and perfect distance from Ataturk Airport and ferry port.
Hotel stuff on reception was very helpfull and profesional, always polite and ready to help. Rooms are spacious and have good free WI-fi, perfect bads with selection of 4 different kind of pillows, coffe maker, big flat TV and mini bar. My room was on the first flour and with a view at Marmara sea. Selection of wines in hotel bar is very wide , but the waiters are too young to help You with the choice. Breakfast was very European , with a little of famous Turkish meals. That is something that should be changed by my opinion. All the Istanbul historical places and bazars are near and easy reachable by foot and hotel share one slide of old Constantinopolis defending wall.
After two days spent in hotel Kalyon, I strongly recomend this hotel to anyone has business in Instabul and wants to explore it history places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majstorovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Majstorovici
Thank you very much for the review. It's very nice to hear that you had a good time at Kalyon. It's our pleasure to assist to the guests when they need. Appreciated to mentioning this. We would like to see and host you here in near future again! Please feel free to contact us when you would like to be back to Istanbul.

All the Best.
Kind Regards,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

20 minutes walking distance from Aya Sophia and the Hippodrome area - brilliant!
Though the back gate you can walk up to Sultanahmet area with a great selection of restaurants en route! Don't try and walk back from the city using the front entrance, it's long with a lot of traffic.
The most of the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially concierge.
There is a big variation in the size of the rooms, the classic rooms are small and noisy as they face the back of the property. The grand classic room is much more spacious with couch, breakfast bar and ocean facing plus less noise. The rooms are serviced twice daily, pillow menu, complimentary turn down chocolates and complimentary water.

Room Tip: Request ocean facing for a good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel with many other travelers.
We are happy to hear that our colleagues were able to meet your expectations during your trip to Istanbul.
We have shared your comments with the rest of the team,especially concierge and you really made our day!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Kalyon Hotel for a week and we truly enjoyed every moment. The staff were very friendly and polite. The rooms are perfect and you will find all the necessary amenities. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Hotel Guest ,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel.
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we glad to hear that our colleagues were able to meet your expectations during your trip to Istanbul.
Thank you and we look forward seeing you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards...
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent food in the hotel's restaurant, and excellent service. Room is very nicely decorated and I had all I needed to relax after a very challenging business trip.
For light sleepers (like me) I would strongly recommend to have foam earplugs. Otherwise you will hear everything what's going on in the neighboring rooms and in the corridor.
The location is excellent. Just 10-15 minutes walk from Aga Sofia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Google Translation
Değerli Kalyon Hotel Misafiri,

Öncelikle otelimize göstermiş olduğunuz ilgi için teşekkürlerimizi iletiriz.
Tekrar teşekkür eder, bir sonraki konaklamanızda sizleri tarihi Sultanahmet Cami manzaralı ve daha sessiz olan odalarımızda ağırlamaktan mutluluk duyacağımızı bildiririz.

Saygılarımızla,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the 2nd workshop our organisation has had at the Kalyon Hotel. It was a great success, and a large part due to the Kalyon facilities and staff. The staff were very helpful to answers questions and help with extra tasks (at short notice). The participants commented on the excellent food and friendly staff. Also great to be so close to the historical places
Thanks very much for making the workshop a success.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share it with others online.
We are trying to give the best services to all our guests and it's a pleasure to read that they are appreciated by our guests.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel staff are so accomodating and friendly. Excellent location just a walking distance to the historical places. I will suggest this hotel to my friends who wish to have a relaxing and comfortable stay while in Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetc102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, guest relations at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel.
We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay...
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#208 of 1,141 in Istanbul
449 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,399 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#129 of 1,141 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#115 of 1,141 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyon Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Property: Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Airport Transfer on Arrival for min. 2 night stay!!! With a very special and unique location, KALYON Hotel İstanbul witnesses the magnificent meeting of Istanbul's old city walls with the Sea of Marmara and The Bosphorus. Our Hotel stands out because of its central location, spectacular views of The Bosphorus Sea and with its quality of the service. As one of the pioneers and the leaders of the Turkish Tourism brand, KALYON has been fortunate to host several stars from Hollywood, many eminent Turkish businessmen, international artists and politicians from all round the world. Half of the bedrooms are blessed with the view of the Marmara Sea and the other half with the view of Sultanahmet old town. Guests can enjoy the free Wi-Fi while having a cup of coffee in the public areas or while relaxing in their room. Offering easy access to Istanbul's most important historical sites, KALYON Hotel İstanbul is within 10 minutes walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque), Hagia Sophia Mosque and only 17km to İstanbul Atatürk Airport and 48km to İstanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport. Kalyon Hotel offers FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER ON ARRIVAL FOR MIN. 2 NIGHTS STAY!!! The latest stage of continuous renovation of the KALYON Hotel was completed in December 2015 and as well as all the bedrooms, the Restaurant and the Bar renovated in January 2016. The teams of the KALYON Hotels always find the way to make their guests feel spoiled by personalizing their special occasions like Honeymoon Packages, Birthday, Anniversary and many more. Our hotel offers a rich open buffet breakfast in the KALYON Restaurant so guests will not only enjoy the food, but also the view - a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. Our guests can also have the opportunity to taste the special flavors of KALYON's lunch and dinner and take advantage of our special offers and discounts. Along with the unforgettable tastes of Istanbul's classical restaurants, The KALYON Restaurant offers classic dishes of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine in a classy and romantic atmosphere. Regularly featured flavours are Traditional Shrimp Cocktail, Olive Oil Artichoke, KALYON Shish Kebab, KALYON Special Kebab, Fisherman Style Steamed Seabass and rice pudding. Cocktails and appetizers at Kalyon Bar? There's no better spot to spend the afternoon or evening in Sultanahmet Old Town. Your stay with KALYON will be smooth and relaxed as the team will take care of everything you need inside and outside the hotel whether it be our ticketing service, restaurant reservation, tours of Istanbul, any type of transfer and renting a vehicle, luggage storage, information of all our museums of the city etc. The KALYON Hotel is the perfect choice for travellers who are after the best service in order to visit museums, monuments, jog by the seaside or take a walk along the busy Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kalyon Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing