We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #270 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Kalyon hotel is one of the best hotel in Istanbul that I have stayed so far. Rooms have a minimalist design, great mini-bar and good atmosphere. Breakfast and dinner are excellent and I think meal quality exceeds hotel restaurant standarts. Hotel staff is very helpful and they do their best. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burakozt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments on your stay at Kalyon Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    207
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
157
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very comfortable hotel, good restaurant and bar. Bedrooms outsending and near by the oldest part of Istanbul. Rooms looking out over the Bosphorus. Very friendly staff. Easy to reacht from the Ataturk Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Value Guest;

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your review with us and with so many online travellers.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Kind Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel personnel is really helpful and friendly. Our room was quite small but cozy and clean. The breakfast was excellent and you are minutes away from Topkapi palace, Aya Sofia, etc. But honestly the price of the rooms are too high for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karuixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest relations at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued hotel guest ,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time and writing this review.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kalyon Hotel..

Thank you and we look forward seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A comfortable, relaxing and, located in a perfect area to stay in...Near to Yenikapi ferry, at the sea side and, very close to Sultanahmet historical area... Personel is very welcoming, breakfast and, food is good to eat... Easy to reach Ataturk Airport from the hotel...

Room Tip: Night vision of Blue Mosque is excellent. Especially, rooms looking at this side can be preferable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnarcin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest relations at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with other people online.
We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Kalyon Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed previously at the Kalyon Hotel and its location cannot be beaten. The hotel faces the Bosphorous and it is in the heart of Sultanahmet on the Golden Horn. It is classified as a luxury four star hotel, which I would say it only just about manages. The Superior class rooms are clean and spacious and the rooms at the front have excellent views. The rooms at the rear of the hotel have very limited views of the city. If you have a hire car, the hotel has excellent parking facilities; something of a rarity in Istanbul.
The hotel is ideally located for all the attractions in Sultanahmet. The Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia are all just a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel with a view of the Bosphorous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekenderpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Manager at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you liked your stay at Kalyon Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really cannot say enough great things about this hotel. My boyfriend and I were very impressed by everything from our room to the staff to the breakfast buffet.

You may read reviews on here that talk about small rooms, but I felt our room size was perfect. (And I've worked for hotels in the past.). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful as well.

In addition to the staff, The location of the hotel was wonderful. It's a 5 minute walk to the Palace, the blue Mosque and the Haga Sofia and only about 10 minutes to the grand bazaar. It's also on the water front so you have lovely fish restaurants within walking distance of your room.

If I ever return to Istanbul, I know exactly where I will book my accommodations!

Room Tip: I would book on the back side of the hotel as they are quieter and not right on the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Manager at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send your valuable comments. We are overall glad to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It made a good impression. Tastefully designed interiors, nice smell, large and comfortable room with everything needed in it, great beds, great sea view, discrete and helpful staff. Location is very good, from the window it looks as if you're somewhere outside the city but in fact you're right in the center of the old part of the town, with a 7 minutes walk to Istanbul's most important historical monuments.The street in front of the hotel is very active and often crowded, but I didn't find the noise too big. In fact, the hotel is not directly on the street, there were 20-30 meters from our window. However, we got scared by the voice of a muezzin from a mosque nearby, probably the Blue Mosque, who woke us up at 6.00 a.m. with his morning song.
In case you come by car, they have a generous and free parking place so again a good choice.
All in all if you're not on budget it's a hotel worth your short list for your next visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are great, it's worth paying a little extra in order to enjoy a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Depatment at Kalyon Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and comments. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel
#175 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#141 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#164 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyon Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Property: Kalyon Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Airport Transfer on Arrival for min. 2 night stay!!! With a very special and unique location, KALYON Hotel İstanbul witnesses the magnificent meeting of Istanbul's old city walls with the Sea of Marmara and The Bosphorus. Our Hotel stands out because of its central location, spectacular views of The Bosphorus Sea and with its quality of the service. As one of the pioneers and the leaders of the Turkish Tourism brand, KALYON has been fortunate to host several stars from Hollywood, many eminent Turkish businessmen, international artists and politicians from all round the world. Half of the bedrooms are blessed with the view of the Marmara Sea and the other half with the view of Sultanahmet old town. Guests can enjoy the free Wi-Fi while having a cup of coffee in the public areas or while relaxing in their room. Offering easy access to Istanbul's most important historical sites, KALYON Hotel İstanbul is within 10 minutes walking distance to Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque), Hagia Sophia Mosque and only 17km to İstanbul Atatürk Airport and 48km to İstanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport. Kalyon Hotel offers FREE AIRPORT TRANSFER ON ARRIVAL FOR MIN. 2 NIGHTS STAY!!! The latest stage of continuous renovation of the KALYON Hotel was completed in December 2015 and as well as all the bedrooms, the Restaurant and the Bar renovated in January 2016. The teams of the KALYON Hotels always find the way to make their guests feel spoiled by personalizing their special occasions like Honeymoon Packages, Birthday, Anniversary and many more. Our hotel offers a rich open buffet breakfast in the KALYON Restaurant so guests will not only enjoy the food, but also the view - a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. Our guests can also have the opportunity to taste the special flavors of KALYON's lunch and dinner and take advantage of our special offers and discounts. Along with the unforgettable tastes of Istanbul's classical restaurants, The KALYON Restaurant offers classic dishes of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine in a classy and romantic atmosphere. Regularly featured flavours are Traditional Shrimp Cocktail, Olive Oil Artichoke, KALYON Shish Kebab, KALYON Special Kebab, Fisherman Style Steamed Seabass and rice pudding. Cocktails and appetizers at Kalyon Bar? There's no better spot to spend the afternoon or evening in Sultanahmet Old Town. Your stay with KALYON will be smooth and relaxed as the team will take care of everything you need inside and outside the hotel whether it be our ticketing service, restaurant reservation, tours of Istanbul, any type of transfer and renting a vehicle, luggage storage, information of all our museums of the city etc. The KALYON Hotel is the perfect choice for travellers who are after the best service in order to visit museums, monuments, jog by the seaside or take a walk along the busy Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalyon Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing