We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location *****”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
Ranked #302 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location *****”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

lovely stay, lovely location, value for money, apart from the lack of english speaking staff!

we stayed in a pool facing room, very well kept room, reception was super, we had no problems during our stay. The pool, steam/sauna was amazing.

Check out the turkish bath in the hotel its brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonamhamirkhatau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear sonamhamirkhatau,

Thank you for your comments online here on Trip Advisor and please accept our apologies for late response. We were happy to hear you have had a pleasant stay with us here at Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and enjoyed our facilities and services.

We have excellent spa facilities and they are free for all our guests apart from massages. During summer many of our guests spend their spare times by our lovely pool sunbathing and relaxing.

Most of our staff do speak very good English as well as all our managers however we are continuously organising English courses to all our employees regularly during off peak times of our operations.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    234
    129
    41
    26
See reviews for
123
190
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

On a recent trip to Istanbul - I stayed at this hotel and while not the flashiest it really exceeded my expectations on several levels. Ali the man on reception was so helpful - nothing was a problem despite being rushed off his feet at times. The hotel is right on the tram line that takes you to all the amazing places you will want to visit in the old city and the standard of cleanliness and service was very good. I would certainly recommend to travellers on a medium budget wanting convenience and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Gael O,

Thank you for your comments on-line about Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and sorry for the late reply. We were pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and friendliness & helpfulness of our staff. Exceeding all our guest expectations is our main motto and will be our priority to deliver the best possible services for all guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back here at Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The tram station was an added bonus . we had to ask for teabags everytime we needed to have tea in the room. the healthclub was good with the gym, pool, turkish bath steam and sauna facilities. Free wifi availability . Receptionists were helpful and could communicate in english. checkout and check in were hassle free.

Room Tip: room facing the pool is quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear profshenoy,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay. We take our guest reviews very seriously as they are one of the best ways to help us identify what we can do to create an experience unlike any other. It is our goal to always provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We regret to see you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. However we were pleased to see the high marks for Value and Cleanliness.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Hotel was a standard Holiday Inn, nothing special but adequate for our needs. We chose it because of its location, we knew that the tram to the city centre stopped right outside. We used the tram every day for our sightseeing, a token takes you anywhere on the line and you buy them from the machine at the tramstop for 3 lira. But the trams are packed like sardines, day and night. There is never a chance of a seat, and it's difficult to get beyond the door entry area due to the mass of bodies. Everyone puts their arms up to hang onto one of the straps, if you can get one, and so you spend your journey with your head up someone's armpit. In the end we walked much further than we'd intended every day to avoid this experience. I'm not sure what the answer is, maybe a taxi if you can afford it. Just be aware this will be your experience of the tram ride too and if you don't like the sound of that, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room poolside, not streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank highfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel for your stay. We are happy to hear that you have preferred our hotel because of its good location and the convenience of the tram stop right outside the hotel. Although its one of the busiest line it connects our hotel to major attractions.

As you know Istanbul is one of the most crowded cities in the world with nearly 9 million commuters daily using public transportation. Hotel is also has a good location for taxis which is available for 24 hrs. & prices are reasonable compared to other major European cities.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back here in Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel in the future.

Yours Faithfully.

Safi Aysu

Rooms Divisions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

There was an initial screw up on the part of the hotel regarding the reservation but they corrected it and bumped us up to a suite which was an amazing room. The hotel restaurant was phenomenal and they opened the pool up a day early for us so we could swim. The hotel is directly across the street from a metro station and is a short train ride from downtown sultanhamet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments about our hotel. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our outdoor swimming pool as well as good location which makes it convenient to reach major attractions and historic places of İstanbul by tram.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stay with adult children. We were here for six nights and had a mini-suite with a king bed and a separate room with two twins, so that we and our adult daughter had privacy without the expense of two rooms. Great location for transit with a T1 tram line stop right in front of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and responsive, including a complimentary fruit tray when there was a small mix-up with room housekeeping. On that note, housekeeping does lack consistency - we were three people, and had to ask every night on return to the hotel for a third bath towel, third coffee mug and so on. Not a show stopper, but annoying after five days. The bar area is pleasant, has easy access to the pool and patio area, and more importantly, makes great margaritas for Europe. The restaurant was also great, and breakfast provided more than enough sustenance for the start of a full day out. The internet, whilst free, was slow at times. Our IHG Priority Club level was recognised with a fruit tray on arrival and complimentary bottled water throughout. All in all, a good choice for an Istanbul holiday. Recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street side of the hotel, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jrw W,

Thank you for sharing your comments on-line about your stay her at Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel. As you have stated we offer family friendly junior suite rooms with a separate bedroom for adult children or even accompanying adults as it has 2 single standard beds and as well as an extra tv .
Please accept my apologies for not providing amenities for each person in room which we have already refreshed our housekeeping team.

We are part of Intercontinental Hotels Group which has around 4000 hotels worldwide with different brands. All IHG Rewards Club members enjoy earning and spending theri points without black-out dates and time restrictions in all IHG Hotels worldwide. Our elite members also benefit for free upgrades and late check-outs as well as free welcome drinks & snacks or IHG Rewards Club Points. Its our pleasure to upgrade our elite members as room type availability allows.

We have recently improved our free Wi-Fi service and now have much faster access and extra access points among whole building. Our IT manager is also at your service in case of connection issues incurring.

Thank you for staying with us and your comments.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

is actually only one disadvantage of this hotel.We asked for nor smoking room, but we can feel smell of cigarettes.Gym, staff, location, spa is very ok, there are some issues with internet connection, but acceptable.And management really should execute more non smoking in non smoking room and floors

Room Tip: ask room from pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldik703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear aldik703,

Thank you for your online comments about Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and sorry for late reply. Also thank you for your positive comments about our staff and spa facilities as well as our great location to access all main attractions of this magnificent city İstanbul. We offer both smoking and non smoking rooms to all our guests and are keen of smell of smoking in guest bedrooms. We do have special products to eliminate and minimise the smell even in smoking rooms. We also do offer other rooms if convenient to our guests.

We recently have improved our Wi-Fi network and already had very good comments from our guests. Now we offer high speed access and all guest rooms are covered as we have planted extra WiFi routers all around the hotel.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#149 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
#273 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#421 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#763 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
#599 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul City

Property: Holiday Inn Istanbul City
Address: Turgut Ozal Cad. No:189 Topkapi, Fatih, Istanbul 34280, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#209 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#209 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#225 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul City 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul is the city where Asia meets Europe, with cultural heritage and natural beauty. Holiday Inn Istanbul City is your five star hotel in the city and located next to the impressing historical city walls of Istanbul reflects the spirit of this very special city. It creates the ideal atmosphere for relaxing stay no matter whether you are traveling on business or on holiday. 12 km from Ataturk International Airport, and 2 km from Old City, Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace, 6 km from Taksim Square. Public Transportation is available in front of the hotel. Take the tram directly to many of the key sightseeing attractions. Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel offers Turkish Hamam, Sauna, Steam Room and a comprehensive choice of speciality massages, aromatherapy and relaxation therapies at our Spa & Wellness Center.Coffee and tea maker in room with complimentary coffee and tea. Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel offers High Speed Internet access in the hotel rooms. Public areas such as hotel lobby and bar feature wireless LAN. Outdoor Swimming Pool is open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing