We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$506
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
174
246
138
49
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
246
138
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stationpool sidegrand bazaaroutdoor poolnice hotelold cityeasy accessturkeyan upgradehotel is locatedcall to prayerpublic transportationairportlirasonerjacuzzitourist
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 637 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Hotel can meet almost all the expectations for a business trip residence. There is free shuttle bus to the (Ataturk) airport, good reception people speaking English fluently and speed check in, near to the tramway line to access both the city main places and Ataturk airport.
Room service was good, beds and towels very clean, and bathroom very pleasant. Breakfast buffet can meet all the expectations of feeding in a business trip.
I suggest this hotel to the business people who would like to have a pleasant, stress free residence during their visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaiseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Kaiseri,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel. As you also have mentioned we have all the facilities for both for business and leisure travellers. Recently we have developed our wi-fi network for better and faster internet connection. We also have our business corner with 2 PCs and free printing for all our guests. Our staff well knows about the value of the time especially for business travellers and provides efficient on time services.

Yours Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Being situated midway between the Ataturk airport and the city centre the hotel is ideally situated for a short break. Istanbul’s excellent transport system makes getting around a breeze.

Our check in was conducted by Enes who was exceedingly professional and helpful.

Our room on the fourth floor, although compact, was well equipped and overlooked the swimming pool.

We experienced a few ‘niggles’ which we would not have expected from a 5 star hotel. Firstly on arrival in the room we found a sponge in the bath obviously left by the previous occupants. Secondly our rubbish bin was not emptied during our stay. However, more importantly the air conditioning could not be set to cool the room down because it was still the winter season. This resulted in two very uncomfortable nights sleep, it was not practicable to open the window as the hotel is directly below the airport flight path.

Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear WhitlocksEnd,

Thank you for your comprehensive review highlighting not only the negative but also the positive points of your stay. We are delighted to read that you liked your room and found our front desk professional and helpful, but we regret we let you down on some aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and should your travels bring you back to Istanbul City, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover on the way to India. On arrival check in was quick and efficient, we were upgraded to a suite as a platinum member. The room was large and had a jacuzzi bath, only strange thing is the bath is in the bedroom area. The concierge was helpful giving us ideas of places to visit. The tram stop was just outside the hotel, we managed to use this from and to the airport. If I returned to istanbul I would have no hesitation staying at this hotel agai. Thank you for a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear George8052,

Thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apology for the late reply. We had the pleasure to read your good comments about check-in, IHG Rewards Club Elite Platinum Member upgrade and our helpful concierge team.

A few suite rooms have jacuzzi in bedroom area and they are very popular. The room also have another separate shower in the bathroom. Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel is well located right outside the tram line as you have shared.

We will be pleased to welcome you back in your future visits to İstanbul.

Yours Faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

During my week long vacation to Istanbul, I stayed at this hotel for one night since the other hotel did not have a room available for our last night. The hotel is on the main street right across from T1 tram stop, which is very convenient. You can pretty much take the T1 to everywhere. However, the service I received was horrible. First, we were told that we would be upgraded to a suite since my wife is a platinum elite member, but the room wasn't ready. So, we left our luggage and went out to do some last minute shopping since it was our last day. When we got back, to woman at the desk told us that the hotel was completely booked and they couldn't upgrade. Not only that, we got this crappy room that smelled like an ashtray, the bathroom was disgusting, and the window wasn't functional. In addition, the woman at the reception desk was simply nasty, her attitude was just no acceptable. That was just my experience, and you may have a different experience. The hotel is indeed close to a tram stop, which will take you to all the touristic destinations in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your keys if you plan to check in early when the rooms are yet to be cleaned.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RezaulK678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Rezaul K,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel. My apologies for your disappointment with the poor service you received as well as your room accommodation. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The 4 nights recently at Holiday Inn Istanbul was most enjoyable. we came on an early morning flight and reached the Hotel at around 11.30 am and was told to wait for a room . In the meantime we got a local TURKECELL simm and changed currency which is 300M right from the hotel exit. when we came back we got upgraded to an executive room as i am a GOLD member. The young person at the front desk mr. enes Yuksel was just magnificent , within minutes we were given the room with a fruit basket . He also booked the tours and a night cultural and belly dancing . Enes provided the most professional service accompanied by a young pretty lady ms Meltem colak at the front desk. The Tram opposite the hotel is very convenient . The breakfast was good catering for all tastes. The Spa , massage and Turkish bath was excellent. Room service can be better , need constant reminder to change and clean room. The A/C was shutdown , 2 days were over 17 degrees , we kept the windows open. we had a night flight and got an extended stay until 3.00 pm. All in all had a good stay .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and please accept our sincere apology for very delayed reply to your comments. Guest comments are most valuable asset for Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and also our guide to improve our facilities and services.
We have recently made many improvements such as our free Wi-Fi service is now much faster and covers almost all building including all guest rooms. We also offer many IHG Rewards Club Member benefits still now with even club points or a drink & snack on arrival. IHG Rewards Club Elite Members (Gold & Platinum) also benefits from free suite upgrades and late check-outs as our occupancy allows.
Once again thank you very much for sharing your experiences here at Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next possible visit to this magnificent city İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews