We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid this place at all cost!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Ranked #157 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“avoid this place at all cost!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I will make it very short. We booked a king size bed room. We changed the room 4 (FOUR) times until we got a room with a king size bed. The reception staff, the bellboys were lying in our face several times. I'm sure about that because of stuff like that:

- Reception tells me we have a king size bed (the bed was 140cm so definitely not a king). Asking the manager he tells us that we are staying in a room with a french bed. In front of the same guy that just told us that this was a king size bed and that all rooms have the same bed size. Embarrassing!
- Reception sends the bellboy to show us a new room:
Bellboy: This is a corner suite.
Me: I don't see a separate living room
Bellboy: It's almost a suite.
Me: This is not a suite
Bellboy: It's not really a suite.
Me: We were told to be upgraded to an executive room.
Bellboy: This is like an executive room.
Me: So is it an executive room or not?
Bellboy: Not really.
Me: Why is there an ashtray? We have a baby.
Bellboy: This is a smokers room. (we booked non-smoker)
Me: I'm tired of these lies.
Bellboy: Yes you are right.
--> UNBELIEVABLE and that's how almost every conversation went.

Only after we finally spoke to the General Manager he arranged within 30mins a room with a king size bed (200cm). He didn't apologize for his staff. My opinion: The fish rots from the head down - the management doesn't have things under control here.

On SUNDAY 10:30pm a company started to install the new Wyndham logos outside the hotel which lasted until 1am including super loud drilling and hammering. The reception said: There's nothing we can do since the technician says he has to finish this today. I told him that this is rubbish since they were requested by the hotel to do this. We were offered a 5th (!) room change which I refused. Because of these not very smart people our baby couldn't sleep until 1am.

Another interesting one: We booked our stay without breakfast. At checkin I asked and they said it is included. Later I ask the bellboy he tells me that I shouldn't worry they never ask in the breakfast room if you have booked breakfast or not. Revenue Management seems to be on vacation there! I don't want to know how much money they loose because of this (regular breakfast is 19 EUR/person).

To summarize this: This is not a 5* hotel. 3* would suit this place well. Especially since you have many stairs from the entrance until the reception and nobody bothers to help you with luggage and stroller. They just watch you or disappear.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevda K, General Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Das_ubersoldat,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us feedback on Tripadvisor.com. Since I had the chance to talk to you in person, I had deeply investigated the cause of your dissatisfaction during and after your stay. Once more, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience we caused you and your dear family.

Sincerely, as a team we strive for the comfort of our guests and I believe we are good at it. I am deeply sorry for not being able to provide you the Wyndham service that exceeds our guests' expectations.

Yours sincerely.

Fahri Eren
Hotel Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    237
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
192
247
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We are family, two adults, one child, and infant, we booked club room.
In the beginning i was interested to have room in this hotel, i paid extra money for that. I checked in early morning coz my flight arrived @ morning.
Bad things as following from my point of view:
A- internet is not free in the rooms, you have to pay a package to have net in your room, i thought that since i have a club room, i should have free wifi.
B- if you have a baby trolley or wheelchair, this is a disaster for you, you will have to carry it by yourself or by other, there is no way or access for baby trolley or handicapped.
C-the club lounge room open allday and you can access to it by you card but the service is limit on specific time, from 4 p.m to six p.m is tea party, from six to eight happy hour. I think and what i have been read about this romm is that it opens the whole day with full service, but in this hotel it is different.
Good things
A- the room is big enough for my family.
B- the breakfast is wonderful
C- the staff is friendly and specially the reception ciz i went to them to explain my point of view about the bad things, they were listening to me and try to solve problems, one of the reception staff i think his name is Sokran, do good things with me and i woul like to thank him.

At the end, I think they should work hard to satisfy thier gusts and also i think te one who reserved a hiigh rank of rooms and bay much money, he should have sth special.
By the way, the hotel now is no longer Crown Plaza any more. One company bought it and the changed its name. I forget thier new name.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shammaryk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_WyndhamOldCity, Genel Müdür at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Dear Mr.Shammaryk2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review of Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel.

Your review is so special to us as it truly touches upon our service philosophy and culture which you felt and articulated so well. On behalf of everyone in the team, my deepest thanks for your generosity and recognition, we are grateful.

Very much looking forward to seeing you again in Istanbul.

All the best,

Duygu Sönmez
General Manager
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel consists of four old building connected to each other by glass archs. Nice foyer, delicious meals, good staff. Rooms are not big but quiet comfortable. As far as my observation, big tourist groups prefer to stay at this hotel. Hotel is located close to the historical peninsula of İstanbul (Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapı Palace, Basilica Sistern, Archeological Museum). Very close to the tram stop. There are many textile shops at the neighbourhood of the hotel, it is possible to buy clothes, bags, shoes... as wholesail and/or retail. (Do not forget to bargain.)

Room Tip: The rooms which are looking to the back streets are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seldjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Seldjan,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on this website regarding your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is essential for us to check how we are doing to achieve complete guest satisfaction and I am also sure that our future guest will make use of your helpful tips.

We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed last month at this hotel for a 5 night break.The public areas are very smart and service good throughout our stay.Previously a Crowne Plaza hotel it has recently changed to Wyndham.Had dinner one night in restaurant which was very good and had coffee and cake in the cafe patisserie on other occoisions.Breakfast is full hot and cold buffet with everything you would expect.Spa area and pool are very well appointed.Our room was very comfortable.Tram stop is just across the main road so good linksto all transport systems.All in all would reccomend for a city stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Matthirst,

Thank you very much for having your time to share your reviews regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us entirely. Also, let me express our gratitude regarding your comments about our restaurant, cafe and open buffet breakfast. There is no such a happiness for us to hear that you liked everything you tasted during your stay with us.

We do hope to service you at our property soon again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at this nice big shiny hotel as part of a tour with a big tour company. Unfortunately our experience was marred by a very unpleasant stink of old tobacco which permeated our quite small room. The carpet was old and very stained so it was probably coming from there. The view from the window was of another close window so we had to keep the privacy curtain closed.
The breakfast spread was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevda K, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear AuntyJoy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback on Tripadvisor.

Feedbacks are very important for us to improve our services for our valued guests. I wish that you had informed us about the situation during your stay with us so that we could have done our best to comfort you while you were here with us. I assure you that we will take necessary actions for our future guests.

We do hope to welcome you in the future again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#105 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#302 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
Dosso Dossi Hotels Downtown
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#197 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Istanbul Old City

Property: Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Address: Fethi Bey Cad. | Laleli-Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#121 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#232 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel in Istanbul is 400 m from the Grand Bazaar. It has a spa, an indoor pool and a gym. Free private parking is available. You can access free WiFi in public areas. The elegant rooms at the 5-star Wyndham Istanbul Old City have satellite TV, a tea/coffee maker and a private bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Some rooms have a flat-screen TV and a spacious seating area. The Lale Restaurant serves a rich buffet breakfast in the mornings. A gourmet menu of international cuisine is served in the evenings. Guests of the Wyndham Istanbul can enjoy a range of beauty treatments at the spa, or work out with cardiovascular equipment at the gym. The Hagia Sophia and the Sirkeci Train Station are located 3 km from the Wyndham Istanbul. Ataturk Airport is 18 km from the premises, and airport transfer services can be offered upon request at an additional charge. Fatih is a great choice for travellers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Old City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing