We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy 5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Ranked #150 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Ok hotel just in the middle of nowhere.Do not know how they got the 5 star rating. Ok 4 star establishment.They withdraw all discounts because they were able to get me the room I asked for in the beginning.So,just count your fingers after staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristianVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
There are newer reviews for Eresin Hotels Topkapi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

I've stayed here every time I come to Istanbul on business and my loyalty is more than repaid by the staff
The welcome at reception was lovely. and all the staff recognised me during my stay and made me very welcome. When Sonia my partner arrived for the final 3 nights they really ramped up the service to a level I had never previously enjoyed anywhere
The room rate this time around was high largely because the Barcelona basketball team was here for Champions League Final Four
The hotel is close to Attaturk airport and right on the tram line to blue mosque
It's well worth getting the hotel car to do the transfer
And if you want a quiet room ask for one at the rear of the hotel - I like the hustle and bustle if traffic and trams but for those who don't this is a worthwhile tip
Cant fault it can't thank the staff enough
Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We are receiving good service and professional from all the staff.

Room Tip: THE LOCATION FOR THIS HOTEL suitable for businessman and travellers.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsalel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The manager and workers at this hotel were very welcoming and accommodating. We were even moved to Premuim rooms when we arrived. The front desk folks greeted you with a smile and the place is filled with ambience, charm and serenity. It is a wonderful place and will recommend it to all of you.

( From the USA and UAE)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akpana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked through Lastminute.com on their "secret 5-star" booking, so we didn't know what we were getting when booking. Always a risk of course! We enjoyed our stay but, on balance, don't think it offered good value for money - £125/night, room only (+ €15 each for breakfast)

The location was not perfect. The trams are frequent and cheap, and we really enjoyed traveling around and getting to see the real city. But after 2 days we were tired of the trek into the old town - if you're going to be doing a lot of walking (and if you're visiting the main sights you have to) I would recommend a hotel in the thick of it, so you can pop back to rest your feet.

The reception staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and patient. Their advice was great and correct.

The breakfast was more expensive than we'd expected, but was a top-quality buffet. They cater for all tastes with a really good selection of quality breads, turkish and Spanish foods (including a pork corner!), diet selection and hot and cold foods. They'll also make eggs to your taste on demand.

The room was nice, but not luxurious. King size bed was US-style, so really big, and comfortable too. But we were put in a smoking room (apparently the only double room available) and the smell was quite unpleasant, hitting you every time you walked in.

Bathroom was clean but getting a little tired. Towels were rough and toiletries were cheap - more like a 3 or 4 star hotel.

Spa facilities were lovely, clean, and the staff were again very helpful. But had no women-only sessions or facilities. Even the sauna (supposedly separated in the evenings) has a window in the door, leaving it unsuitable for any hijabi or conservative women who don't want to be seen in swimwear. This was surprising for a muslim country.

Having stayed in several 5 star hotels I was a little disappointed at first with the Barcelo. But the staff did make it better, and Istanbul is such a fabulous city you fall in love with everything!

We would stay here again if we could get a better bargain next time, otherwise we'd go for something in the old town.

Room Tip: If you're not a smoker ask for non-smoking in advance
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fianna_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Went to Iistanbul for a five days holiday in April/2012. We booked a double Premium room. When we checked in we were suprised that the room was actually a twin room (two single beds) not a duoble bed. We put the two beds together but as expected was not comfortable. The view from the room was horrible, it over looked a residential propeprty. You cant open the curtains of the room as there will be no provacy at all.
Apart from that the rooms were clean and and the service was resonable.

Room Tip: try to book a room with front view and high floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Probably one of the most interesting ratio quality/service hotel of the city. Location is quite good, 15-20mn from historical center by Tramway, otherwise more than an hour walking. Train station is just in front of the hotel -2TL the ticket- and it goes from 6am to midnight. Few stores and shops around the hotel but not that much to eat and area is calm/deserted by night.

About the hotel, regulars suites are comfortable and quite spacious. First day we've been given a separate bed so we complained and they kindly changed us to a doubled bed room AND in a suite. Very good point they were listening to our queries and it's sign of quality for an hotel. Staff is very polite, consciensous and professional. Beds are really comfortable and SPA is also really nice, with sauna/hammam/swimming pool and excellent fitness center!!!

The main bad point is that restrooms are in the same room as the shower...too bad for a 5*. You can here the street -even if we were not in front of- and noises in the hall - but it's not that disturbing you sleep well- . Breakfast is ok but not that good, a bit repetitive if you stay for a week. Restaurant Picasso also is ok but in my opinion, not a real 5* restaurant.

In definitive, I recommend it if you want to relax after a whole visiting journey of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninouboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#295 of 1,159 in Istanbul
607 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#465 of 1,159 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#280 of 1,159 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#148 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eresin Hotels Topkapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eresin Hotels Topkapi

Address: Millet Cd. No: 186 | Fatih, Istanbul 34104, Turkey (Formerly Barcelo Eresin Topkapi)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $60 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eresin Hotels Topkapi 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this elegant hotel located in the old part of Istanbul. The Barceló Eresin Topkapi***** hotel is situated in the Old Town, in Istanbul's European quarter. Thehistoric centre, the Gran Baazar and the Sütlüce conference centre are only 10 min by tram which stops right in front of the hotel. This hotel in the Barceló Premium category boasts spacious, light-filled rooms, a fantastic health and wellness centre (1,000 m²): the U-Spa, a conference centre with 12 meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas. There is also a fabulous culinary offer with themed menus in the Picasso Restaurant. The hotel also boasts its own Hammam (Turkish bath) to help you discover the traditions of this fascinating country. Enjoy the distinction and beauty of this marvellous hotel which makes every guest feel special, because your comfort is so important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Eresin Hotels Topkapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Eresin Topkapi Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Eresin Topkapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing