We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$506
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,428)
Filter reviews
1,428 results
Traveler rating
641
520
183
55
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
520
183
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopswimming poolfive star hotelenjoyable staystayed for nightsexcellent hotelpublic transportspa
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 1,428 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel in April 2012 and found that the rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were helpful but the hotel itself is away from the main tourist area. There are good links to the main area from the tram which is located 50m in front of the hotel. We decided to get the Metro to the hotel from the airport. The hotel's website says that the nearest Metro stop is Ulubatli which is 200m from the hotel. Read into this but it's 200m 'as the crow flies'. If you decide to get to the hotel this way, walk out of the metro station and walk straight down to the sets of traffic lights halfway down the road. Cross over and walk up the road and when you get to the 'spilt' in the road, take the right fork and walk up the hill to the square where the big turkish flag is located. Turn left at the roundabout and walk down to the next set of lights where you will see the tram stop and the Holiday Inn in front of you. Look right and you'll see the hotel. We stayed in a 'premium room' which was very clean and spacious. The spa area was very good but if you want to go swimming make sure you take a swimming hat or you'll have to buy one for 5TL. We decided not to have breakfast as it is expensive at 15 Euros per person per day and we also did not eat dinner at the hotel as we found it offered a limited selection but did offer a buffet. I would suggest eating in the local areas, however we could only find 'kebab style' resturants with small eating areas in them close to the hotel. My recommendations would be to go to the area of Sultanahmet on the tram where you can eat both local cuisine and more 'western style' cuisine as well. The side streets near to the Basilica Cistern offer reasonable prices and good cuisine. The hotel is away from the touristic area but the tram is close and cheap to travel on at 2TL per 'jeton'. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but be prepared to travel to the touristic areas about 10-15 minutes on the tram.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagm, Assistant General Manager at Eresin Hotels Topkapi, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Chris B,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment about the hotel and for
choosing Barceló Eresin Topkapi for your stay in Istanbul.

We are very happy to read that you appreciated the size of the room and its cleanliness, as well as our Spa facilities.

Regarding the price of our breakfast, it is one of the services most valued by our customers and the price of € 15 is consistent with the variety and quality offered, and is similar (when no cheaper) to the rest of hotels in Istanbul in our same category.

Despite not being located downtown, as you point out, all the main tourist sites can be reached in a few minutes by taking the tram which stops in front of the hotel. One of the positive aspects about our location is that it is quieter, more relaxed atmosphere, very appreciated when coming back to the hotel after a day full of activity and with very easy and quick access to the main airport by highway or using the tram & metro.

All in all, thank you very much once again for your comments and we honestly home to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Ana Santos
Assist. General Manager
Barceló Eresin Topkapi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We liked the big room and the spa in the basement. Take your swimming gear and swim hat. Breakfast was too expensive so we ate at the baker/cafe nearby which was good value and friendly. Bar for beer nearby also. We appreciated being away from the tourist area and loved the regular tram trips for people watching and exchanging observations afterwards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagm, Assistant General Manager at Eresin Hotels Topkapi, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Sparklyfeet,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment about the hotel and for
choosing Barceló Eresin Topkapi for your stay in Istanbul.

We are very happy to read that you appreciated the size of the room and its cleanliness, as well as our Spa facilities.

Regarding the price of our breakfast, it is one of the services most valued by our customers and the price of € 15 is consistent with the variety and quality offered, and is similar to the rest of hotels in Istanbul in our same category.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and we wish to have you back with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Ana Santos
Assist. General Manager
Barceló Eresin Topkapi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. The rooms are a good size with all the facilities. The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent and the cleaners spend lots of time to make sure rooms are upto the mark. The reception staff are very friendly and with try their best to sort out any query for you. There is free wifi which is always helpful. The tram station is next to the hotel which is the cheapest mode of transport to move around. The pool facilities are excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aadilshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Big room, excellent service, friendly personnel and a nice indoor pool. The baath room was rather small, but of a good standard. The modern tramway takes you in 15 minutes downtown. Attention: Avoid the tram in rush hours, because you will hardly be able to breave. Very good relation price/performance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Rather than rave or rant about a hotel I'll buck this trend and give the Barcelo Eresin a resounding 3 out of 5. It's fine. The room is pretty good in an it-could-be-anywhere marble bathroom way and it has an ok pool. The obvious downside to this hotel is the thing that they can't change: it's a little bit out of the way. But, as everyone says, the tram stops right outside the hotel and goes to all the useful places:

- Beyaziy for The Grand Bazaar
- Sultanhamet for the sights (15 mins)
- Eminonu for Boshphorus cruises
- Over Galata bridge to Karajoy (25 mins) for all the restaurants, rooftop bars etc. in Beyoglu.

The tram is dead easy to use and less than a £1 / €1.20 a journey.

I was pretty happy with this hotel because I got it for a good rate on Hotwire on Easter weekend (and got breakfast elsewhere instead of paying 15 Euros a head for a hotel buffet).

The location was most annoying when I wanted to go back to my hotel and relax a bit (there's NOTHING nearby). It's also a long £45 / €50 taxi ride to Sabiha Gokcen airport which is where Easyjet flies into (factor that faff and cost in if you book a budget flight). Get a metered taxi from the hotel and airport - don't pay the hotel's markup for a transfer.

If I came again I'd stay in Beygolu - it's better to be near the restaurants and bars than the sights really. If money was no object I'd stay at Witt Istanbul suites (twice the price of the Erecin) but I don't think I could've done better for this price range.

PS the WIFI didn't work in my room.
PPS go to Muzedechanga for a nice but not too extravagantly-priced dinner if you can. Even though it's a £15 / €18 taxi ride or a tram trip to Kabatas then a long (on Saturday night anyway) bus journey on the 22 to Sakip Sabanci Museum (buy a bus card from a news vendor).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagm, Assistant General Manager at Eresin Hotels Topkapi, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear RobbleLondon,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel with other travelers. We very much appreciate that you were happy with your stay with us.

It is true that we are not located downtown. However, as you well point out, all the main tourist sites can be reached in a few minutes by taking the tram which stops in front of the hotel. One of the positive aspects about our location is that it is quieter, more relaxed atmosphere, very appreciated when coming back to the hotel after a day full of activity. Also because of the location is easier to find some cheap local restaurants and cafes where you can test traditional food in a authentic atmosphere.

And of course that we are a bit far from the Sabiha Gökcen airport, which is located in the Asian side of Istanbul and serves basicly domestic flights or low cost airlines. But we have a privileged location for Atatürk airport, the main airport of Istanbul which is only 20 minutes away from our hotel with so easy and direct connection by car or by metro/tramway.

About the internet, we were, in fact, experiencing some problems with our connection due to the high occupancy on those dates. We are now very happy to inform that we have the last week changed our Wifi system into a better one and with a more powerful bandwidth and since then we did not have any major problem with the connection despite of being over 90% of our occupancy for last week. We know how important is the internet nowadays and that’s why we made quite a high investment to provide good and fast connection in all rooms and public areas without password and totally free.

Once again, thank you so much to share with the online community your feedback, this is the best way to realize our faults and improve our service. We really hope to welcome you back at Barceló Eresin Topkapi.

With our best regards,

Ana da Silva Santos
Assist. General Manager
Barceló Eresin Topkapi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews