We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The normal lobby is good .. half a good rooms view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #55 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

For 10 days (oct. 06-10 & oct. 19-26 , 2013) I stayed in it for and i'll back againe.. because of the presence of a team working there ? was'nt my optional .. really its a luxury hotel but there is no something unexpected! ..Its location at slope place .. I sat suffer 3 nights of bad sleep due to the fragility of pillows.. i explain it to non-english spoker nice houskeeper she brought it within 10 minutes !.. since the beginning, i asked in the upper rounds & sea view.. After the receptionist hesitation he give me the 307 and a view of the under construction project ?? Imagine !!.. I has recorded several observations & remarks in a proposals suggestions sheet ( due to of my work in hotels previously) !..Breakfast is incomplete but does not have an arabic,indian & far east breakfast, where it were a lot of guests on Western music tunes does not fit fragrant views of the place and its heritage..No free Internet ? Coffee Maker is new stupid kind .. no have a kettle or tea in the room you have to requist, although there is no suitable place for it.. siphon bathroom followed them three days to properly repaired !? .. any how its 5 stars hotel in istanbul ..Fabulous leisure club, despite the high cost of massages and small pool, sauna and steam bath !.. Piano site at the entrance to the dining hall in the lobby..
------------- >
S. Alhowiriny - KSA
hoopoe@live.com

Room Tip: Do not be shy hesitant when you ask high and interview rooms to the sea .. In case you do not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suliman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for about a month. At checking I asked for a nice room since I stay for a month and actually got the best room (as mentioned by frontdesk and bellboy) just to find out it was the "broom"chamber. Small room with a good view to the pool - but that was it.
The location is not really attractive cause the main points are always far away. There are nicer hotels for that price with a better location and rooms available in Istanbul therefore - just average.

Room Tip: the rooms with x18 are definitely the smallest once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonDerDiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Hotel was booked in conjunction with a cruise. We stayed three nights in a Club Front Bosphorus View room with access to their executive lounge. The service was first rate starting with check in, lounge and room service. We did not eat in their restaurants or bar; but did have breakfast and snacks in the executive lounge. Also, we had excellent room service one night. Would recommend getting a front room with the view and the back views are not interesting. If we were not connected to our cruise stationed out of this hotel, we would have preferred to have stayed more downtown for restaurants and goods walks. However, we were kept very busy with our cruise people for the two days and just did not have any time left over for other adventures.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Istanbul as part of a Cruise extension, after staying 6 days at the Crown Plaza Old City on our own. (1) the R-C was way out of the public transportation flow and even cabs had a hard time getting to it; (2) the R-C was next to a park that was the venue for loud concerts late into the night; and (3) Istanbul is in the process of building a major soccer stadium next to the hotel, which will not help the traffic or noise issues. Unlike airport hotels that build for sound-control, the R-C did not. The hotel is nice enough though short on morning breakfast tables the 3 days we stayed there. By contrast the Crowne Plaza Old City was in the center of things, had tons of food and shopping alternatives nearby and little outside noise.

Room Tip: Lots of luck selecting rooms. People on the park/concert side moved to the opposite side, but the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The choice of nice hotels in Istanbul is overwhelming and knowing which area to be in became my key focus which was the reason I settled on the Ritz Carlton even though I thought it may be a little 'international' in decore and ambience rather than the more localised furnishing and appearance you'd get in a Four Seasons or similar.

The location ended up being OK, fairly central to get into the old City but also good to wander to shopping districts or take a taxi to various restaurants in the evening but it wasn't the real star asset to this hotel.

From outside is a ghastly tower block but a good geographical focus as you can see it from most of the rest of the city. inside however is a beautiful, tranquil and welcoming lobby where the staff couldn't be more helpful or knowledgable. There's a traditional Ritz feel to the atmosphere but somehow you still know you're somewhere exotic.

The rooms are well equipped and the bed's were so comfortable that we had breakfast in the room one morning just to delay getting up for as long as possible.

The bar (trendy blue bar and more traditional lobby / piano bar) and food and even the buffet breakfast were priced as you'd expect in a top quality international hotel but I don't think this was necessarily value for money.

Our only real dissapointment was that the outdoor pool (one of the reasons for not being in the old part of the City as a base) was closed simply because it was October but the glorious weather meant we really didn't want to spend the few precious hours of down time in the fantastic indoor pool and spa area but nobody would let us outside!

Istanbul is a great City and the experience was only enhanced by having a haven to return to at the end of a dusty day or sightseeing and by having excellent restaurants recommended by the hotel concierge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalibuEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a 2 day layover end of last year.

Got a great IATA deal and the staff were super attentive.

Food was excellent, staff were exceptional and the facilities were very well maintained.

They made a huge effort to make us feel welcome and came armed with advice on where to go to eat/drink and be merry.

Exceptional stay- hope to be able to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Great location, try for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Although only staying one night, we were greeted with a soft drink, someone to take our luggage and escorted to comfy seating whilst a member of staff arranged our registration. The room exceeded our expectations and the meals were extremely good. If we visit Istanbul again, we will certainly use this hotel. I would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with sea view and overlooking outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,178 in Istanbul
669 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#91 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,850 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#67 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,378 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $217 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel in Istanbul, Turkey offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing