We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #68 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Upon check in we were greeted by a friendly and professional staff who upgraded us to a suite with a beautiful view of the Bospourus. All was lovely until bedtime when the noise from the football stadium construction site next door kept us awake. They were drilling rock and had an army of dump trucks hauling it away. At 11:30pm we called the front desk and were informed that the work would continue thought the night( they didn't work during the day, only at night) At midnight we packed up our luggage and moved to another suite facing the back of the hotel which was lovely. It had no view but it was quiet. Breakfast was a big buffet with an attentive staff and drinks in the lounge that night with the Bosporous view was nice. But at 10pm when we went to bed, there was a rock concert going on in another stadium outside our quiet window! It went on until midnight. The manager was very apologetic, discounted our room rate and picked up our bar tab. I would not go back even after the construction is completed because there could be a soccer game the night I arrived and needed sleep and there are many other nice hotels right on the Bospourous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    278
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
230
437
57
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we stayed here last year in february, and had to change our plans to extend the stay in istanbul not because of the city but because of the hotel (and its awesome service). we loved it so much that we book my partner's return while we were there!

Yes the location is not great, you are not a stone throw from Sultanahmet and all, but you are indeed a 3 minutes walk from a tram stop and that is a direct transfer to the majority of the attractions, and you also have a billion taxis that cost next to nothing. That being said it is across the street from Dolmanbahche palace which is my favourite sight in istanbul.
Also the food is not 5 stars, it is maybe 4.5 stars as it is very good, but "only" very good. nothing super exceptional, not that i am complaining but just readjusting expectations.

we booked a park view room, but used AMEX priveleges to ask for an upgrade and got a family suite which was massive (and by far not the biggest of their suites!). the room was beautiful, bed was the most confortable I had in years, but it is the sheer size of the room and the massive windows that did it for me (snowy istanbul is beautiful to look at from whatever angle).

within hours of checking in everybody knew us by name and played with my 18months boy, we just felt at home.

we used the spa, a little 4.5 stars, again not a bad thing, just not exeotional, but not cheap.

you tend to write a lot about the stuff you don't like and find nothing to say about places you love, this is it for me, nothing more to say, it is just perfect, or dare I say it is a Ritz Carlton!!

we will be back

Room Tip: dont get a bosphorous view, the park view offers better view of istanbul and its buzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Hotel have a great location . A great name and a great service also the customer level very high . The level of the room is lower that the expectation . The food quality definitively low . The restaurant was 90 % empty both the evening of my stay .
Finally a great Hotel but for the price paid is high for the result .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a few days in August at the Ritz Carlton Istanbul. The hotel's service was truly excellent. Great reception staff, concierge, and very good restaurants. Breakfast was fantastic. The indoor pool and spa were closed for renovation but the outside pool and lounge were very nice. We stayed in a junior suite. The room was in excellent condition and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Dolmabahce palace as well as a metro stop which was an easy ride into Sultanhamet.

Room Tip: There was noise on the side facing the stadium which is being torn down-- so ask for a room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reader27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was excellent from the included breakfast buffet to the free WiFi. The beds were very, very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The staff were very helpful. The only negative is that the liquor in the restaurant is very expensive. A glass of wine is $16.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Ritz Carlton is very very good. Staff are exceptionally helpful, friendly, and responsive. Rooms are beautifully furnished and most are well sized. The breakfast buffet is one of the best anywhere and the location is well positioned close to Taksim, Nisantasi and the waterfront and the slow moving traffic toward Ortakoy and Ciragan Palace, Four Seasons Bosphorous, and many great restaurants along the Bosphorous toward the bridge to the Asian side. We have stayed multiple times, and while reception sometimes does not recognise that fact, the hotel comes a close second to the Four Seasons properties in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Sea views of course if you pay for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

very close from taksim square facing the golder horn i was really impressed.... i ve been twice and everytime outstanding...the breakfast is WOW.....the staff is marvellous and really attentive to the guest needs super satisfied no doubt

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bozerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,156 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,189 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#103 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing