We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #70 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Over the top”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The service has been amazing and the staff is very friendly. The concierge is very patient :-). Great views from the restaurant - location is great if you want to take a train to old city - 20 min ride, 30 min total

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    270
    75
    19
    9
See reviews for
212
426
57
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

First time to Istanbul and spent a lot of time deciding on which hotel to stay in. Finally decided on the RC as it had a great rate for their club level.

Arranged for an airport transfer and was met at arrivals and then driven in the Jaguar to the hotel. An incredibly warm welcome from the team and especially the team at the Club Lounge. The lounge is currently undergoing renovations but the area it was relocated to was just excellent and had a great view across the river.

Was then taken up to the room. Luggage took some time to arrive and when I contacted the Club I was told it was in the room. A bell boy arrived and said the ssame thing but when he looked his conclusion was the same as mine.....it was not there. It did show up a bit later.

Thrilled to upgraded to a full Bosporous view room and could not have asked for a better view. The room is actually quite large and I have stayed in smaller suites! Some nice Turkish touches throughout the room and the bathroom. Again, the bathroom was quite big and always welcome the separate shower. Nice Asprey (standard) amenities and fluffy white towels. The room was quite warm and it took the air con some time to finally cool the room down.

I explored the hotel and visited the indoor pool and spa and sauna. Nice way to relax before a bite to eat. Quite nice facilites with all amenities provided for your stay and to freshen up afterwards.

I had a drink and snack in the Lounge. They serve food four times throughout the day, except breakfast which is had in the main restaurant. The serving staff are reasonably attentive and after a few visits start to get to know your preferences. I really enjoyed the Turkish red wine. Food offerings are typically "lounge-ish" with some local cuisine thrown in. I also think the bar is open all day. We were always warmly welcomed by name whenever we returned to the Club which was a wonderful touch.

I did have an issue at 4:00 am which was from the extreme high winds. A window (which had been sealed shut) managed to blow open! All a bit frightening but the night manager and security came to the rescue and asked that I stay outside the room. It took the two of them to hold the window closed whilst maintenance repaired it. I was then moved to another room.

They were very apologetic the next day when I told them about the incident and were keen to make it up to me. We opted for a limousine transfer back to the airport. That was no problem. Should have asked for more perhaps!!!! Honestly, that was fine.

We also had a couples Hamam treatment (which is like an exotic form of washing) which was very nice. The hotel has its own Hamam in the spa. Definately worth trying.

Breakfast was quite a good spread and the staff were attentive in getting tea/coffee and clearing finished plates. Always love an egg chef and here at the RC he was quite good. Rest of the offering was pretty standard.

I cannot thank the team at the Club Lounge enough for their warmth and hospitality. Nothing was any trouble from restuarant bookings/recommendations to spa bookings and generally helping in the lounge.

Would be an easy decision to return to this property when next in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We decided to have a splurge for the wife's birthday and the Ritz-Carlton blew our expectations out of the water. The trip started of fabulous with a free upgrade to the club level. They served food 5 times a day and had a full complementary bar (wine, beer, champagne) for your delight.

We were surprised to find a piece of birthday cake, a bottle of wine, and a lovely card from the club level manager in our hotel room upon arrival. Truly a nice touch, which is not seen very often. On the second night, we came back to our room after a long day of sight seeing and had the bed covered in rose pedals.

The breakfast was fabulous and had everything and anything you could ever have wanted or needed. We purchased a few additional items from the spa on our departure day. They had a slight issue with the credit card machine and when I returned home, I found out my card had been double charged. A simple call to the hotel and the instantly refunded the overcharge, no questions ask. Never have I seen such customer service in all my travels around the world. Many a hotel could take a lesson from the Ritz in Istanbul and they definitely transformed me into a lifelong fan of the Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JubilantBeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

the hotel is completely fulfilling ritz-carlton standards(excellent staff, very clean and amazing atmosphere in the lobby).Even their standard rooms are large enough. The bathrooms are amazing compared to the other chains that I'd stayed all over the world. The only problem with this hotel is location, it's very close by taxim square but you definetely need to take a taxi to go to the square otherwise you need to walk up the hill by 200 meters and then another 200 meters to go to the Taxim square. You can always have security problems in the first 200 meters. If you take a cab it would cost only 3 usd.

Room Tip: standart room with a partial view of bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerem s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Could easily give 6 points! yet the location is challenged; despite boasting superb views and room and public spaces and also good proximity to bosporus and Taksim square, you are literally stranded there unless you have a private chauffeur! From the land plot where it is located, you have to be an "athlete" to climb uphill to reach Taksim square or downhill run to reach the Bosporus!
Taking a regular yellow taxi is always a challenge in Istanbul! Despite excellent porters trying to give instructions and check with taxi drivers that they understood where they have to take you, the later are so incompetent that drive you around (unfortunately not even for charging more fare!)

All the above, it is really an excellent hotel, superbly managed and excellently appointed!
Really Ritz Carlton team exceed the already high standards of service!

stars / category: 5
Lobby: simply fantastic!!! spacious, nicely decorated with traditional and modern Turkish and Ottoman details and furniture. Fantastic Bosporous views!

elevators: 3 for customers, despite hotel being fully booked, no major delays, congestion experienced!
room entry system: electronic key, very efficient and almost always operating

room type: Partial Bosporous view, Ritz-Carlton Club® Level
room size: 450 sqf, really spacious
room decoration design: modern with warm "earthy" colours and some Turkish highlights

smoking / non smoking rooms option: no
view from the room:5/5 plenty of daylight thanks to large windows
opening windows: no, usual drawback you get at high rises buildings
balcony: no

Feeling of safety: very high
check in: extremely fast / 1 min

floor quality (parket / marble/ carpet / other): carpets, very well maintained
heating / airconditioning / ventilation: excellent one and very silent!
noise levels: insulation internal / external: excellent, absolutely silent
shading (electrical shades, curtains, etc): curtains (2 folds, offering total darkness)

feeling clean: 5/5
room lighting: 5/5
dimmer option: no
electricity sockets: ok, very convenient and also on working desk

bed: comfortable king-size bed
mattress: extremely heavenly!!!!!!
pillows: 6
covers (duvet, blankets,etc): duvet, just excellent!
linens quality: 4/5

wardrobe closet: yes, just excellent!
efficient clothes hangers: more than you can wish for!
shoe shine sponge / cloth: yes, sponge, cloth, traditional free shoe shine service, etc
sleepers:yes, excellent quality quality
Iron & Ironing Board: no, but just ask they they will get it or you in zero time
trousers press: no, but same as above

writing desk / workspace: yes, plenty!
dustbin: yes

# of television devices in the room: 1 / HD LCD 232” TV (MAGINET, relatively good )
# of tel devices in the room: 2 / voice mailbox: yes
cable / satellite TV: yes
Digital TV Channels: yes
Pay TV: yes,MAGINET platform; ok selection, could have had a larger variety!
tv channels: > 60, including many international ones

i phone / pod / pad dock: yes
internet connection: free for first day at this room category
high sped internet: yes
cable / wifi: both

Digital Safe: yes
notebook size: yes
Refrigerator: yes
Mini-Bar: yes, well stocked at usual high hotel prices
Microwave: no
Coffee Maker: yes, Nespresso well stocked
Water-boiler: no
Toaster: no

daily newspaper: no
complimentary snacks/facilities: yes at the Club Lounge, simply fantastic
Extras: Nespresso coffee, bottles of complimentary water


bathroom size: really large/ excellently appointed, white and anthracite coloured marble and with granite sink
water quality / pressure: ok, yet purified, soap foam was a bit hard to remove! / very strong
water temperature: hot enough!
ventilation: yes, 5/5
shower cabin: bath with shower and tub, everything just perfect!
rain forest shower: yes
heater / radiator in bathroom: no
mirrors: very adequate
wall face mirror: yes, with light option
vatity set: yes, excellent
toiletry brand: ASPREY of London
clothes hanging / drying cord: No, yet with the serve level this hotel has, simply ask it and they will do it for you!
towels: 4, quality / softness: more than 5/5
bathrobe: yes, excellent ones

weight scale: yes, digital
toilet paper quality / quantity: excellent / / 2
dustbin: yes
toilet brush: no
tissues boxed, wall mounted dispenser: yes / boxed . in fine porcelain cover!
tel device in bathroom: yes
Personal Hygiene Pack: yes
hair dryer: yes, standard quality, could have been better

Business centre: yes, highly efficient
room service: excellent quality and delivery time simply "flying" waiters!

breakfast: excellent
quality: 5/5
variety: 4/5

gym facilities: yes, excellent and fully equipped, spacious, good swimming pool (internal & external)
spa: excellent
concierge service: yes, excellent and very personalised
parking: yes
airport shuttle service: can arrange convenient and safe pick up (its a bit pricey!)
check out speed: quick (3min)

Room Tip: high floor, side bosporous or bosporous view, if you can afford go for the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg16672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our brief pre-cruise stay at The Ritz. We arrived quite weary from our all day travels from Denver. They had arranged a driver to retrieve us from the airport and he was knowledgeable and entertaining. As was every single staff member we encountered from the moment we arrived. Our first night we dined at the outdoor Bleu Lounge & Grill, we simply relaxed with tasty food and drinks whilst looking over the Bosphorous reflecting the huge moon that night. The next day we enjoyed late breakfast via room service since we both felt groggy from the time change. After a day of sight seeing, using the ultra-convenient tram system, we returned for a relaxing pre-dinner drinks at the elegant Lobby Lounge and then took one of their awaiting taxis for a quick trip to to the ever-busy Taksim area for a great meal. Our final morning we walked down the hill and caught one of the numerous choices for a pleasurable Bosphorous cruise before returning, checking out and taking a taxi to cruise terminal, less than 5 minute ride. We would certainly stay at this super hotel without a doubt if we are ever lucky enough to return!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, pay for a the Bosphorous View room, or a Partial Bosphorous View at least! Qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BippityBoppityBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

a memorable visit to Istanbul in Turkey. The hotel is very well located near the Dolma Bahce palace one of the land marks in Istanbul and within easy reach of te other tourist attractions with a beautiful view of the Bosphorous. it is also within walking distance to the Taksim square and shopping areas. The rooms are spacious and well furnished and very comfortable. The breakfast in the hotel is full of nice international and turkish delicacies. I very much enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#74 of 1,141 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing