We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home base for a stay in Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Ranked #61 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful home base for a stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving week in Istanbul in 2011 and selected the Ritz Carlton for our home base. Great choice.
When we arrived in the morning, our room was not quite ready however the staff seated us in the bar / coffee area and we had a wonderful latte and pastries. Our room quickly became available and we were delighted with the view and the room itself.
Here is what you have to know - the day you arrive book an appointment at their spa for the private couples Turkish bath. You absolutely will not be disappointed. Both of us said we felt better than we had in years - soft glowing skin, relaxed, etc. Do not miss this opportunity. It was so great I would fly to Istanbul just for that experience again! Seriously.
The hotel gave us great suggestions for local restaurants. One was so good we went back again. Food in Istanbul was terrific - meats, salads, veggies, breads. If I didn't go back to Istanbul for that spa treatment, I'd go for the food.
The Ritz is easily within walking of shopping and restaurants.
Also, easily within walking distance of the train over to the historic sites.
We ate at the restaurant once, and enjoyed the bar a few evenings.
Overall a wonderful stay - do not miss the spa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    263
    72
    18
    7
See reviews for
199
409
53
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were surprized by the high level of customer care. We experienced some trouble in finding a restaurant , the hotel concierge had reccomended and customer relationship manager helped us and took care of us until we could find it.... And it was a fantastic restaurant. also in several other situations customer relationship manager, a very handsome and professional lady, exceeded our expectations. Very rare to find. The hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful spa.
Only the executive lounge, breakfast and lunch were slightly disappointing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Istambul is an amazing city and Ritz is the place to stay to delight yourself. Location is fantastic, service awesome and staff more than lovely.
The hotel has a magnificent terrace with a fantastic view, the bar and the perfect atmospher to enjoy the best of Istambul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

wow! istanbul is amazing and staying at this wonderful hotel makes it all the more better.
i had unfortunately lost my reservations at another 5* hotel in istanbul due to an error made by Flight Centre. extremely upset, i resorted to just doing my own bookings...and thank God we found the Ritz Carlton!

there aren't any blatant negatives about this hotel ( and if there are, fortunately we missed them:) )so i am going to jump right on to the +'s:

+ location location location! perfect to get to any of the tourist sites and public transport points (ferry, tram). public transport in istanbul proved to be quite efficient and inexpensive. concierge most most helpful in answering our questions regarding transport, sites etc. Unlike most other five star hotels, they did not just feed us with the ridiculously expensive (and not necessesarily the best) options, but gave us a wide variety to choose from. The efficient personel took it upon themselves to research options for us regarding a variety of travel questions. Regarding the superiority of the location, please do keep in mind that i speak of it from the point of view of a relatively active healthy young couple who dont' mind a bit of a walk here and there.

+ luxurious, comfortable, practicle..amazing views...everything you could ask for and more! complimentary mac air books etc...even complimentary self drive cute little Fiat convertibles!!!

+ more Turkish delight and cookies available than you could ever eat !

+++++staff proved to be efficient, professional, sincere, warm, hospitable, all without being overbearing and intrusive. something which i find VERY rare and most appreciated!

+ we did stay on the club level and i do recommend this sort of stay for numerous reasons. one experiences the benefits of a large chain hotel, as well as the benefits of a small boutique hotel. there are just a small number of rooms on the club floor, with your own club reception/concierge and butler, the club dining area, club lounge etc. you need not venture to the rest of the hotel for these requirements.Intimate, quiet and peaceful.

+ club dining was impeccable! Simple (easy on the tummy of a tourist) yet delicious food and snacks and drinks available all the time! we did not purchase street food at all! dinner does end a bit early (8pm EXACTLY). Once,we arrived a minute or 2 before 8pm hoping to grab a quick bite and enjoy it in the loungeand not in the dining area as we were aware that dinner was soon over...unfortunately we were stopped at the entrance and curtly told that the buffet was closed. not a problem, just a reason for me to make a dinner out of chocolate and dessert and maybe a piece of fruit. After that we didnt really bother rushing back for dinner :)

( i should mention, if there is at all anything negative that i could think of, it would be that we found the female staff to be a little "irritable"....always fatigued... if ever so slighlty. But all else was too good for this to bother us more than just a little.)

+ the indoor spa was amazingly relaxing after a tiring day of touring. We did not use the outdoor spa. We considered the evenings during our stay a tad bit chilly (just a thin cardigan required).
I also found the temperature of the indoor pool a little low for my particular liking...but i did enjoy the spa bath immensley! seperate male and female spa facilities was also quite accommodating and comfortable.

+beautiful, sufficiently equipped fittness centre

+ cleanliness...being an absolute neat freak i find it hard to give a 100% rating on this one. everything was really clean but i do think they coulddo a better job keeping the grouting in etweeen the shower wall tiles moss free.

i could go on and on praising the Ritz Carlton Istanbul. anyone with questions about the property that i may possibly try to answer, pls feel free to mail me.

if you think im being too generous with my praise, check out my other reviews:)

If istanbul is ever a return destination for us, then Ritz Carlton is unquestionably the choice of stay!

Room Tip: club level bosphorus or garden view...but club level!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muniera_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay at The Ritz Carlton was terrific and made perfect by the incredible views over the water and city. Breakfast was amazing The staff in all components of service at this hotel were polite, kind and helpfulo at all timjes. Management was around consitantly and asking how eeryting was.
We would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a vidw of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank circularthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed for 7 nights. got upgraded to a corner room with a baby crib installed. service at its best! location is so-so if one wants to avoid cabs / taxes. lots of traffic around the hotel and might need to leave ahead. sometimes 7 km distance along the shore can take an hour but i think it is consistent with the rest of the Istanbul's poor infrastructure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I kept congratulating myself for chosing this hotel in Istanbul. The hotel is just perfect in every way; the location, the view and the service were amazing. Just to be so close to all the interesting places to visit and then end up at this hotel to rest and refresh was absolutely wonderful.
The breakfast and the restaurant which is overlooking the Bosphorus made a fabulous start to the day. The room and the bathroom were great and the shower were outstanding. The staff were most helpful and went out of their way to make things pleasant and running smoothly for us.
I would recommend this hotel for everyone planning to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#72 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#13 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#21 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing