We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest hotel, greatest location, and realy good owner”
Review of Angel's Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel's Home Hotel
Ranked #84 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Was there on bikes, traveling from Ukraine. It's a great place, great view, great room. Thanks Hakan for a good time. Close to Blue Mosque and a lot of shops and restaurants. Recommend to bikers. Good english speaking stuff and cool beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Angel's Home Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 815 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

First of all the location is really great , but that's about it - there are many other hotels in that area (one of which I will choose next time), this was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. No room to put the luggage . When I asked for s late checkout at 1500hrs, response was : costs one more night - in a hotel that was emptying out after Easter ... No flexibility at all and very rude answer: 'take it or leave it , I don't care' . Cannot recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank better w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As the title we had very good experince with this hotel. Good size room for a small city hotel, Comfortable and very well equipped. Staff were so nice felt a part of the family. Just one thing was for the payment was bit ..... because the credit card does not charge in fureign currency but on turkish lira.Breakfast was excellent with more then 6 different juice; 10s of jam, egg;omlette with tomato and green pepper called as minimen that i loughed but delicios and fresh.
Also free pick up service made our transfer easy nd comfortable in that huge city traffic.
i recoommend this hotel surely

Room Tip: angel suite with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afistos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2015

Our Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about Angel’s Home Hotel on tripadvisor. Please contact with us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. Hope to see you again. Have a good day and good life  Best Regards from Istanbul.
Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Overall, our stay here was good. The rooms were clean and it was a very good, comfortable and peaceful sleep. You had all the 'mod cons' - wifi everywhere, high pressure showers (both handheld and rain), satellite TV, air-conditioning etc

The bathroom and plumbing had a strong smell which permeated the room - this was attributed to the proximity of the river. Staff (who got a bit defensive in tone) said it's like this sometimes in the year. It was a minor annoyance - Keep the bath door closed and just flush some soap/water down the shower when you get in the room and it'll be fine.

Breakfast was a very good spread. They made some of the bread/pastries on site so those were very fresh. Though I was a little alarmed by the chef's phlegm-y sounding cough ( and she didn't wear a mask). Breakfast is on the terrace with a somewhat good view of the Bosphorous. It's a bit of a 'stretch' if you want to see the blue mosque.

The staff - it was a very different experience from the rest of Turkey. There were no smiles here (only from a young waiter who was on night shift and the head? chambermaid). The other junior staff tended to be somewhat aloof. The senior staff were usually cold and always seem to be of a moody/almost angry demeanor. No 'Hellos' or 'Good mornings' here. Just a very business-like and matter-of-fact transactions. Reception Staff were also always engrossed with the Internet/Laptop and sighed when we asked for the key. I felt that I was at the DMV or post office.

Whilst we were ok with this (I've had much worse), it didn't feel at all pleasant and we didn't always feel welcomed here. It would be of interest to you to read the hotel's replies here in the lower rated reviews. Check in time was 1400hrs. We arrived 2 hours early and were told that it was 15 euros for early check-in. No exceptions which is fair I suppose.

One incident - on day 2, I decided to pop back into the hotel to clean up, grab batteries before lunch. When I arrived, our door was ajar and the room not completely cleaned/made up. Was shocked - but thankfully nothing was missing. I waited for my friend to come back - it was almost half and hour before the chambermaids came back (I assumed they left half way to grab some lunch). They were apologetic and left but didn't return to finish up the room.

However, that being said, in all fairness, whatever you needed help with, the staff will still eventually do it/respond to your request. Except when it is in regards to a rival tour company. We wanted help to call the travel agent in regards to our airport shuttle, which was running late. We were refused.

The hotel also provides all sorts of tours and airport shuttles, at a premium of course. On our arrival, we were recommended a 25 euro per person Bosphorous cruise and a 30 euro airport shuttle. We eventually refused both as we found a 15 euro cruise (same route) outside and a 5 euro per person shuttle at one of the travel agents just outside. When asked about the difference in the tours/options, we were just told that those we picked were 'not safe'.

Still, the Angel's home is pleasant enough and one of the cheaper options in a very expensive city. And a good location in Sultanahmet too - just a short walk to the three big sites in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disjecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamiduyar, Owner at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guest..
thanks for ur review but your are not right with staff .. Check in time is 14:30 and thats very clearly advertised.. If you or someone else want to get in the room earlier then check in time , we may do it if the room is ready.. If not then you have to pay extra to get early check for another room. Thats very clear and the hotel and guests have to obey to the rules advertised in terms and conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel was very good for price and location. Short walk to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia and tram station. Many restaurants and shops around hotel within walking distance. Large breakfast buffet selection served until 10am. Walls were thin so sound carried throughout room. Renovated bathroom was great. Staff was helpful with requests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is centrally located to the blue mosque and the Hagia Sophia. In fact a lot of the tourist sites are within walking distance from this hotel. It's very quiet and located amongst other small hotels. The people at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Do inquire at the reception about cruises on the bosphorus. They arrange it for you. The international airport is about 45 mins away from the hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well stocked. This hotel does have wifi which is a huge plus point for travelers. It's the typical continental breakfast served in the morning. The check in time at this hotel is 1400 hrs, which is rather unusual, but they let us have our room in the morning as it was ready. I certainly recommend this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neven1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights early April 2013. The staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast served on the roof terrace was excellent, being included in the price, consisting of both cooked and buffet selections. This hotel is 5 minutes walk from The Blue Mosque and Sofia Hagia, fantasticly located for all the main tourist sites. We had a wonderfully confortable circular bed and the bedroom and ensuite were modern and spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend a stay here, unless you have mobility restrictions as the buffet breakfast is served on the roof terrace, quite a lot of stairs! However, they do have room service option.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 108, in the eaves.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamiduyar, Sahibi at Angel's Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

My name is Selami DUYAR, I am the Manager and Owner of the Angel’s Home Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
If we may ever be of assistance about Istanbul, please let us know. We hope to see you with us again.
Yours cordially,

Owner and Manager
Selami DUYAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel's Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Home Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Street, 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel's Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Hotel Angel's Home is a First Class Boutique Hotel in Istanbul / Turkey. It has a quiet location in the old city center Sultanahmet where you can find the heart of Istanbul's History - former Constantinople. Angel's Home Hotel was built in the begining of the 20th century by Admiral Tafdil and his wife Melek (Angel), who gave her name to the house. A street was aslo named after the Admiral. Angel's Home opened its doors as a boutique hotel in October 2003 after being restaured to its orginal state and is run by the Duyar Family. Our unique cafe bar is located on a terrace offering arguably the best view of magical Sultanahmet. While enjoying a glass of wine you can watch the sunset on St.Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque, which are only moments away. As the boats light up on the Marmara Sea and the Bosphorus, Angel's Home Hotel is ready with its well decorated rooms, terrace with clear Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view, Lobby Bar and of course always smiling, friendly and helpfull staff for you. We promise you to be better and better to make you feel like at your home in the queen of the cities Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angel's Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Home Boutique Hotel
Angels Home Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing