We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable with good location”
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uyan Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Flint Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“comfortable with good location”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Due to a good recommendation, we chose this hotel after returning from an African safari.
The location could not be more convenient close to the historic center. The hotel is located on a quiet street. The rooms are small but clean.

Room Tip: Corner room third floor has a small balcony, number 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    221
    44
    6
    13
See reviews for
110
223
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our two recent stays at Istanbul’s Uyan Hotel were both happy and comfortable in every way.

The hotel’s location could not be more central in the delightful Sultanahmet district in the heart of historic Old Istanbul, and its moderate prices represent excellent value for money.
The location is as convenient as it gets, close to shops, restaurants, public transport and the beautiful Bosphorous. What is very important is that vehicles can stop right outside the hotel, which is not the case everywhere in Sultanahmet where a lot of the old streets are pedestrian only. When one has a lot of luggage as we did, it is so helpful that the taxi is permitted to stop right outside the door.

Upon arrival on our first of the two stays, we were greeted most pleasantly and relieved of our luggage by a very personable young man who was genuinely welcoming. This introduction to Turkish hospitality impressed us very much and our accommodation – a delightful apartment comprising two bedrooms, a sitting room, bathroom and private garden was absolutely enchanting and, as I say, was not expensive for the four of us – my wife and I and our son and daughter.

The young lady receptionist is so delightfully helpful and so pleasant in her manner, as are all the staff at the Uyan Hotel.

On our second visit, a couple of weeks later, the staff remembered us and greeted us warmly and genuinely, as one greets old friends.

Being family run as it is, the atmosphere is especially homely and our hosts and their very helpful staff were never too busy to provide any information one needed. Bus and boat tours can be booked through reception as can airport transfers; the hotel’s interest in recommending only reputable companies for their guests’ sightseeing and other travel requirements is very clear.

The buffet breakfast was sumptuous, offering a wide variety of cereals, fresh fruit juices, yogurts, boiled eggs, cheese, meats, sausage, fish, fruit, melon and numerous other delicacies - with a selection of breads and pastries and hot drinks - tea, coffee and herbal tea. Every taste was carefully thought out and the staff constantly replenish the supplies before it becomes necessary. On one morning the waiter even sent someone out to buy cake for us!
We had the same apartment on both our two night stays. The rooms contain a nice sized TV on which we were able to watch a variety of interesting channels. And there is wi-fi too! Our wake-up calls always came through on time to the minute. This is a hotel which is safe and reliable in every respect and we would recommend the Uyan in the strongest possible way. In fact we intend to stay there again on our next visit. Our most sincere thanks go to all at the Uyan Hotel! There is only one minor matter that I feel could be improved on – that is, the provision of tea and coffee making facilities in the apartment. It is quite possible that this may available in the hotel’s standard rooms – I am not sure. But I do believe that if we had asked for a kettle and mugs etc. the staff would have arranged it as they were so available to help, so this comment is not meant to be negative. I am merely suggesting that those who book the Uyan request tea/coffee making facilities if that’s what they want, and I have no doubt at all that these will be provided.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvangelistDavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

When we booked our hotel on the internet, we already loved Betul's efficient and happy response, she organised our courtesy transfer from the airport (a pleasant 30-45min drive along the waterfront and through the old quarter), and welcomed us on the day of arrival. We were kindly offered a most tastefully arranged room on lv 4 with a stunning view of the Blue Mosque. We have stayed for three nights and have found the location to be outstanding, right between the Ayasofya and the Blue Mosque, both just minutes away, and in the middle of a most beautiful part of the old town. From the rooftop both can easily be photographed, but at night time it's even better to enjoy a meal in the adjacent Seven Hills restaurant, which also offers rooftop views. The owner's 8 yr old son collects foreign currency, so if you have some small notes or coins, bring them along.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT ELIZA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

As far as location goes, this would be hard to beat. Less than 5 min walk to hammam, Blue Mosue, Aya Sophia, also walking distance to grand bazaar.The hotel is quite good, very clean, staff are excellent. It is an old building that has been modernized to provide all that you need. In general it is quiet except for the call to prayers at 4am, but this is Istanbul and Sultanahmet. Would I stay there again, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We reserved two rooms through Hotwire, and when the three of us arrived, they claimed it was for two single rooms. We showed them our itinerary which clearly had (2 adults) listed as the room category, but they refused to let us check in. We'd been traveling the prior 24 hours and all just wanted sleep and showers. In order to get a double room, we had to pay 1.5x what we had previously paid for the room, almost doubling the room cost for the three of us.

Then came the ironic kicker: They had no single rooms available so we would have been in double rooms regardless. I don't know if this has happened to anyone else, but it seemed like a pretty well coordinated scam.

They later charged us double for laundry than what was originally claimed.

The breakfast had items run out and were never replaced, like the borek, fairly early in the dining period.

All in all, this was a pretty horrible experience other than the view from the rooftop. The management here should be fired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I came to Istanbul over my would-be Thanksgiving holiday - this hotel was the perfect home-base for our trip. It is walkable to all the sites in Sultahmet - 5min to Blue Mosque and Haya Sophia; a few minutes to tram, steps away from shops, coffee shops and restaurants all around, and quality ceramic plate shops within feet. The rooms were clean and large, far exceeding expectations. Breakfast is served on the rooftop every morning and has a nice view of the mosque up there. Because we were there in the winter, it was quite cold out and unfortunately quite cold in our room. Apart from that it was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: If you can manage, get a room facing the mosque. If you're not that lucky, you'll get one fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Fantastic location - a few steps from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia but down a quiet side street, close to Four Seasons. Only noise was birdsong and Call to Prayer. Nice comfortable and clean room too. Had problems with the WiFi but no other complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#263 of 1,141 in Istanbul
387 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#189 of 1,141 in Istanbul
599 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,141 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#133 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#60 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Property: Uyan Hotel
Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing