We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing mosaics”

Kariye Museum (The Chora Church)
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.53*
and up
Constantinople Small-Group Tour of Istanbul with Lunch
More Info
$69.30*
and up
Constantinople Half-Day Tour of Orthodox Religious Sites
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Eyup, Pierre Loti Hill, and Kariye Museum: Guided Day Tour from Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,071 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Chora Church (Turkish Kariye Müzesi, Camii yahut Kilisesi — variously the Chora Museum, Mosque or Church) is considered to be one of the most beautiful examples of a Byzantine church. The church is situated in the western, Erdinekapı district of İstanbul. In the 16th century, the church was converted into a mosque by the Ottomon rulers, and it became a secularised museum in 1948. The interior of the building is covered with fine mosaics and frescoes.
Horsham,England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“amazing mosaics”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's worth finding this church by tram and metro. It may be hidden away, but the Byzantine mosaics are incredible

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,864
    1,007
    300
    92
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mosaics of gold”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My catholic husband was enamored by this Christian church featuring over twenty beautiful mosaics covering Jesus's life. Smaller and more intimate than the mosques, but beautiful architecture with plenty of domes, marble, perched on a hill with views of the city below. We walked here twice, very strenuous climb up cobblestone streets. Taxi or bus would be recommended to save your strength, although the ferry service up the Golden Horn was enjoyable, It required some serious walking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katikati222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible and amazing!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

To appreciate it, you have to go there in the least stressfull way. It takes out the fun and excitement if you are tired getting there or upset about the taxi fare! The other blogger have it right, take the tram and get off at Topkapi, then transfer to T4 line and get off at Edirnakapi. Then its a short walk from there. Take the main road vs along the wall. The mosaic details on the Chora was incredible! In my opinion, It was much better than Michelangelo's frescoes on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel. A must to see!

Helpful?
2 Thank rrbello
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baton Rouge, La
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worthwhile”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I toured the Church of Chora in May, 2012, while on an organized tour through Istanbul. We had no interest in visiting the bazaar, which was the organized activity for the morning, and elected to visit the Chora Church instead.

I cannot imagine why the Chora Church is not included in every organized tour's itinerary. Perhaps the relative inaccessibility of the church precludes efficient transportation, but my wife and I regard our visit to the Chora Church as a highlight of our visit to Istanbul. The Chora Church is simply stunning.

For a relatively small fee one can rent earphones through which one can listen to commentary on the mosaics. The commentary was useful, and I believe that those who did not spend their careers in the study of art would find the commentary well worth the small additional expenditure.

Although one could in principle breeze through the church in short order, I recommend that the visitor allot an entire morning or afternoon to this experience. If my wife and I should be fortunate enough to visit Istanbul once more, we would surely allot an entire day to this lovely little museum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bayou_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You should not miss this”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This church is amazing. Follow some kind of guide book so you will understand what all the scenes are. You'll be able to guess about half of them. We took the Metro M1 to the Topkapi stop (not the palace, the road) then walk along the city walls and Topkapi street. There is a safe path to walk on. Once you turn right and go through the city walls follow the signs for Kariye Museum. It's in the middle of the neighborhood so hard to see. Just go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BLT9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariye Museum (The Chora Church) also viewed

 

Been to Kariye Museum (The Chora Church)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing