We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different side of the Ottoman Empire”
Review of Dolmabahce Palace

Dolmabahce Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.51*
and up
Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul
More Info
$83.14*
and up
Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Istanbul Two Continents Tour Including Dolmabahçe Palace and Bosphorus...
Ranked #10 of 1,061 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This palace was built in the mid 1800s to replace an earlier structure that was made of wood. The new palace incorporated sixteen separate buildings with stables, a flour mill and a clock tower among them.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A different side of the Ottoman Empire”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the contrast of this palace to Topkapi. The public rooms are so over-the-top in opulence. Surprisingly, the Harem section was much less ornately decorated, whereas at Topkapi, it was the Harem that was the most spendidly decorated. My husband says that they need to light the giant chandelier for us lowly tourists!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gabyseasounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,330
    1,169
    414
    144
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jeddah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

lovely palace, nice gardens and magnificent sea view. We were lucky that that day they opened the bed room where Mustafa Ataturk died so it was cool seeing it. Cameras are not allowed inside the palace but you can still take pictures in the garden and while waiting in line.
Make sure you go when its not so crowded, the lines could be really really long. If you go in with a tour company the lines are different. We didnt have to wait in line for the tickets and we only waited for about ten minutes to get through the entrance. Plus the groups are smaller than the tour groups provided by the palace itself so it was easier to listen to all the amazing facts and enjoy our time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Razan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must to visit, You can not miss it”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is magnificent; it is a must to visit.
I had visited many palaces in different countries but this is one of the best.

The drawing on the walls and ceiling are gorgeous.
The carpets are great
The chandeliers are " oh my god" wow.
You really feel you are in a real palace with all the luxury that you find it whenever you go in terms of furniture, carpets,

Really it worth seeing

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reham585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

A must see! Magnificent place. I suggest to be visited during spring when the magnolia trees in the yard blossom. The palace is beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Luchiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A nice attraction; initially were hesitant to go as we had young children and we thought they would get tired. Luckily enough, the place held their - and our- interest. A big factor in this was probably the tour guide we got, who recounted interesting facts about the palace and its inhabitants, with bits and pieces of relevant history, etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveistanbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolmabahce Palace also viewed

 

Been to Dolmabahce Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing