We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,745)
Filter reviews
1,745 results
Traveler rating
1,537
165
31
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,537
165
31
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagia sophia seasons restaurant old city rooftop bar blue mosque luxury hotel beautiful hotel grand bazaar perfect location turkey hotel experience historical sites basilica cistern baklava call to prayer restaurant staff deluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 1,745 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We just came back from a 5 day stay at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet and I couldn't be happier. The accomodations were fabulous and in my opinion, worth every penny. The service was unparalleled and in fact, when the front desk did not have a certain product that was needed one of the bellmen accompanied my teenage daughter to a local drugstore laid out the money for her so that she could get what she needed and he did so in a discrete manner!!!

The room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was the best that I have seen in any hotel. This was really welcome for us as we had just come off of a week long cruise in the Greek Isles on a sail boat where our cabin was tiny so it felt good to stretch out.

The buffet breakfast is good but a bit pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel of this type. The location of the hotel is perfect, just around the corner from all of the major attractions and also around the corner from a very busy and colorful street that has a ton of cafes and restaurants. So you can have great touring and great night life and then walk back to the tranquility of the hotel where they always welcome you back. The concierge was also very helpful in choosing restaurants and he would call ahead for us and then it was certain that we got First class treatment as guests of the hotel.

If you can afford it, go all the way for the luxury of the Four Seasons, this particular hotel is full of history and the accomodations are fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candicaneadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

You book at FS expecting high standards and high prices.Normally this quality chain delivers.
Here we were met at the Airport and checked in smoothly and our room had a nice terrace with good views.The city centre location is unrivaled if somewhat noisy with the call to prayer dominating the rest period.
Then came dinner.A nice setting in the courtyard but very pricey even by FS standards but the quality was just not up to standard.A very average rib eye steak was served with a few crushed potatoes.No veg, salad or sauces.A risotto lacked the required texture.Our complaints were muted compared to the ajoining table who were going to town berating the hard pressed staff and demanding everything from a free bottle of wine to a free meal.
Breakfast was OK but the eggs on the buffett looked like they had been there since the city was known as Constantinople!
Finally the hotel lost our bags delaying our departure to our Cruise ship by 25 minutes.Fortunately we were not on a tight schedule.
FS you must do better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank secondrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed at this magnificent hotel June 7 through June 10th. Our luggage did not arrive with us from Chicago and the Hotel was helpful from the beginning in tracking it. Fortuantely we had travel insurance which allowed us a mini shopping spree for clothing. Our rooms were delightful and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff always were available and helpful and many spoke English. Appreciated the little things like complimentary umbrella on the days it rained. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Location in the old city is good for walking and seeing sites. A cab to Taskim Square is only 15 TL and cabs are easy to come by. We walked from Taskim to our hotel one fine day. It is an energetic adventure but well worth the effort and takes about an hour. Other than the shocking price of this hotel at 625 dollars/night it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Sultanahmet is in a great location for the key sites of Istanbul. However, the building was previously the Istanbul prison and a few things didn't change with the renovations -- most of the rooms are surrounded by the prison wall and therefore have no view. There is no swimming pool and it is a very hot city.
The service and food is very nice, but the room rates are expensive for a room that feels like a basement. Crappy gym

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chgr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The Four Seasons is the only place to stay in the Sultanahmet area that you have a luxury experience and walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Sultan's Palace. The service and breakfast were unparalleled.

Only problem we noted was that rug salesmen stalk you when you leave the hotel. They act like they are friendly Turks, engage you, then aggressively try to get you to their carpet showroom. Unless you want to shop for rugs, we recommend that you politely, but firmly shake off anyone approaching you as you exit the hotel.

Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SusanGlobalGallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews