We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best service, the only location to stay, unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the best service, the only location to stay, unbeatable”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stay at Four Seasons Sultanahmet within easy walking distance of virtually all of the historic sites in Istanbul and you will not regret it. The service was excellent and it was the staff and management that make it the best. We did upgrade to the 'warden's room - a split level suite and we can recommend it. There is a sun terrace and the turkish tasting menu in the restaurant was fabulous for dinner. Try the buffet on Sunday lunchtime. It is not cheap but when you do pay more you should get this kind of experience - we would rate it one of the best hotels we have stayed in around the world. We stayed at both Four Seasons Hotels in Istanbul and while the other on the Bosphorus was great too it was more expensive and more for business and conference and much larger. Tip - for 1.5tl (about 1 dollar/euro) you can get a ferry across the Bosphorus to Kadikoy on Asian side where you will not be hassled and where just up the hill in a proper bazaar style shopping area you will find a great Turkish restaurant called Ciya - either side of the street - we tried them both and you will discover real Turkish food is delicious and a third of the price of the tourist side in Europe. Also do not miss the underground cistern or the Bazaars.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltireblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    143
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
322
738
65
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Easy walking distance to the major historical sites. Very comfortable beds, excellent service and decor. Beautiful views. "You ask and you shall receive". When staying in Istanbul, If you want five star service, only stay in a five star hotel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Esoteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

You can't beat the location, rooms, and food at this Four Seasons. The staff are unbelievably professional and attentive. The food is great and the rooftop bar is stunning at night. The inner courtyard where breakfast is served is an oasis in Sultanahmet. My only comment is that the hotel is so professionally run, well-designed, and Westernized that you can forget you're in Istanbul when in your room and in the halls. So if you want a more authentic Istanbul hotel experience, this is not the place for you. But you'll miss out on huge rooms, great showers, and a phenomenal breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCWGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed here in Nov 2009.

I loved the hotel's lovely grounds, services and my room. I paid for a significant upgrade to what was otherwise probably the best suite in the hotel. I'm not sure what the normal rooms are like. The hotel is particularly close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the sultan's palace. Those main sites are within a 5 minute walk. So if location is important to you - this hotel cannot be rivaled. I did not see a single hotel -- of any quality -- closer to the sites than the Four Seasons.

I would say the hotel courtyard restaurant is nothing special, particularly compared to the many cafes and restaurants in the neighborhood. So, by all means, have breakfast at the hotel, but be more adventurous for lunch and dinner. Don't get me wrong -- dinner was good there -- but I would try other places.

The great thing about the Four Seasons? You can just rock up and they handle everything from posting letters, getting you a great tour guide, or changing currency. The Four Seasons Sultanahmet was just like other Four Seasons in this respect.

Here's a tip: Do not use the hotel's airport shuttle. It was crazily over-priced. I recall it was 90 euros - one way! I used "Backpackers Travel Agency" and it was 35 euros round trip. And that was for a Mercedes van with fruit juice offered. The driver met us inside the airport, etc. - it was perfect, reliable service at a fraction of the hotel's price.

And one last note: I read many off-putting things about Istanbul such as how much of a hassle the airport is. Ignore it all. The airport was modern and easy to deal with. I found Istanbul to be a great city, easy to navigate and full of friendly people. The only hassles are the cafe owners who tend to be a bit loud as you walk past -- they want your business and try very hard to lure you in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TransATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Having previously stayed at the Cirigan Palace a number of times, decided upon a location closer to the sights for this visit with my wife. For certain, the location is excellent for sightseeing, though as other reviewers have commented, you may need to take a taxi to find good food, though there is a fantastic seafood reasturant within walking distance.
The hotel itself is a stylish renovation of an old jail with rooms around a central courtyard where the only restaurant is located.
As you would expect from 4 Seasons, decor is to a high standard, though we did feel like declining the offered upgrade as the offered room on the lower ground floor (think legs outside the window) was dark and uninspiring. Still, given that we rarely stay in the room during hours of light, we accepted.
Staff, and in particular the concierge, very helpful and knowledgeable.
For us, downside would have to be the restaurant. Breakfast was OK, but our needs here are always simple. We tried lunch one day, quite bland and so-so quality. The space is darkened and candle-lit for dinner, but you really cannot hide the fact it is more coffee shop than restaurant. Food at dinner better than lunch, but there are better places to eat around town so my advice would be "call the taxi".
The bar was disappointing in terms of atmosphere, best idea is cocktails on the roof garden, though the call to prayers from nearby speakers can drown out conversation for a while, but that's all part of the city.
Certainly the views are nowhere near as good as being on the Bosphorus, but then it's the location that would draw you to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Four seasons sultanahmet between 14 to 17 november (deluxe room), and loved every moment!
The location is the best if you want to know the old Istanbul. You can walk to the blue mosque, hagia sophia, topkapi palace and the byzantine cistern within a few steps.
There are plenty of restaurants just close to the hotel where you can get dinner, if you go down the street of the hotel.
Wonderful service. Very comfortable bed (king size), spacious room, very good bathroom.
We also visit the grand bazar, the spice bazar and the Galata Tower (this one you can't miss, at the top you will get the 360º view of Istanbul)
So, if you like to walk and have a wonderful time at Istanbul don´t hesitate and book this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

As others have stated, the Four Seasons Istanbul is a wonderfully stylish and refined hotel. As expected from Four Seasons, the hotel exudes low key style and was a great based from which to explore the wonderful city of Istanbul. Our room (Four Seasons Room) was reasonably large and included all the mod cons you would expect (although the bed was not the most comfortable I've slept on - Westin Hotels win that hands down...)

Of course the Four Seasons is a tourist hotel insofar as it is based in Sultanahmet, close to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace etc, etc. The area does not really reflect the "real" Istanbul and on balance if/when we return to Istanbul we'll probably stay at the new Bosphorus Four Seasons as a) it is right on the river and b) it is closer to the trendier areas of Istanbul.

Nevertheless a great base for a long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#9 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing