We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$250
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$281
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$169
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
1,510
160
29
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,510
160
29
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiaseasons restaurantold cityrooftop barblue mosqueluxury hotelbeautiful hotelgrand bazaarperfect locationturkeyhotel experiencehistorical sitesbasilica cisternbaklavacall to prayerrestaurant staffbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Sometimes, some hotels don’t deserve the maximum of five in score. They are much better than that. I can count with the fingers of one hand the hotels that are in the same league as Four Seasons Istanbul Sultanahmet. This is what luxury hospitality wants to be. Perhaps is does not have the latest in technology: TV in Mirror, or controlling things in a tablet. But, it does not need it, and shows what is behind raising the bar in hospitality industry: service.
Our taxi left us some blocks away from the hotel, as supposedly the driver couldn’t go further. When bellboys saw as coming rushed to take our things. They seemed happy to be able to help us. The hotel from the outside is beautiful, but the interiors are breathtaking. We were escorted to front desk, passing through an elegantly appointed corridor. It is really impressive.
But we were more impressed when the young lady in the front desk introduced herself. I’m sorry to do not remember her name. She had everything sorted out, even the pre-arrival requests as dinner reservation. Our room was not ready yet, so after the nice introduction she took us to the restaurant and offered us some drinks.
After waiting in the beautiful restaurant we were taken to our room with some surprised. It is not a joke to state this was the best part of our trip to Istanbul. The room was huge, massive, and bigger than many apartments we’ve seen. As we were celebrating some things, we had a cake waiting for us, and some extremely tasty treats. The decoration is simply superb, everything is from superior quality: the furnishing, the mattress, the robes, slippers, water and amenities. No noise from the outside. In cleanness, the room is spotless. One day, we entered to the room while cleaning, and found two persons, not cleaning, really washing the bathroom. They were even ashamed we found them there, but it was a nice surprise to see how they take care.
Concierge was helpful and his recommendations for dinner were great. He had more suggestions we did not take, as we preferred to stay more in the hotel. Additionally, breakfasts were outstanding, with everything fresh and full of varieties. Sunday buffet is pricy but fantastic as well.
When we left, we changed to a cheaper lodging as we were leaving at midnight so we thought it was not worth paying for a full night we would enjoy. Bellboys didn’t allow us to take our luggage and did that for us instead.
Mr. Murillo, the general manager, has done an excellent job, along with any single employee of this truly magnificent institution. Not even the minimal detail is overlooked. Everything is perfect, from having always enough coffee in the room to the best figs as complementary fruit. It ties with the best hotels in the world, and is second to none.

Room Tip: Everything is great here.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bbffpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A bit of luxury in the Old Town - used to be a prison so the construction is super solid and quiet.

Pro's: Comfortable beds, beautiful rooms, excellent views, gorgeous property, great service, best location.

Con's: We only ate breakfast once b/c it wasn't great. The buffet was very limiting (the Bosporus FS was much better). I ordered an omelet and couldn't eat it - they make theirs crispy rather than the traditional french omelet. If you don't have a discriminating palate - it's "fine". The restaurant itself is a beautiful setting. Have to say it made us eat outside the hotel for other meals.

Room Tip: If you have a courtyard room and like to sleep in, you may experience screaming children running around at breakfast time.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSMTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

simply the best hotel in Istanbul regarding the atmosphere, location, quality of services and food served. View of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia - amazing!
If you are looking for a perfect spot in the middle of the historic town - go for it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aga t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

In Istanbul this hotel has the best possible location. Set in the Asian side it's Surrounded by incredible historic monuments and ruins. Yes the Bosporus romance is not there , but it has much more going for it. The hotel is an old prison which has been restored and created into small incredibly elegant , luxurious hotel. The centre is a small but very charming garden with gorgeous flowers and trees. Each room window carries a flower box with abundantly growing red flowers . The effect of the bright yellow walls of the hotel and the red flower in the boxes creates a gorgeous first impression. The rooms are very elegantly done up. Dark wooden floors , beautiful, top of the line bed linen, lovely bathrooms , great size too, all the towels smelt fantastic, they were subtly perfumed which was just so so unexpected, it felt so luxurious!! one side of the windows overlooked the garden and the other side overlooking the outside, cobbled streets charming restaurants little.shops you get an idea of life going on , with vendors carrying carts filled with fruits roasted chestnuts, every morning I stood and watched people going about their lives, the cats sunning themselves, women walking in groups all bundled up talking and laughing., tea slurping shop keepers chatting among themselves, looking out and enjoying the scene is highly recommended! ! The service in the hotel was excellent ,in every area. Great food , very good breakfast buffet , we stuck to having the local specialities . The 5 days we spent there will be in our memories a long long time.

Room Tip: The rooms or suites which face the garden and the outside .
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldtraveller2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel certainly deserves a place on your best hotels list! We stayed at the Sultanahmet in November. The location could not be better--walking distance to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and much more. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We were guest for three days then left for two days to visit Ephesus. When we returned to the hotel everyone remembered us and our room was prepared and waiting (always with fruit and other wonderful treats like Turkish delight). The bar and restaurant offer Turkish food but also just enough international fare to keep guests happy. Try the Turkish wine! Also we must mention Motif Carpets which is just around the corner from the hotel (turn right out the front door, left at the end of the street and it's the second shop on the left). This tiny shop is loaded with beautiful rugs and carpets from all over Turkey. They do not bargain like in the bazaar but their prices are very fair and the quality is excellent. Hidir speaks English and is most helpful finding just the right rug. We went to buy one rug and ended up with four! One carpet and three kilims. Hidir shipped them to the US and they arrived in less than a week! All in all a wonderful stay in Istanbul at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RetiringCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews