We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #18 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

There are a few places that completely blow your mind away. This is one of them
Location-wise, you can't beat them
Hospitality and service-top notch
Rooms- large, spacious and everything you need, they have it.
The terrace bar had probably the best view anybody could dream of. Hagia Sophia and the blue mosque on one side and blue waters on the other.
Truly magnifique experience in one of the best cities in the world I have visited.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichesPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    136
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
294
698
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a good deal to stay at one of the Four Seasons in Istanbul. We booked a room in the one that's in the old section of the city. The location is expectedly fenomenal. The staff is well-trained and the service is quite pleasing. I guess my only two complaints are: the overall lack of character of the design (this comes from an interior designer) and the lack of facilities to enjoy. The hotel does not have a pool which is quite surprising for a Four Season. And quite disappointing for hot summer days in Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family was met at the gate as we came off the escalators from our flight to Johannesburg by a friendly English speaking envoy from the VIP service offered by the hotel as an add on to the private car service we had booked. She was accompanied by a porter who took our hand held luggage and both escorted us through immigration bypassing the lines. They collected our luggage as it came off the plane and took us to the car, which was waiting curbside. It was the perfect 4:45 AM arrival after the nine hour flight for Johannesburg. The Mercedes Sprinter was the right size for our nine pieces of luggage. The porter and receptionist at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and had lovely garden views. The hotel staff was incredible. They really bent over backward to make our stay memorable by paying attention to every detail. The housekeeping staff noticed that one of us had marked a page in a book with a piece of paper and replaced it with a beautiful tulip bookmark. The writing paper and envelopes in the room were elegant and beautiful large post cards were included. Every day there were sweets and fruit placed In the room. One day we requested hot tea, and every day after a tea tray was brought in. There was a fully stocked Nespresso machine as well. The hair dryer was powerful, the bathroom amenities were first class. There was an electrical outlet dock built into the desk with US and European outlets, and there were electric blackout shades.
The Internet was free. We stayed in rooms 217 and 219, which were very accessible to the dining room, which sits in the center of a lovely central courtyard. Breakfast is included and the buffet is fabulous and varied. You also have the option of ordering from the menu. Dinner is also served here, meat is bar b'qued to order, and the service is perfect. Key staff members speak excellent English. The environment is that of a European villa where you are treated like an honored guest. It is intimate and romantic, and perfectly situated within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar, the Aya Sophia Hammam Sultan, The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia Mosque and Topkapi Palace as well as multiple great shops and cafes. I would return there in a heartbeat.
We loved the intimate size of the property and felt as though we were staying in a friend's private palace. There were no large conferences or weddings to destroy the privacy and quiet.

Room Tip: We like rooms 217 and 219 because they were adjacent but not connecting and had great views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We could not have chosen a more perfect location for the hotel if we could chose any place in the entire city to put it. Centered right in the old city, we were mere minutes away (walking, of course) from places like Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Cisterns. The services offered by the hotel are first rate and the hotel is impressive as a historical landmark in and of its own! The prices can be a turn off, but the quality of the stay was, in our opinion, well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartianMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spoke at an International Conference in March and went a week early to do some sightseeing. Am so happy that I stayed at the Four Seasons. The location is excellent, and it is in walking distance to all of the major, numerous attractions in Istanbul. I had a courtyard suite and it was spacious, clean and at the same time luxurious. I would highly recommend the Sunday brunch, and also highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would also recommend that when you stay here, make sure you have the valet get you a cab to and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
341 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are in Istanbul to see the Old City sights (Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, etc.) this is the only place to stay, if you can afford it. The location is perfect. Beyond that, the hotel is quite cozy, provides excellent service, is gorgeous and historical in its own right, and has The Most Amazing rooftop bar I've ever had the pleasure of enjoying.

First, the location. Just one block from the Hagia Sophia, two blocks to the Blue Mosque, a half block from a FABULOUS turkish bath, about four blocks from the Grand Bazaar... the list goes on. Incredible restaurants and shops mere feet away. You can not get closer.

The hotel is beautiful and refined, and the staff are friendly and efficient. Nightly treats of fresh fruit and local wonders (baklava, Turkish delight) were in our room. Since our room opened to the inner courtyard, the only city noise we heard was the call to prayer, which I still miss not hearing. The staff came in aid instantly when we ran into a travel problem and bent over backward to help. I love this place.

And then there's the rooftop Terrace Bar. From comfy cushioned lounging benches, the Hagia Sophia appears close enough to touch the dome. Order a martini or fine Turkish wine. We went every night we were there and it became a real highlight. When I think of the perfect bar experience, this is now tops in my mind.

Bottom line: This is now one of my favorite hotels in one of my favorite cities in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing inner courtyard so the call to prayer is the only city noise you hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix M, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear PucksterColorado,

Wow! I am so happy to read your review. I can not thank you enough. You have taken the time to say nice things about us and I apreciate it so much. I have a general meeting today and of course together with many things that we need to improve, I will take the pride to read your note.

If I may ever be of any assistance within Four Seasons or Istanbul please let me know. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Yours cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but only went there for breakfast, and we had a great experience from start to end. You sit in the courtyard, which is beautiful, with the feeling of sitting in someones garden. We had a kolibri fly up right next to us during breakfast! The selection is great, and all is of highest quality. On top, there are little explanations next to the cheeses, hams etc, telling you their origin, which is a nice. Fruits are very fresh and plentiful. They make omelettes and pancakes to order- both tasty- and their freshly squezzed juices are as fresh as they can get (we tried apple and orange). On top, the service is superb. I asked if cheese and yogurt where pasteurized, and was shown whoch cheeses where, and pasteurized yogurt was swiftly brought from behind. Coffees and tees where topped up instantly, and everything done with large smiles. We felt very spoiled at the end of the breakfast and would recommend it to anyone staying somewhere simpler, but feeling like being pampered for a morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 731jessicaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix M, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear 731jessicaj,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience.

You know over the past two years we have worked very hard to become more personalized and more genuine and authentic. It is so special that you noticed and let us know. Thanks a million.

If I may ever be of any assistance within Four Seasons or Istanbul, please let me know. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Yours Cordiallly,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing