We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me on this one, this hotel is way overrated!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Side Hotel and Pension
Ranked #321 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Trust me on this one, this hotel is way overrated!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I think it is important to point out, that this is a budget hotel. Even a guest staying in the Hotel portion as opposed to the Pension option, should be aware of this fact.

The location is superb, as many people have noted. If your time in Istanbul is short, this is a good area.

Upon checking into the hotel, a gentleman behind the counter said, "are you late." On behalf, of British Airways, we apologize, I wanted to say. Not exactly Turkish Hospitality at its best.

We were given one of the "nicest rooms" according to front desk agent. It was on the third floor, so a bit of a hike with luggage and no elevator. The room was painted in a nice blue color but other that that it had the feel of a college dorm room. The beds were as hard as the floor with a skimpy pillow and sheets and thick as paper. The room was air conditioned, which was nice. The bathroom was small and the shower was adequate.

The complimentary breakfast on the terrace was below expectations. Olives, bread, juices and coffee and tea. Also tomatoes. It was served on a lovely terrace with amazing views of the Sultanhamet area.

I actually found myself, dreading this hotel, upon returning from touring Istanbul. Perhaps it was that so many guide books recommend this hotel. We met about 6 employees of the Side hotel. With the exception of a very friendly housekeeper, none of them were particularly friendly.

When considering this hotel, be aware this is a budget hotel with a good rate in a great area. You will be disppointed if you expect any more than this.

  • Liked — Terrace view of Old Istanbul
  • Disliked — Too much to list here
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    205
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
164
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We stayed in the Side pension twice during our stay in Turkey. The service was not always the most prompt, but it's a busy place. Certain staff members were not as friendly (some people jusy have a different sense of humour), but others were great. The decor is very nice and bright, and the view of the water, Aya Sofya, and BLue Mosque were great. I don't think this place is exactly a secret, but it seems to be for good reason.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We were in Istanbul a few weeks ago and chose the Side Hotel for our stay there, after some friends had recommended it to us. The location is brilliant (behind the Blue Mosque, and close to the Aya Sofya a Topkapi Palace) and the service quite good. The rooms are medium sized, clean and quiet. We asked for a room with AC but actually didn't use it much since the weather was cooler than we expected. Breakfast is traditional turkish and good (loved those olives), and is served on the terrace which has fantastic views.

For our photos of the hotel please see here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/taniaho/tags/sidehotel/

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tania73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I wish I could take this pension to every place I go!
It is clean, friendly, includes breakfast and has great views!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly and close to almost everything.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spookyrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed in the budget rooms in this hotel and found them nice and well cared for. They had central heating which was a must in the cold winter while we were there (January). The rooms were definitely budget but clean and and a good value for the price. Bathrooms were very clean.
The place had self serve apple tea (apple cider) and tea which was nice. Internet was reasonable for a hotel. The breakfast was very good and served by friendly staff. The location was fantastic, right by the major sites.
The front desk was interesting in that one receptionist was super helpful and friendly and seemed to love his job and the other receptionist (usually at night) was rude and surly and a total blowhard. We guessed that he was probably a relative of the owner and couldn't be fired. You couldn't ask for a worse person to meet your guests at the the desk.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Night receptionist
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#185 of 1,155 in Istanbul
607 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#289 of 1,155 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#198 of 1,155 in Istanbul
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#561 of 1,155 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel
Ares Hotel
#201 of 1,155 in Istanbul
605 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,155 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Hotel and Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Hotel and Pension

Property: Side Hotel and Pension
Address: Utangac Sok. No 20/22, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#198 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Istanbul’s Sultanahmet, this hotel is a 4-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It offers guestrooms with free WiFi and air conditioning and flat TV. Side Hotel features a delightful rooftop terrace with views over the Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia , the Blue Mosqueand Bosphorus . It is ideally located just 250 m from the Marmara Sea. Guests can enjoy a breakfast in the morning, served with an extensive variety of both Western and Turkish items. Free tea service is also available throughout the day. The Side hotel is situated 1.5 km from the Grand Bazaar. Old Istanbul‘s shopping, dining and entertainment districts are only a minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Side Hotel and Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing