We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sultanahmet Gem”
Review of Seven Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Hills Hotel
Ranked #199 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sultanahmet Gem”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days before and after a cruise departing from Istanbul. Room reservation and airport pickup were handled by email and response was friendly and prompt. After a long flight, it was good to see the pick up service was there waiting for us. While the pick up service seems a bit steep, it better to use it coming in if you're bleary from the flight. Istanbul taxi drivers have a nasty habit of turning off their meters and demanding a flat fee price. The pick-up service was 35 Euros. We took a metered taxi on the return trip and it cost us the equivalent of US$18.

If you are seeking an ground zero location for the Sultanahmet then it's hard to find better. Most of the serious tourist sites, such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Cisterns, and Topkapi Palace are 3-5 minute walks from the hotel. The Old Bazaar and the Spice Market are 10-15 minute walk. Lots of shopping close by (beware the rug merchants "Blue Mosque closed today, want to go to my shop and look at carpets?") who are ubiquitous.

The staff were very pleasant and willing to help with any information requested. The rooms we stayed in were clean and roomy enough for two, the bathrooms clean and tidy. The mattresses seemed very hard, but then again that's all personal taste. When traveling we don't expect perfection, so overall I'd say that if you're going to explore the major tourist sites, this is your place. The rooftop restaurant had 'to die for' panoramic views, the breakfasts were very ample (a combination of European and American tastes), the staff was helpful and you could explore the sites without exhausting marches.

We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant. Just a couple of streets down is what we called 'restaurant row' which had standard Turkish and European style dishes. At the end of the row was a newly opened Turkish cafe called Kafirin. The locals have already found this place and a few tourists too. The food was excellent, coffee great, and the pasties were super yummy.

Room Tip: You're in Mosqueland, so you can't escape the calls to prayer. The street traffic noise tape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruffleKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    161
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
108
247
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel was lovely. It was in perfect location (just 1 minute walk) from Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. The breakfast was so delicious. The service and staff were really helpful and friendly.
The highlight of this hotel is the views of the rooftop whilst having breakfast. This is what you basically are paying for! I have been so Istanbul so many times and never found such great views !
I will definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniaShamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have sipped coffee at dawn on the balcony of my room. The first light of the day is visible in Asia. The call to pray has been made across the Bosphorus and is now being echoed on the European side of the city. I have watched seagulls landing on the roof of the Haghia Sophia.
If the romance of that setting appeals to you you will be dlighted by this hotel because it offers you a unique experience. If it does not you will find fault with this hotel and with the rest of Istanbul. If you let yourself be taken by it's magic you'll have a memorable time.
We stayed in one of the suites which was a very big room with faded furniture but comfortable bed and working air conditioning. The huge windows allowed you to drink in the views over the city and the water but because it is the highest building in the neighbourhood no-one looked down on you.
The bathroom was functional but not luxourious and to be honest a bit smelly although clean. Bottled water was provided every day.
The daily breakfast was excellant but did not vary from day to day. The honey was adorable in a fresh honeycomb andthe dried fruit delicious. The breakfast area also ha a glorious view of the Blue Mosque.
I found the hotel quite pricey considering the abscence of luxury but you can't put a price on those views.

Room Tip: You are going for the view so as high as possible and as big a balcony as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninManchester517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A friend and I happened upon this place. We were part of an organized tour but we had the afternoon to wander and explore and we wanted a better view of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia. The hotel is situation between the Sultanahmet Square and the river and offers a 360 degree view. The rooftop restaurant is open to everyone. We stopped in for lunch and drinks at the height of the afternoon. They do have an indoor enclosed restaurant one level down but we preferred the open-air seating. It was rather bright but we had a nice breeze to keep us cool.

We returned with the rest of our party later that evening so we could take in the beautiful views at sunset as well as listen to the calls to prayer. It was a fantastic evening. The Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia are breathtaking in twilight and the staff was so welcoming and incredibly accommodating. Good food, good wine and great company. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtg307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

my wife and I arrived in Istanbul after a full day of travelling from Vancouver BC to arrive at Seven Hills Hotel, upon arrival we were meant by wonderful, friendly staff and we were taken to our rooms. Completely exhausted we decided on a quick shower and beer on the top deck that we had heard so much about!! We were not disappointed, the view was breath taking, unbelievable and tough to put into words. The friendly staff accommodated us with a table by railing and views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. What a start to 3 week trip! the hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the old city and walkable to everything you want to see. the staff is friendly and very accommodating. the room was outstanding, large and clean. I would not think twice about re-booking again.

Room Tip: there is only a few rooms per floor, breakfast is on the top floor (4th) there is an elevator (slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perhaps one of the best located hotels in the heart of the Sultanahmet area in Istanbul. The rooms are nothing much to rave about and the we had issues with the A/C everyday during our stay there. On the positive side, helpful staff, Unbeatable location, decent breakfast, best located terrace in old Istanbul well run hotel. On the not so good side- rooms need updating as furnishings appear worn out , limited vegetarian options, Airconditioning was very week in in our room.
Service was friendly and efficient. The affordable price, great location and friendly staff will have you overlook any other shortcomings. Would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of all the sights in the Old part of Istanbul.

The terrace is the best part of the hotel with the staff bringing blankets and heaters when the weather became cooler.

Room Tip: check the airconditioning first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights based on a recommendation of a friend of a friend.... Note to self, never trust any acquaintances for travel advice especially in Istanbul. There are many 'expats' here that hustle the tourists for 'services' that allegedly they provide. The lady that hustled us was hanging around for a few times, we put up with her only due to the fact that we had that mutual friend. Without us agreeing to hire her as a guide, she left us an invoice of US$200 at the front desk when we check out.

Coming back to the hotel.

Pros:
Beautiful view at the roof top terrace. The breakfast spread was not good, poor selection and tired looking food. But the view more than enough make up for it. It's the tallest terrace in the vicinity. As a result you have uninstructed view of Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the water. The dinner was of high quality food. Make a reservation it fills up fast.

5 minutes walk to Hagia Sofia, 10 min to TopKapi Palace, 10 mins to Blue Mosque. 20 mins to Grand Bazaar. 10 mins to Sultanalmet tram station which will take you to Eminonu (spice bazaar) and Bosphorus Cruise. The tram will take you across the bridge too.

Cons:
Rooms are large but basic furnishing.
The bathrooms are dirty. The bathtub had black molds in the jets and corners. The room smells damp.
Breakfast spread average.
At $300 per night, I wouldn't stay here ever again or recommend to anyone.
My advice is don't stay in the Sultanahmet area. Stay near the Galata area and take the tram to see the sights in the morning. Sultanahmet area is a big tourist trap. At night there are not much to do. The trendy restaurants are all across the Golden Horn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#184 of 1,155 in Istanbul
607 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#295 of 1,155 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#125 of 1,155 in Istanbul
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#139 of 1,155 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#63 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Hills Hotel

Property: Seven Hills Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi, Tevkifhane Sokak No 8 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seven Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Istanbul
Hotel Seven Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing