We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in Sultanamet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seven Hills Hotel
Ranked #183 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Sultanamet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Unfortunately the room was on the small side & the shower was in need of repair, but it was adequate for the couple of days we were in Istanbul. Perfect location for the main tourist sights in Sultanamet. The included breakfast was very good & the wonderful views from the roof top restaurant made it very difficult to leave & go exploring. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amharlequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    160
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
105
244
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I didn't actually stay at the hotel as a guest, but someone on my flight recommended I check out the rooftop. He said I would not be disappointed and boy was he right!! It was our last evening in Istanbul and we set out to find this hotel. It took some time to find (as there's no big flashy sign) and we didn't see a crowd of people waiting to get in (as most popular rooftops are in the US). Anyway, the hotel clerk was outside with a few of his friends and we weren't quite sure if it was the place, but he assured us that it was. So we took the elevator upstairs hoping we would not be disappointed. As we got to the top, I thought WOW! Unfortunately, the restaurant was closing down once we arrived. However, I explained to one of the waiters we really just wanted to see the view and it was our last night in town. He agreed to let us sit on the deck and enjoy the view. To our surprise, he brought out Turkish tea too! We were so pleasantly surprised by the kind gesture. The view was amazing with all the city lit up at night and we got the best photos of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya at night. This was definitely the best way to end our trip...just on a rooftop with Turkish tea and a view of the entire city...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4GTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is awesome, very clean and comfortable. Cok temiz ve duzenli. Turkish style decoration. Everybody was very friendly.Recommended highly. Restaurant at Terrace has the most beautiful view ( en iyi bogaz manzarasi) - the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Seven Hills Hotel with my husband and 2 children what a fantastic hotel it was. The staff where very friendly and helpful with all aspects of our holiday if we needed to organise anything they were always there to assist us. Having young children you need to have an understanding hotel and seven hills where fantastic always trying there best to help us. The beauty of the hotel for us was it being local to all the historic areas of Istanbul it was very convenient for us.
The view is breathtaking I don't think there is a hotel with a view like that in Sultanahmet it is beyond imagination. Having breakfast every morning in the terrace was worth staying at the hotel. Then having tea/dinner and enjoying the sunset just ended our day peacefully overlooking the historic quarter of Istanbul. Will recommend to everyone as we have had an unforgettable stay with my family. Will definitely stay there again. Love Seven Hills Sultanahmet one very happy customer :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulcan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

By chance, we stopped at the terrace restaurant for a drink as the sun began to set. What a great thing that turned out to be! The terrace has possibly the best views of the bosphorus, aya Sofia and the blue mosque. When the call to prayer starts you are best placed to hear the aya Sofia and blue mosque call to each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is located in a great spot - just a couple of minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, in the centre of the action, but on a quiet street with lots of restaurants around (try Albura Kathisma on Akbiyik st. Their stuffed eggplant and spinach starters were amazing.) The hotel room was clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly. I agree, however, with the earlier post about not getting sucked in into their promoted city tours. You can do it much cheaper on your own. The view from their restaurant terrace is fantastic - an amazing location to take pictures of both the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. For sure, the terrace and the location are their two best selling points.

The only problem we had with our room (201) was the bed - it was really really hard and uncomfortable. We both woke up with back pain that continued for a few days, so we were glad to leave the hotel after two nights. Not sure if it's just our bed or all of them are like that. You can ask to check the room before you take it.

Overall, we recommend the hotel but be very aware of the bed situation.

Other Tips
Instead of standing in a long line to get tickets to Agia Sophia, we bought a museum pass at Topakai Palace where the lineup was much shorter. It is 72 TL and gives access to Agia, Topakai Palace, Archaeological museum, and a few other museums and is valid for 72 hours. Given that one ticket to Topakai + Harem is 40 TL and Sophia 20 TL, even if you do not visit any other museums you are paying only 12 TL premium and skipping one more line. It does not include the Cistern though.

Hafiz Mustafa on Divanyolu street - a wonderful place to taste Turkish delights and baklava, and they also have a nice coffee. For those who prefer Starbucks coffee, there is one just down Divanyolu street.

Traffic can be terrible, especially in Sultanahmet area. Ask your hotel when you need to call for a taxi to go to the airport or anywhere else you need to go. We had to wait for an hour for a taxi on a Saturday afternoon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel200875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this Hotel based on the TA reviews. Since we wanted something in the area more upscale, we booked the "Presidential Suite". Firstly it was not much of a suite and I can't imagine any President staying there.
Secondly, the room itself was not clean. The bathroom in particular was dirty. The bed was extremely hard, which did not bother me, but my wife was very unhappy with it.
On the positive side, the location is about the best in Istanbul (except maybe for the Four Seasons next door) and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and went out of their way to help when our luggage didn't arrive. If you are mainly going to see the big 3 or 4 in Istanbul and location is important this might work. If you want something more upscale, then there are several better choices.
The roof top terrace was hot, windy and the wait staff seemed preoccupied. The inclusive breakfast was not up to reasonable standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#135 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#146 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#270 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#65 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Hills Hotel

Property: Seven Hills Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi, Tevkifhane Sokak No 8 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seven Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Istanbul
Hotel Seven Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing