We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Seven Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Hills Hotel
Ranked #135 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I looked through a few reviews of other travelers and found them true.

We liked this hotel – but YOU have to make a choice on whether or not this one is for you.
Here is my opinion (we stayed in room no. 201):

For us, important are:
1. Location
2. Service
3. Cleanliness
4. Room / Quiet room
5. “Design”
6. Breakfast / restaurant

1. Location – perfect!
You are right behind the Baths of Roxellana, next to the Four Seasons Hotel.
All major sights are within walking distance.
(Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque about 2 minutes, Hippodrome area about 2 minutes, closest tram stop about 3-4 minutes, Cemberlitas and Bazaar about 5-7 minutes)
And the view from the rooftop restaurant unparalleled: Simultaneous, unobstructed view of both Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia – magic!

2. Service – very good!
I do not expect too much, just professional help when we need it.
The hotel organized private transportation from the airport to the hotel (and return) for us, and it worked like a charm. (Last time we were in Istanbul – at a different hotel – promised taxi service was a catastrophy!)
I also had inquired about some things in Istanbul before we went – I received helpful e-mail replies mostly within only a few hours.
This was better than some 5-star hotels we had stayed at.

3. Cleanlines – very good – not more, not less

4. Room / Quiet room – this one is difficult…
The hotel has a VERY popular rooftop restaurant with a “to die for”-view.
The hotel is rather small. That means, some restaurant guests choose to take the stairs instead of the elevator, and thus you may have quite a bit of noise going on.
As well, our room was above a restaurant on the street – and one evening a group of people had a really great time – and we were not able to sleep until about midnight…
Sleep quality: I had better nights at other hotels. The mattress was comfortable enough, but the blanket on our double bed was rather small: It fits the bed without people in it, but then it gets a little difficult.
(We are not very large people, in case you were wondering.)
So, the room issue might get a little iffy.
I will take a point off for this subject.

5. Design
Earthy, brownish colors mixed with gold, and oak colored furniture are just not my thing.
However, our room was comfortable and cosy.


6. Breakfast / Restaurant
Breakfast - very good mixture of everything
Cereals, breads, jam, honey from the comb!, eggs, hot dishes such as potatoes or casseroles,
Salad, fresh fruits, tea (regular and excellent Turkish tea), great coffees, juices.
I might have forgotten a few things – but it really is quite a spread
Breakfast is served in the closed section of the restaurant (still great views), but you are also
welcome to carry your breakfast to the rooftop.
Restaurant – the true jewel of the hotel!
Absolutely gorgeous views of the Sea of Marmara, the Bosporus, and Aya Sofia and the
Blue Mosque – simultaneously!
The restaurant is very good, too. I am going to write a separate review about it.
Breakfast room and rooftop restaurant are not wheelchair accessible! You have to walk up a small flight of stairs to the breakfast room, and another one to the rooftop restaurant.

Wi-Fi: Free of charge. You will be given a code upon check-in. In our room it always worked. The signal might not have been the best, but Wi-Fi worked for us as it should.

Overall, we were happy at this hotel.
We might not have gotten the quality of sleep that we would have wished for, but the location – THE VIEW from the breakfast room every morning or from the rooftop restaurant at dinners – always got us.
Do not expect to find something comparable to an international hotel chain (stylish, but sterile...).
This hotel has kept its Turkish charme - and that’s why you are here, right?!
About the price, many might think, this hotel is overrated and overpriced – but with any real estate: you are paying for the location. And that truly is worth it!

Most likely, we will return pretty soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank familynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 622 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Terrific location and great view from the rooftop restaurant. But definitely not luxurious. Over-priced. Staff is earnest but unsophisticated. WiFi erratic at best. Restaurant is below average. Car from the airport that the hotel will 'arrange' was unreliable. Taxi is cheaper and maybe faster.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our last three days of our honeymoon were spent at the Seven Hills Hotel.

We had reserved a standard room after dropping by and asking to see rooms at the beginning of our vacation. We really liked what we saw and the night clerk was very gracious.

When we arrived we were told we were upgraded because it was our honeymoon. Had to chuckle when I thought they were probably wondering what us old geezers were doing on our honeymoon :-) We were moved to a very large room on the top floor. #402. It had a nice balcony that overlooked Hagia Sophia. Laying in bed I could look out the window and see the beautiful church/mosque lit up. It was amazing. Fantastic bathroom with a HUGE jacuzzi tub and shower. Very clean.

The bed was the softest that we had in Turkey and was so welcoming after the days of shopping!

The location of the hotel was fantastic! Restaurants and all sites within walking distance. Close to the tram as well.

The restaurant had an unparalleled view of the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia as well as the ocean. It is the highest restaurant in Old Instanbul. The breakfast was a good fair with meats, veggies, cheeses, cereals and bread. It also had this bizarre mixture of french fries and wieners with sauce. Looked really odd but my better half tells me it was very good.

The only negative I would have to say is that if you do get the more expensive upper rooms you will have to contend with the noise from the restaurant and people waiting for the elevator outside of the door. The rooms are behind a glass door but most of the times we found this door open. Even worse than the noise of the people were the constant scraping of the chairs from the restaurant above. Had I be paying the premium price for this room I would have been very unhappy as the restaurant is popular and open until 12:00 midnight.

I did hear someone at the front desk negotiating a price for a room so.... a better price is always possible!

Room Tip: Stayed in 402. Beautiful large room with a fabulous comfie bed. Wonderful view of Hagia Sophia fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We only had a chance to test the terrasse restaurant after a busy morning visiting the Sultan Ahmet mosque and Hagia Sofia. It was so relaxing to reach the terrasse and discover the fantastic view on the Marmara sea and the other monuments. We loved it. By a nice weather you can choose to sit in the sun or in the shadow. Food was ok but the sidedishes were a bit poor. We had a grilled seabass (very fresh, amazingly nicely done!) and we got a piece of boiled potatoe (pretty dry), half a tomatoe and half an onion over some green leaves as a sidedish. We also had the mixed grill: some was good the rest a bit chewy, nothing special really. The dish was anounced coming with yogurt but we didn't get any, we had to ask and wait for some time in order to get some plain jogurt.
The place is worth for the view by nice weather, otherwise it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had to overnight in Istanbul and decided to stay in the old town. This place was great. Close to all the interesting things to see. Hotel was good value and staff were very welcoming. Lots of resturants close by. Will definately stay here again if i am in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 161christophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Absolutely impeccable service. The front desk staff is simply marvelous. They went above and beyond to accommodate us, plan day events for us, give us excellent directions, arrange for shuttles to and from venues, and patiently changing schedules to humor our whims. We could not have asked for more.

The hotel itself is perfectly located in the heart of the Sultanahmet/historic district, conveniently accessible to all attractions, shops, bazaar, and cafes. The hotel is very charming, vintage in décor yet most comfortable. The beds were solid, the room was clean, the bathroom was well lit, and best of all was the shower.

The rooftop restaurant was first class and the breakfast on the terrace every morning was the icing on the cake. The spectacular view alone made this hotel stay worthwhile.

Yes, we will most definitely return, and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 and the view was of the street with charming shops, blooming trees and nice bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katzzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest independent hotels I have had the good fortune to be able to stay at. The location, as noted by other reviewers, is superb -located in a quiet neighborhood a few steps from the Hagia Sophia, Cistern,Topkapi Palace and Blue Mosque, with the Grand Bazaar about 15 minutes walk thru a busy but safe commercial area. Trams to Taksim Square and other parts of the city are within the same area as are numerous tour bus embarkation points. The Seven Hills is immaculately clean, with adequate hot water, good water pressure; beds are comfortable and rooms are well lit, TV channels include the BBC and CNN. The heat/ac can be adjusted by guests - the heat did work very well! There is free wireless throughout the hotel. Rooms include Tea/coffee set up, hair dryer, minibar (charge).

The staff went out of their way to ensure that our airport transfers were timely (someone was waiting for us with our name on a sign when we staggered off our 10 hour flight) and reasonably priced. The restaurant serves a great breakfast buffet, and the manager gladly accomodated requests for scrambled eggs, etc. There is nothing better than starting your day by having breakfast al fresco on a sunny balcony overlooking the Sea of Marmara. At dinner time, consider eating at the hotel - the food is delicious, and the view may bring you to tears as it is so beautiful!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, there was some street noise in the evening and early morning but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#198 of 1,178 in Istanbul
618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Side Hotel and Pension
Side Hotel and Pension
#286 of 1,178 in Istanbul
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#137 of 1,178 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#43 of 1,178 in Istanbul
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Hills Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi, Tevkifhane Sokak No 8 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#158 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $131 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seven Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Istanbul
Hotel Seven Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing